We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel.But restaurant needs improvement.”
Review of Hotel Desert Winds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Desert Winds
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Bikaner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were very impressed at the first sight of the hotel.A very pretty hotel.This hotel is just beside the Harasar Havel.THe two hotel adjoins each other in such a way that they look like the same property.However I would have rated it better than average but the restaurant was a disaster.Anything you ordered will take minimum 45 mins. and after such a long wait the food which came was hardly edible.Even a simple potato curry was so bad.Apart from restaurant the stay was pretty comfortable.Nice clean spacious rooms.Internet speed was superb.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dipmay15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 195 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean rooms, good reception staff, nice food but absolutely terrible waiters\kids serving the food. Its a shame as it sets a very unprofessional tone for the rest of the hotel. The staff were loud, unattentive and incapable of doing their job properly. Playing loud music on there mobile phones, fighting and generally being idiots whilst we were trying to eat dinner

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickersBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I am seeing a lot of positive reviews for this hotel and for the price it probably is a good choice. We were staying at higher end hotels for the rest of our trip but stayed in Bikaner at this one because we only stayed for one night. We were not impressed: it is a simple and clean hotel for a reasonable price. It has nothing to rave about. The restaurant was a highlight though: we had a very good dinner in the garden restaurant.
It was not possible to take a shower in our room because the hot water was only trickling down and if I tried to mix it with cold water, it would turn completely cold. Not a disaster for one night in winter but still not acceptable for what is supposed to be a decent hotel.
We had 2 rooms and apart from the fact that they didn't manage to give us rooms next to each other, one of the rooms had no window.
All in all, OK for 1 night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WDP_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Really good food and really good service. The owners have pug that will run around and entertain you during dinner. Plus everyone here is really nice and service oriented which stands out as rare in India. Very hospitable...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael-and-Jose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I was travelling with my family and we stayed there for a night. It was the last day of a grueling Rajasthan trip and we really enjoyed our stay in Desert Winds. The hotel is located just 1 KM from the fort and close to the marketplace. The rooms were comfortable and the hospitality was excellent. The garden restaurant was relaxing and the food was tasty. Would definitely recommend this hotel to other BIkaner visitors ...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rakesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed 2 night at desert winds and its one of the best hotels we've stayed at in Rajasthan.. Rooms are big, hotel overall is awesome looking and price is decent. The service is fast and thankfully the bed is comfortable too.. All the other beds we've slept in have felt like bricks .. Definitely recommend this place

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed just about 20 hours only. Nice property, good location, reasonable size of neat clean room. Most of the electric points for plugs were not working, had difficulty charging Mobile n Laptop.

Worst was the killing slow speed of food service.

Owner and staff were courteous.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SanjeevNirwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bikaner hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bhairon Vilas
Hotel Bhairon Vilas
#15 of 36 in Bikaner
302 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Jaswant Bhawan
Hotel Jaswant Bhawan
#4 of 36 in Bikaner
284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Harasar Haveli
Hotel Harasar Haveli
#7 of 36 in Bikaner
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Vesta Bikaner Palace
Vesta Bikaner Palace
#2 of 36 in Bikaner
412 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shri Ram Heritage
Shri Ram Heritage
#6 of 36 in Bikaner
183 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lallgarh Palace - A Heritage Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Desert Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Desert Winds

Address: Opposite Maharaja Karni Singh Stadium, Bikaner 334001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Bikaner District > Bikaner
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Bikaner
Price Range: $26 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Desert Winds 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Desert Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing