We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jaisalmer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Swastika Jaisalmer
Ranked #91 of 225 Specialty Lodging in Jaisalmer
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“great value for money”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Swastika is a super clean guesthouse with great value for money. We stayed two nights in their double room with attached bathroom and enjoyed the view from our window seat. They also have a great triple room with attached bath and balcony. All services available at reasonable rates.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vagebond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed here for two seperate nights before and after our one night camel safari and found the rooms to be just fine. The two rooms we stayed in were a little more expensive 400rp/night as they had thier own hot water tank in the bathroom, the other rooms we saw were 300rp/night. The rooms are big enough, the front ones have more light but more street noise (the street is pretty quiet though).

The owner is very relaxed, we could leave our bags afer checking out the last day as we had a train at 5pm. The hotel is on a side street and only 5-10mins walk to the fort and same for the havelis. It is not far from the resturants Trio and Saffron (mentioned in the lonely planet). We just booked on arrival after seeing the rooms. Overall the place is clean and comfortable for a night or two. We have been in India for 3 months and so are a little accustomed to a certian level of noise, but I think this place is pretty quiet by Indian standards.

There was no A/C's on as it is winter and super cold. The blankets were a little thin but we were in our sleeping liners and warm clothes and didn't ask for more blankets but I think they would give them if you asked. I haven't come across a place yet that didn't give another blanket when we've asked. We didn't eat there or use the laundry service. Very relaxed place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patna
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2010

This hotel was so comfortable and rooms were clean , well decorated and spacious. Food quality was nice. It was the best place to under stand the culture of rajasthan. Staffs were helpful and polite. Hotel was well connected with city.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sumit1987_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We had a very good value (Rs 100 pppn) non-AC room with fans and an interesting en-suite which was complete with decorative stone work. There was a small balcony with no particular view. The owner was a little stand-offish but welcoming all the same. We were served free chai tea on arrival and he sorted train tickets for us at a very small charge with no hassle. He was interested enough to chat with us over tea also.

We were very disappointed with the swarm of touts we encountered at the train station, all of whom claimed to be from Swastika when we mentoned it (it gets deserved good reviews in LP and RG). When we finally arrived at Swastika the calm and airy atmosphere was a welcome relief. Fully recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2009

The hotel has a good location, close to the center. At first it was difficult to find. We booked the hotel on the spot when arriving, but the price was higher then expected based on the information in the guide book. The hotel owner was not that pleasant, but we had a normal room with good standard. There is cheap food available in the hotel.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kebabpizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

This is a very laid back guest house with the owner, Arun, providing a hassle free welcoming environment. No selling of anything. Clean room and good
roof top to relax and see the fort. When we went to check out and pay for the pots of tea we enjoyed on the roof every evening, we were told no fee, as the tea was complementary in the morning - (only we were having ours in the evening). We found a good place to eat nearby, the Milap, probably the freshest veg thali so far, modest and cheap, home cooking.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geesee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2008

We stayed here for our last day in Jaisalmer after having a bad experience elsewhere. This place is a good value for the cost. The mattress on the bed was a bit hard, but not too bad. We had an upstairs room with some nice stonework around a window and in the bathroom that added a nice touch to the room. It took us some fiddling with all the switches before we found the one that turned on the hot water heater, but had no problems and nice hot showers after that.
They have the usual collection of used books downstairs in the lobby, but they actually let you exchange books so can have some new reading material to take with you, not just read while you are there like some other places we've stayed in India.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
8.2 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 104 in Jaisalmer
771 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 104 in Jaisalmer
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 104 in Jaisalmer
898 reviews
0.4 mi away
1st Gate Home- Fusion
1st Gate Home- Fusion
#3 of 104 in Jaisalmer
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Swastika Jaisalmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Swastika Jaisalmer

Property: Hotel Swastika Jaisalmer
Address: Chainpura St., Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 225 Specialty Lodging in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing