We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel The Royale Jaisalmer
Nearby Hotels
Suryagarh(Jaisalmer)
$301
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lalgarh Fort And Palace(Jaisalmer)(Great Value!)
$25
$19
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$38
$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Shahi Palace(Jaisalmer)(Great Value!)
$8
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel(Jaisalmer)(Great Value!)
$19
$18
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gorbandh Palace(Jaisalmer)
$45
$24
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rang Mahal(Jaisalmer)
$150
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Royal Haveli(Jaisalmer)(Great Value!)
$15
$10
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Victoria(Jaisalmer)(Great Value!)
$15
$11
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (636)
Filter reviews
636 results
Traveler rating
327
182
74
36
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
182
74
36
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolrooftop restaurantthe ownerthe main hotelgreat viewincluded breakfastnice poolthe ground floorcamel safariwalking distancevery nice hoteltrain ticketsstayed nightshot waterenjoyed my staythe hotel managermemorable experience
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 636 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night in one of the cottages and it was excellent. The staff were great, the pool was a nice touch and breakfast was definitely one of the better ones i have had in India. Well worth a look. Very close to the centre of Jaisalmer and the main attractions.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank IndiaSoloScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Fantastic in all aspects is written all over our experience at this wonderful place. The location is nice - you can have very good view of the great Jaisalmer Golden Fort from the roof top restaurant. The food is very good and not pricey.

Harishbhai, the owner, is the prime differentiator. He ensures that his staff takes good care of the guests. And he personally is involved in every help or support that a guest would need or even beyond that.

While checking out, the clerk at reception forgot to give me back my credit card after swiping it and in the hurry I forgot to ask for it. I just signed the slip and went off as we were late (some issues with water supply on that day). I was driving down to Jodhpur and when we were mid-way, Harishbhai called to inform that my Card is with them ! He ensured that the card is sent thro' someone and it reached me by evening in Jodhpur !! Wonderful.... where will you get such wonderful personal attention ?

Our Room 205 was best placed as it has both views - swimming pool view from one side as well as Fort view from the other side.

Room Tip: Our Room 205 was best placed as it has both views - swimming pool view from one side as well as Fort view from the other side.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lionheart2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We are a husband - wife team; both senior citizens enjoying retirement. We researched the hotel on the net, liked what was presented and booked a room for two nights. Then we contacted the hotel on the number given on the website; talked to someone at the counter and were very pleased at the way our phone call from Delhi was received. He gave his name as Harish and he welcomed and assured us a pleasant stay in his hotel. Later we realized that Harish is Harish Sharma, the owner of this hotel and also of Royal Haveli. When he knew that we were senior citizens, he offered to have us pick up from the railway station.

Our stay in the hotel was most memorable. We are frequent travelers and stayed at many different hotels in India and abroad; unhesitatingly we will accord this experience the top slot. Harish, though a busy man, actually sits at the counter whenever he can, personally receives all his guests with utmost humility and warm cordiality. Most of the guests being tourists, he offers them most valuable advice. At our request, he arranged our excursion to Sam Sand Dunes; Camel Cart Safari; and other important sightseeing places. When we decided to take Jeep Safari from a man whom we met at Sam, Harish asked us to wait until he verifies the ability of the jeep driver. Such is his personalized service!

Another touching experience was when Harish invited us to his ancestral home in the Fort and offered us traditional lunch on November 10, his grandfather's death anniversary day. Later he topped it with a dinner at his home within the hotel premises.

The service in the hotel has a human face at all levels; everyone is ever ready to serve the guests to the best of their ability. The rooms are good-sized and aesthetically decorated in traditional Rajasthani style. The best part of the hotel is the roof-top restaurant which offers spectacular view of Jaisalmer fort, the only living fort in the country, we are told.

The owners (Arti Sharma, Harish's wife) have CCTV view of important areas in the hotel to keep a watch on the services offered by their staff, be it the reception counter, the kitchen, or the restaurant etc. Good management practice.

The guests are a diverse mix of foreign visitors and Indian tourists from different states and of different ages. If ever we have to visit Jaisalmer, we will not look for accommodation elsewhere and we would highly recommend this property to all our friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khandavilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed there for 1 night and got the room in the main building. Beautifully decorated, clean, TV, hot water, decent size. The hotel has a pool at the back which is really nice. Thought it was too cold for bathing when we were there, you could easily imagine a nice swim when it's 40 degrees. You'll notice the Micky Mouse in the pool ;)
The best part of the hotel is probably the beautiful roof top! You have an amazing view on the fort!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMicPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We arrived after a long railway journey to a very pleasant hotel and checked in. The owner Harish Sharma was welcoming and we were taken to a cottage room by the swimming pool There was an ensuite wet room with toilet facilities ideally suitable for our four night stay. We found the restaurant on the roof of the main building and enjoyed brilliant views of the Jaisalmer Fort and town to go with our meals. The menu is vegetarian with a varied choice of meals. We enjoyed the Kingfisher beer as an ideal drink to accompany the meal although the usual soft drinks and beverages are available.
Being Diwali, the cash machines had been emptied so hard cash was in short supply. Harish was quite happy to lend us some if we needed Rupees and the restaurant run as a franchise was also happy to tab the meals until later.
In fact, despite what other reviewers have said we could not fault the staff or hotel at all. We were even invited to have a meal with Harish and his family in their own accommodation above our cottage. Nothing was too much trouble and we really felt that this was a special place to stay. On our departure, which seemed to come around too quickly, Mrs Harish made a point of wishing us a safe journey and apologised for not being able to see more of us. ( they have a new baby !)
The swimming pool was a good place to lounge around and to swim in when the heat took over.
Meals could be ordered and delivered to your poolside table.
The town itself was bustling with businesses and we got on well with Shankar, a textile seller of wall hangings, clothes and furnishings. He is not connected to the hotel but well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Look carefully when booking a room to make sure you have chosen properly and take your booking details with you. If in the main building, a room facing the Fort would be a nice choice.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews