We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaisalmer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wild Desert Resort a unit of Rao Bikaji Group
Ranked #84 of 104 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Vapi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“avoidable”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

we stayed here on the 13th & 14th of Aug.2012. good ambience & the rooms were o.k., the toilets left much to be desired. staff quite raw & slow on the uptake. A.c. in the rooms are relics from the past (remote less & most manual controls not in working conditions) couple that with constant power failures + noise & its quite harrowing. the hotel a.c.s does not work during the power failure !! they are not at all prepared for rain maybe because they don't receive much. we had a downpour one evening and the water came gushing into the room from the unkempt terrace soaking the room & the extra bed on the floor. the quaint window seat was soaked through from water seeping through ceiling & the window itself. no hot running water as they feel its not required as the guests bath late in the afternoons & the water is quite hot by then. those like us who do wake up & bath early must be alien to them. the water was quite chilly in the first morning despite their reassurances. on the following day we wanted to leave at 6 A.M. and had informed the hotel about our intentions multiple times & in advance. eager to start the last day of our trip, i woke up at 4:45 A.M. only to be greeted by dry taps. i immediately went to the reception only to find it berefit of any waking staff. two that i found spread in the lounge, i had hard time waking them up. i managed to inform one of them about the absence of water & finally there was some sort of stirring among the staff but despite all of our group waiting for water we didn't get it until it was nearly 6 A.M., the time we should have left the hotel. the hotel manager later informed me that they were trying to provide us with hot water using some boiler of sorts & got delayed. i am yet to find the connection between the two & wonder why it takes above an hour to restore a water supply. and to top this all there wasn't a trace of hot water either !! effectively we had a late start thanks to the inefficiency of the hotel & all our shopping time at Jodhpur gone phut. we had the bad luck of eating at the hotel since we couldn't venture out for dinner due to rains. to say the least the food that arrived after one & a half hour of ordering was disappointing in the extreme. the cook nurtures very strange and warped ideas about what is fit for human consumption & about the recipes of popular dishes like kadai paneer, veg jal fraize, dal fry etc. the chapatis they served should be tasted to be believed. the hotel seemed not to find much fault with the food & offered mildest of apologies !! so those who are unfortunate enough to book this hotel, at least don't eat there...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank fellowtraveller970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harryUs, Public Relations Manager at Wild Desert Resort a unit of Rao Bikaji Group, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Sir when did you stayed at our camp / resort in wilderness desert camp in sam desert jaisalmer?
May I request not to put wrong statment for our camp as per our records you have never stayed at our camp in past.
Regards
mangment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    4
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
8
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I went to Jaisalmer in the last week of January and stayed for one night in the hotel. The hospitality is excellent. I was fortunate enough that the owner of the hotel, Mr. Yogendra personally took me for local sight seeing. I would recommend anybody going to that hotel to ask him for his guidance for local sight seeing. He also helped us book a tent for a night in the Sam desert at a very resonable rate. The quality of food was very good as well. I would say that its excellent value for money in its category.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aerohitsaxena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yog191, General Manager at Wild Desert Resort a unit of Rao Bikaji Group, responded to this review, June 12, 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay Wild desert resort jaisalmer and for sharing your feedback . We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience and that you were happy with our service and facilities. Your feedback is very encouraging and will motivate us to strive harder towards excellence. Thank you for recommending Wild desert resort We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards,
Manvendra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

This hotel is very beautiful. It feels like living in the old-time building, with all this carvings and furniture. The room was clean and cozy to stay. And the staff was caring and attentive. My favourite place was on the roof top, where I could see the Ghandi Chawk market just behind the hotel, different temples, half of the city and, of course, the Fort. It is very nice to sit there in the evening with a cup of chai :)

The location was perfect for me as it took me only 10-15 minutes to reach the Fort and I had opportunity to walk around inside and outside the Fort. And the market behind the hotel has a lot of tasty fruits and other necessary things.

I think that this place is worth to stay and to feel the atmosphere of this amazing city - Jaisalmer.

Happy traveling!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yog191, General Manager at Wild Desert Resort a unit of Rao Bikaji Group, responded to this review, June 12, 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay Wild desert resort jaisalmer and for sharing your feedback . We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience and that you were happy with our service and facilities. Your feedback is very encouraging and will motivate us to strive harder towards excellence. Thank you for recommending Wild desert resort We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards,
Manvendra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We initaly booked for two rooms from 5th November 2011 thru' 6th November 2011 and paid full, However upon reaching to the place we had a great surprise! Rooms offered to us were stinky. Cleanlyness in the toilet was bad. When we asked for the drinking out.. we were offered a water filled up on used Mineral water bottles.

They do not accept the credit card.. Only good thing in over all stay was at addtional cost we were accommodated in Desert Camp for second night..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unmesh_kulkarni59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yog191, General Manager at Wild Desert Resort a unit of Rao Bikaji Group, responded to this review, June 12, 2016
this revoew is for a hotel not for our resort please check with him where actualy he stayed?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gandhinagar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

please do not stay in this hotel. very badly manage. no service ..not look like hotel. please stay away from this hotel. hotel is in the mid of city. they have few shops below the hotel. it looks very bad. there is no flush working properly in the bathroom. even though our package includes breakfast they are not aware about the same. moreover, boofay breakfast should be unlimited but they will ask how many parathas you want. owner is keep telling that he has taken hotel in 11 lacs per annum so he need to recover the same so cost is very high. we have paid around 2500 rs. per day but it is not worth rs. 1000 also. AC is not working properly as well as very noisy. please do not attract from the photographs placed on the net. in reallty it is all to gether a different experiance. please please do not stay

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brijshreya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harryUs, Public Relations Manager at Wild Desert Resort a unit of Rao Bikaji Group, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Sir when did you stayed at our camp / resort in wilderness desert camp in sam desert jaisalmer?
May I request not to put wrong statment for our camp as per our records you have never stayed at our camp in past.
Regards
mangment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Very nice hotel in Jaisalmer, decorated in the style of the old buildings in the city. Clean and comfortable rooms with nice view over the city. Staff very friendly, good and surprisingly unassuming service - before you think about asking for something is has already happened. Water and tea materialise constantly in front of you, which is great given the heat and dry air in this area. Definitely enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flo1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shriramheritage, Owner at Wild Desert Resort a unit of Rao Bikaji Group, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
The review is for a hotel not for the desert camp and my listing is of a Wild desert resort / camp, see at end of this mail guest writs he had gone to desert camp later on and was happy about it.
please ask the customer where he had stayed and put “revew at corect place,he says hotel not resort / camp in resort we serave only fix rajasthani food nothing else. what wrong I have done why wrong reveiws about my resort?
Think once before you book this hotel”
we stayed here on the 13th & 14th of Aug.2012. good ambience & the rooms were o.k., the toilets left much to be desired. staff quite raw & slow on the uptake. A.c. in the rooms are relics from the past (remote less & most manual controls not in working conditions) couple that with constant power failures + noise & its quite harrowing. the hotel a.c.s does not work during the power failure !! they are not at all prepared for rain maybe because they don't receive much. we had a downpour one evening and the water came gushing into the room from the unkempt terrace soaking the room & the extra bed on the floor. the quaint window seat was soaked through from water seeping through ceiling & the window itself. no hot running water as they feel its not required as the guests bath late in the afternoons & the water is quite hot by then. those like us who do wake up & bath early must be alien to them. the water was quite chilly in the first morning despite their reassurances. on the following day we wanted to leave at 6 A.M. and had informed the hotel about our intentions multiple times & in advance. eager to start the last day of our trip, i woke up at 4:45 A.M. only to be greeted by dry taps. i immediately went to the reception only to find it berefit of any waking staff. two that i found spread in the lounge, i had hard time waking them up. i managed to inform one of them about the absence of water & finally there was some sort of stirring among the staff but despite all of our group waiting for water we didn't get it until it was nearly 6 A.M., the time we should have left the hotel. the hotel manager later informed me that they were trying to provide us with hot water using some boiler of sorts & got delayed. i am yet to find the connection between the two & wonder why it takes above an hour to restore a water supply. and to top this all there wasn't a trace of hot water either !! effectively we had a late start thanks to the inefficiency of the hotel & all our shopping time at Jodhpur gone phut. we had the bad luck of eating at the hotel since we couldn't venture out for dinner due to rains. to say the least the food that arrived after one & a half hour of ordering was disappointing in the extreme. the cook nurtures very strange and warped ideas about what is fit for human consumption & about the recipes of popular dishes like kadai paneer, veg jal fraize, dal fry etc. the chapatis they served should be tasted to be believed. the hotel seemed not to find much fault with the food & offered mildest of apologies !! so those who are unfortunate enough to book this hotel, at least don't eat there...

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
3 of 5 stars Value
3 of 5 stars Location
3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
3 of 5 stars Rooms
3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful?Yes5
Problem with this review?
Ask fellowtraveller970 about where he had stayed at hotel or in Wild Desert Resort at sam desert 38 km from jaisalmer?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We had a very awesome stay here in Meera Mahal. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this city. The staff is not only excellent but also very helpful. Our stay here was at Meera Mahal was even more memorable and enjoyable with the help and guide of Mr. Yogendra Rathore, who was a wonderful host. The best place to stay and enjoy your time in Jaisalmer. :-)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmtruangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yog191, General Manager at Wild Desert Resort a unit of Rao Bikaji Group, responded to this review, June 12, 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay Wild desert resort jaisalmer and for sharing your feedback . We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience and that you were happy with our service and facilities. Your feedback is very encouraging and will motivate us to strive harder towards excellence. Thank you for recommending Wild desert resort We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards,
Manvendra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.0 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 104 in Jaisalmer
769 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 104 in Jaisalmer
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 104 in Jaisalmer
897 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,055 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tokyo Palace Jaisalmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Desert Resort a unit of Rao Bikaji Group? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Desert Resort a unit of Rao Bikaji Group

Property: Wild Desert Resort a unit of Rao Bikaji Group
Address: | Near Sam Desert Toll Plaza, Jaisalmer 334022, India (Formerly Wild Desert Resort)
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 104 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from home. Wild Desert Resort a unit of Rao Bika ji groups of hotels & resort, with facilities like 3 star property run by Samar Singh & partners. From September 2012 it is maintained by Rao Bika ji groups of hotels & resorts & have 3 resorts in their group in Sam Desert in name of Wild Desert Resort MAhadev resort, divine nilla lohita. Camp is easily accessible from main road of Sam Desert. Wild Desert, a unit of Rao Bikaji groups of hotels & resorts is known as one of the best in Sam Desert Jaisalmer and ensures comfortable stay and full value for money. Accommodation: The Swiss tents are tastefully decorated and comfortable and have Rajasthani traditional which adds a local flavor to the rooms. Rooms are equipped with facilities like attached bathroom, running hot and cold water, etc. & have their own hotels & resortin Bikaner in name of Shri Ram Heritage, Rao Bika ji camel safari, Shri Ram guest house, international youth hostel, Wild Desert Resort and associate hotels in other part of Rajasthan / India. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing