We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Camel Safari at Hotel Renuka”
Review of Renuka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Renuka Hotel
Ranked #19 of 113 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Staying at Hotel Renuka was a very good experience. Nice and clean rooms at reasonable prices.

The desert safari with the two experienced guides Delboy and Mohan was more than excellent. Both live in the desert, speak very good English and can tell you a lot about life in the desert and camels. Mohan is a great cook, and will manage to cook a very good meal on a camp fire in the desert. Delboy is a great singer and can sing you some traditional Rajasthan songs at night next to the camp fire. Both treat their camels very well. Prices are reasonalbe, especially given the service (extra blankets, bottled water, great food).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mohan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 343 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

The Manager of Renuka Hotel is incredibly friendly, ask him about anything you need he will fulfill all your wishes. We actually stayed at Ratan Palace but these two places are under the same ownership. The rooftop restaurant has good food and a nice view on the fort.
Although we booked our camel safari with another agent, we heard no complains about the tours organized by Renuka from other guests, so it might as well be a convenient choice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PhilippP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

My stay started well at 5.30 one morning when their man picked me up at the station off the night train from Jodhpur. Having had only an hour's sleep on the train, I was relieved to catch up in a spare room until my own room was ready. At Rs.900 per night I call this good value.

The hotel is clean and quite comfortable, with a nice rooftop restaurant where you can easily meet and find out from other travellers if the camel safaris are worth doing. The management at the Renuka will organise these but are not pushy about it. The setting, a few minutes walk outside the fort, is less tourist-conscious than the area inside the fort. Altogether a good experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jamescollenette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We booked ahead at Hotel Renuka and were very happy. We are travelling on a budget and were very happy to be given a cheap 250 rupee room with a shared bathroom as expected. The staff were very friendly and the rooftop restaurant is lovely and serves up great food with a smile! We also decided to organise our camel safari through the hotel as well which we do not regret! Some of the other reviews on here seem very outrageously unfair in the way they describe the safari. Yes it was hot on the camel but what do you expect from a desert? The guides we had were friendly and made sure we had plenty to eat before they ate themselves. The camels all looked in good condition and were given many chances to rest and graze on the nearby trees. Yes the 'mattresses' we slept on were more like thin blankets but if you want luxury then don't pick an 'off the beaten track' safari and then complain about bugs in the desert. This is all to be expected! There is the option to go on a commercial safari and stay in a tented camp if you want luxury! We thoroughly enjoyed the peace and quiet and the fact that we didn't see any other tourists on our whole trip for 2 days and 1 night. We had plenty of food and the freshly made chapatis were great! The guides made sure they took all of our rubbish with us and didn't leave a trace behind. At night when we arrived on the dunes the guides made a camp fire for us and when it came time for bed they made sure we all had heaps of blankets before they thought about blankets for themselves.
All in all we are very happy with our choice we made. If you go on a camel safari I would recommend taking an pillow or something to sit on for extra padding because it can get quite uncomfortable on the camel. Also take a sleeping bag if you have one and warm clothes/beanie for the night!
On returning to the hotel after the safari we were told that the hotel was full but their sister hotel 1 minute down the road had a room with an attached bath and that we could have it for the same price which was great.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Good location just outside the fort (about ten minute walk away), friendly staff. Internet cafe downstairs was handy and everything was very clean. Recommend you ask for the room you would like, the rest of our family got decent size rooms although ours was small but still fairly comfortable - ask for one with balcony if possible. Hotel manager sorted us out bus tickets and was very hospitable. Chose a different tour operator to go on Camel safari so can't comment but theirs sounded ok. Food was lovely and friendly kitchen staff. Relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laura_chap25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

They put us up in their overflow hotel a half a block away. The rooms were very spartan but had an extra changing room which is uncommon.

The restaurant guys were very accommodating. The restaurant is in the main hotel and staff came over to take our order and deliver food to our room. This was really nice.

Biggest downfall is that as soon as we exited our room, the smell of cow urine and dung was quite potent. Outside the hotel was the same.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredcicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The restaurant is the best in the city and the rooms are decent for India (basic; semi-clean, intermittent warm water and occasional wifi) but a lot of the employees are children. Not cool with supporting this. Concerning the camel safari, we did the two-day/one-night option and definitley regreted it. One of our camels was in very poor shape and they all were covered in something like bot fly larvae things - very sad. The bedding provided for the night consists of only the foul blankets used on the camel saddles and one sheet each. GROSS. We never felt more dirty in our lives!!!! There was plenty of food (plain yellow dal, rice, chapatti) but probably because none of us were eating it because we watched how it was prepared. Again, grossssss! Also, we were promised an "off the beaten track" safari but there were always ten other groups within site. I would also recommend that the Renuka guides be expected to not leave all the trash in the desert. It was SUCH A MESS and there were thousands of dung beetles everywhere (and crawling all over us) because of all the trash and food that's left behind day after day

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank USAPapasFritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#17 of 113 in Jaisalmer
1,149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#13 of 113 in Jaisalmer
727 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lalgarh Fort And Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#3 of 113 in Jaisalmer
1,125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backpacker Panda Oasis - Jaisalmer
0 mi away
Ratan Palace Hotel
Ratan Palace Hotel
#62 of 113 in Jaisalmer
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renuka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renuka Hotel

Address: Chainpur Street | north of Gandhi Chowk, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 113 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range: $10 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Renuka Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Renuka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing