We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Camel Safari didn't dissapoint” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Haveli Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Desert Haveli Guest House
Ranked #37 of 103 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Camel Safari didn't dissapoint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

This Guesthouse has only a few rooms but are maintained in their original Haveli style and decorated beautifully. The roof-top restaurant I have reported on previously, but this year I decided to take a Desert Haveli Camel Safari. I have spent a lot of time in the roof top restaurant of the Guesthouse, and consequently have met and spoken with a number of guests who had already experienced a Desert Haveli Camel Safari, so going on their positive feedback over many years, I decided to take the plunge and arranged with Munna to go on a 2 day ‘non-touristic’ Camel Safari with 5 other hotel guests (an English couple, and three Canadian girls).

Munna patiently explained the whole trip in detail and even agreed to make arrangements for my specific dietary requirements without fuss, and at no extra cost. On the morning of the day we were to take off, one of the Canadian girls fell ill and despite the protestation of her friends, insisted on coming along, even though Munna said he would refund her in full if she pulled out (even at the last minute).

For the first day (afternoon) the girl seemed to come good but had deteriorated sufficiently by next morning to be of some concern. By this time we were some distance from Jaisalmer and in the middle of nowhere (the non-touristic route), but when the Canadian girls became distressed for their friend, Munna made a call on his mobile and as if by magic a jeep appeared across the dunes within minutes.

This guy, who has been operating the Desert Haveli Camel Safaris for years, had both the experience and foresight to have his jeep shadow the safari at a discreet distance for just such an eventuality. The young girl was in Jaisalmer Private Hospital and recovering within the hour, and was able to rejoin her travelling companions at the Guesthouse the following day. Munna also insisted she take a full refund for the trip she couldn’t complete.

I had worked in remote desert areas of Australia for 10 years and have some experience with travelling under these conditions, so I was interested to see how Munna and his crew operated with regard to Health and Safety aspects of their business. And I wasn’t disappointed, the health, safety and comfort of their guests was a high priority. But on top of that, the pace of the safari was good, the places visited interesting, the food was fresh and well cooked, the beer was cold and the cameleers sang beautifully around a well stoked fire (well after I’d had couple of Kingfishers, even the camels probably would have sounded good).

This is only the second Camel Safari I’ve embarked on it 10 years of visiting Jaisalmer, but it was a wonderful experience, and competitively priced in a crowded market. I’d highly recommend Munna and his crew for anyone contemplating one of Jaisalmers’ must do activities.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianP660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    46
    9
    3
    17
See reviews for
31
59
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
finse
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

So the rooms are alright even there's no water sometimes but the manager's is the pick of cowdung in India!!
They where nice in the beginning and all acting normal more or less, they promise this and promise that and there's nothing becoming true except they want you to pay for it!!
Useless in all ways!!
There's really nothing good to say so just stay somewhere else!!

Room Tip: one of the other hotels!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank micke s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omshivyogi, Manager at Desert Haveli Guest House, responded to this review, December 10, 2015
respected sir, thank you for your kind guidance , I have learnt many points from your feed back, I have improved them and by the grace of God I have the results,,thanks a lot
with regards
and good wishes
dushyant
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

When we went there, we liked the rooms and the view. The manager talked politely and we even booked a desert safari with them. But later our problems just went on increasing. We went in january & there was no water at first leave alone hot water. Hot water was provided to us in buckets, but we had to wait ages for it and ended up wasting a lot of time in the morning just to take a bath. Later we found that he had charged us double the amount for the safari than what he had offered other guests in the same hotel. When we confronted him about this, he was very rude to us. We cancelled our safari and checked out. Stayed at Sidhartha Hotel the next day and found it much better. Never would i recommend anybody to go here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aman N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omshivyogi, Owner at Desert Haveli Guest House, responded to this review, November 29, 2015
our respected guest shri aman could not be satisfied with my services provided by my staff ,, I notted the problems and points raised by respected guest and I continuesly in the path of improving ,,, result is good so that good reviews are being published now ,,, I am thankful for my welwisher guests who put me to improve ment side ,,
with thanks, regards, good wishes and unconditional love
owner with support of staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

We had been to this place for almost 3 days in Jan 2012. Munna the manager was very polite and convincing at start. And promises a lot of thing but doesn't fulfill even one. Since its winter the water was very very cold in the whole stay we didn't get hot water at all as Munna promised. Also Its the cleanliness is below average. The flush didn't work; wash basin choked up all the time and the toilets were dirty. The food is also average and they take lot of time to serve sometimes almost a hour.
Plus Munna kept pushing us for desert safari package. A jeep was booked for 5 of us and he forcefully got 2 other people in it which was very very inconvenient. He promised us luxury tents and took us to some terrible place and when we refused to stay in he managed to book some other tents where the food and service was below average. Plus he took some extra money from us saying that it was expensive and later in our stay he became so hostile that we literally decided to move out of his hotel.
It was a aweful experience and I strongly recommend not to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shitole_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omshivyogi, Owner at Desert Haveli Guest House, responded to this review, December 10, 2015
respected madam, sorry very sorry for inconvenience felt by you in my guest house,but I am very lucky that I got your feed back correspondingly I got opportunity to check the short falls in my guest house,,,Now I have changed all the things and results are there ,, thank you very much again.
with regards and good wishes
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

We stayed in Desert Haveli as it was recommended by the Rough Guide. I would strongly advise everyone to not stay here. The manager at the start was nice to start, but as soon as we sat down for breakfast in the restaurant he would not stop trying to get us to do a camel trek with him. He tried to charge us Rs7000! We told him him that was far to expensive but he would not stop pushing for us to go with him. In the end he became very hostile so we moved out of the fort into a really nice hotel. We did the camel trek with another (reputable) company and only paid Rs1250. From my experience in India this was the worst hotel we stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lukeywills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

Words would not be enough to describe this place.. You should see the smile on the faces of people who stay there and spend time with Alladin and Munna. that will give a better indication of what a small group of people can do to make your stay the most comfortable and enjoyable. Alladin is the best cook you will find in rajasthan and he knows how to make a person feel important. he will be around you whenever you need and for whatever you need. Talking about Munna, well he is a very large hearted fellow and knows jaisalmer like the back of his hand. Get the best deal out of him and he will give you a safari you will never forget. Had a talk with Dushyant also who is the owner.. a gem of a guy.

Well why am i talking about people instead of property, that is becuase the property has to be lived in to experiance it. It will spoil everything if i say something about the property. Dont be too finicky about stuff and you will enjoy it thoroughly cause it is not a five star property by any means.. but it is the best property with five star people.

Simply Awsome.

Room Tip: chose the maharaja room or the room with the best views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Please stay here, it's amazing!! Muna (the host) is the most accommodating person we ve come across in our 2 months in India!! We were 3 guests staying in the "Maharaja Suite", it was like a scene from Aladin... Also booking the camel safari with Muna was perfect, we had an amazing 2 nights in the desert (food was delicious, sleeping under the stars on the sand dunes! Etc)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lalgarh Fort & Palace
Hotel Lalgarh Fort & Palace
#38 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#14 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Heera Court Hotel
Heera Court Hotel
#39 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.6 mi away
Helsinki House
Helsinki House
#11 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Backpacker Panda Oasis - Jaisalmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Haveli Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Haveli Guest House

Property: Desert Haveli Guest House
Address: | In the national monument, The Golden Fort of Jaisalmer, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 103 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Haveli Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All time amazing opportunity to stay in the national monument/museum that is golden fort of Jaisalmer(main attraction of the Jaisalmer) ,specially for history-art loving tourists. This Fairy land building situated on south side of the rampart of the fort claimed to be more than 450 years old. It belongs to a divisional magistrate of state time from there and the current owner himself is the successor . The guest house has fabulous rooms and the building has been kept intact with original golden stone walls and full of characters acclaimed design. Its unique atmosphere makes it a great place to stay. The staff are all friendly and the roof-top restaurant provides not only good food but also acclaimed sweeping views of Jaisalmer's main attractions. The guest house provides access to other services including booking of bus and rail tickets. They have a long experience of desert(CAMEL) safaris and can do memorable-adventurous tours from one day to a week and beyond. many guide books and web sites have recommended very much highly for wonderful experiences - they have their own camel drivers who are experienced with tourists. Staying in the Desert Haveli is a relaxing experience for all age groups and offers a quiet heaven. This description is based on information provided by the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Desert Haveli Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaisalmer Desert Haveli Guest House Hotel Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing