We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living inside the fort and great desert experience!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Desert Haveli Guest House
Ranked #35 of 108 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The experience was great right from the beginning when I booked the room. I emailed them regarding the booking and time we will be arriving (5 am in morning). They replied promptly and picked us up at the correct time.

The room was authentic and beautiful with colorful lightning. The bath room was big too. (FYI we took a heritage super deluxe room). We had a working ac with a TV. The owner Dushyant and his helper Salim were very friendly, warm and helpful. We were served with breakfast (bread toast, juice and fruits) in the terrace which was a good location.

We read reviews about camel safari arranged by Desert haveli and were relieved about making this choice. They assured us we need not book the room for another day while we spend overnight in the safari (luggage can be kept in another locked room) and we could use a room to get freshened up if we want to leave after safari (without again booking another room) which was very kind of them!!

Regarding camel safari, we took the non-touristic version (where you will be taken to dunes where you won't be able to see many people i.e. away from the chaos in serene dunes) and it was awesome. To describe the safari - some villages, great camel ride, chai and sunset in the vast undisturbed dunes, freshly cooked meal, dancing in the dunes (just us :)), sleeping under stars, waiting for sunrise, sun above the horizon, camel ride back, kuldhara the haunted village...

All in all great experience with Desert Haveli Guest house. Will be back soon :D

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rohith_Gandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 198 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed there for 4 nights during Christmas 2010 and every time we remember this hotel our memories are alive, warm and beautiful. It is a true heritage gem inside the fort of Jaisalmer. All made of the yellow sandstone of the fort, it is in total harmony with Jaisalmer's old city architecture, with a special carved facade, full of beauty and charm. Our room offered views to the desert and the walls of the fort (part of the haveli's outer wall is in fact in continuity with the fort's wall) and it had a traditional rajasthani decoration. This decoration together with the natural effect of time and aging on everything, offers a straight sense of Jaisalmer's and India's character.
And despite the fact that some parts (ie bathroom, windows) need refurbishment, this cannot make you feel unsatisfied because you realise that it is not actually important in a place like Jaisalmer and a hotel like desert haveli guest house. Staff were kind and helpful and they organized for us a camel safari to the desert which was also unforgetable because it was christmas eve and we slept under the desert stars. It was really cold and equipment was total basic but again it was such a genuinly indian camping that we really enjoyed it. I have left my friend Allahadin for the end. He came to pick us from the train station. He curried our luggage. When we sat on the roof terrace he gave us a menu and a piece of paper and he kindly asked us to write down what we would like to have for dinner. After we did, he went out and bought the food materials. And then, in an absolute basically equiped kitchen, he prepared for us, and I'm telling you that without the slightest hesitation, the most delicious meal we had in India. I haven' t tasted better noodles anywhere else. The same goes for every indian dish we ordered but also for a vegeterian pizza too. I call every italian chef to come here and learn from my friend Allahadin how to make pizza! We chose the same meals for three days and they were trully delicious all times. So, we would really recommend this place to anyone who prefers to be a part of the place he visits. We had a great stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikonas1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

It is something out of a dream. Ali Baba's cavern. The Maharaja room (a must) is carved out of the golden sandstone and is adorned with fabric and rugs. Remember however that you are in a 14th century building and that the wood fired water heater on the roof is not as efficient as a modern electric one! There is wifi throughout and the hotel is located high in the old city. Rooftop has a great view and while it would be a stretch to call it a restaurant the staff do their best to provide excellent service. Beware the desert wind bringing up a sandstorm so keep your suitcases closed as the old shuttered windows are somewhat porous.

Room Tip: Take the best room - Maharaja - it's the only one with a bathroom and only costs pennies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mg_3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Our trip to Jaisalmer is full of fond memories. We loved the situation of The Desert Haveli. Dushyant and the staff are quite reserved in a polite Indian sort of way but they were very helpful. The hotel organised a Camel Safari tour (approx £40 for 3 of us) which was brilliant.
It was my sons 6th birthday and it will be forever memorable. We were met by camels and we rode towards and over the dunes and played in the sand whilst a fantastic desert curry was cooked on a campfire as the sun set. On our return to the hotel Dushyant had bought my son a birthday present and a cake with his name on it. This was really special.
We did love the hotel. The decor is really special. My only suggestion would be to improve the breakfasts and bathrooms.
With regards breakfast, something more structured even if basic. Scrambled eggs on toast say! Chopped fruit and a cup of tea seemed a little basic.
Also, we travelled over the Christmas break and please bare in mind that it can get cold. Hot water was not always available and the bathrooms are basic, which on a chill winter morning can feel a bit bleak. On warmer days I am sure this would be forgotten and indeed these general niggles are forgiven when you consider the location and the gentle and kind manner of the staff and Dushyant. Many thanks for making our stay a special time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BRIAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My English is not good enough to describe our experience staying in Desert Haveli Guest House. We planned to spend only one night in Jaisalmer but liked Guest House and it’s staff so much that we stayed longer.
We chose this heritage property basis reviews on tripadvisor and Desert Haveli surpassed all our expectations. Old traditional Haveli Guest House has lovely location directly in the Fort. All sights are within walking distance. It is really amazing to stay inside unique Fort (Jaisalmer Fort is only one in India where people live).
Beautifully decorated in traditional style rooms will not allow you to forget that you are staying in place full of history. Authentic Rajastan design make you feel like you are in the ancient time of Rajputs. Some rooms have beautiful view of the city.
Haveli has nice roof terrace where you can relax and enjoy wonderful city view, beautiful sunset and admire desert that stretches up to the horizon.
The Haveli has a friendly and even family atmosphere. Brilliant staff are very attentive and do their best to arrange whatever you need and make your stay memorable. Staying in Desert Haveli you are feeling that you are at home.
Staff can arrange camel desert safari for you and hold your luggage while you are away. We went for camel safari for day and night. Everything was perfect. It was amazing to sleep in desert with full moon and bright stars in the sky. It was adventure that we never forget.
We loved absolutely everything about Desert Haveli Guest House but most of all - our hosts Nabu and the owner Dushyant. They treat us like a family and made everything possible to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. It was very nice to drink tea with Nabu and listen stories about traditions and culture of village people. Nabu, thank you for wonderfull time, home made dinner, chapatti cooking lessons and delicious masala chai. Also we would like to say thank you to Dushyant who definitely as large heart. He was truly kindness, helpful and took a great care about us. Party on the roof, fairwell dinner and interesting stories about Jaisalmer and Indian culture – Dushyant, thank you for these priceless moments.
Desert Haveli surpassed all hotels we stayed before. It is real home for travellers. We had the best time staying at the Desert Haveli and I recommend it to anyone who is going to Jaisalmer. We got a lot of priceless memories on such cheap price.

Hope to come back in nearest future. Thanks for everything again Dushyant and Nabu! Miss you!

PS
You should bear in mind that Haveli is not hotel but small guest house. So please do not expect facilities as in hotel. For example hot water is available in morning time. If you need hot water at another time just tell to the staff in advance.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We loved absolutely everything about the hotel, the staff and the location. Definitely one of the best budget hotels we stayed in Rajasthan. Because the guest house is inside the fort it creates a very nice feeling that you are staying a very special place.
We especially would like to say thank you to the staff, as they took great care of us and were very helpful in everything we needed.
May be good to know: you have to tell the staff that you will be needing hot water 20 min in advance.

Room Tip: Book heritage rooms, as they are very beautiful and worth the little extra money you'll be payin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

If you are traveling to Jaisalmer, this is an excellent choice. The rooms are great, and you are staying inside the Fort. When selecting a desert safari, booking with the hotel would be your best option. You will be looked after and you will not be short sold, as you will be by other operations. Great staff and excellent place to experience Jaisalmer.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms, then make your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMaeO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.1 mi away
Backpacker Panda Oasis - Jaisalmer
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fort View
Hotel Fort View
#49 of 108 in Jaisalmer
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Haveli
Hotel Royal Haveli
#10 of 108 in Jaisalmer
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laxmi Niwas
Hotel Laxmi Niwas
#61 of 108 in Jaisalmer
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Suraj
Hotel Suraj
#22 of 108 in Jaisalmer
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#14 of 108 in Jaisalmer
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Haveli Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Haveli Guest House

Address: | In the national monument, The Golden Fort of Jaisalmer, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range: $17 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Haveli Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All time amazing opportunity to stay in the national monument/museum that is golden fort of Jaisalmer(main attraction of the Jaisalmer) ,specially for history-art loving tourists. This Fairy land building situated on south side of the rampart of the fort claimed to be more than 450 years old. It belongs to a divisional magistrate of state time from there and the current owner himself is the successor . The guest house has fabulous rooms and the building has been kept intact with original golden stone walls and full of characters acclaimed design. Its unique atmosphere makes it a great place to stay. The staff are all friendly and the roof-top restaurant provides not only good food but also acclaimed sweeping views of Jaisalmer's main attractions. The guest house provides access to other services including booking of bus and rail tickets. They have a long experience of desert(CAMEL) safaris and can do memorable-adventurous tours from one day to a week and beyond. many guide books and web sites have recommended very much highly for wonderful experiences - they have their own camel drivers who are experienced with tourists. Staying in the Desert Haveli is a relaxing experience for all age groups and offers a quiet heaven. This description is based on information provided by the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Desert Haveli Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaisalmer Desert Haveli Guest House Hotel Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing