We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Haven't slept here, only ate here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shanti House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shanti House
Ranked #3 of 50 Bikaner B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Haven't slept here, only ate here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I haven't slept in this place, I only ate here.
The food was really good, really good price! I've had the jeera rice with aloo gobi, and I returned the next day for fried dhal with jeera rice. They give a very nice personal touch to the diner!
Gouri and his wife are the nicest persons of Bikaner.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
9 Thank Floris88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    45
    16
    5
    7
See reviews for
12
78
66
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Hello to all you Fellow Travelers who just happen to be heading in a Bikaner type direction AND are looking for a FAB place to stay!

I just spent a pleasurable week in Bikaner with a wonderful Family at the Shanti guest house! Actually it felt more like i was staying friends! I really was made to feel welcome in this friendly easy going Atmosphere! There are 4 Unique Fantastic looking rooms Ranging from 4 to 6 hundred Roops! OR if like me you are a budget Traveler there are also 2 Beds(one on the roof,one in A corridor) which are going for 120 Roops!which i found to be great Value. You will also find Gouri (The owner) to be very helpful with travel plans, information ETC. Its also perfectly located for the tourist as its in the old town BUT also close to the new!!! SO ENJOY!!

Room Tip: Look AND choose- They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

My fiance and I had a positive experience at Shanti house. Its a nice place to hang out with fellow travelers. We also felt quite at home with Gouri, Tara, and Cormelika- their adorable daughter. When we became ill at their house, Gouri and Tara were very caring and concerned for our well being. They helped us a lot when we were in need, and for that we are grateful. We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MadiShap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pushkar, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Lovely guest house run by a most hospitable couple. The free cooking classes (just buy the ingredients) are a nice touch. It is well located and Gouri (the owner) used to be a travel guide so he can help you with just about anything you need for your trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TomNevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

If you want to stay with a Rajasthani family in Bikaner then we highly recommend the Shanti House. We spent 7 days here in Dec 2012. It is within the Old City and is in easy walking distance of the Railway Station, Fort, Deshnok bus stop, markets, Kem Road and much more. When we arrived we were told to "feel at home" ..and we did!
Gourie and Tara assisted us in so many ways; transport solutions, shopping advice, tour assistance, language interpretaion and help in understanding some of the complexities of Indian culture and just passing the time of day.
Gourie is the only professional guide in the Old City. He has spent his life there. We took his tour early in our stay and what a plus it was. We moved about getting our bearings and had a zillion questions answered.The highlight of the tour was to accompany Gourie to a prayer meeting at the 600 year old Lakshminath Temple.It was exhilirating, something we had never experienced before and can only be done in the company of Gourie. Even if you stay outside the Old City a quick txt or email can get you on this worthwhile tour.
Another highlight for us was helping in the kitchen. Tara and Gourie prepared superb meals. On one occassion Suzanne shopped at the market for ingredients to make a Malai Kofta then helped in its development into one of the best meals we have had.
We found the Shanti, only 4 rooms, to be a haven from the bustling city. We could eat on the roof or in our room if a little peace was needed. All meals delivered. A tap on the door in the morning produced a delicious breakfast and pot of masala tea.Brilliant.
This was a safe place for us to stay.
So if you want excellent budget accommodation (we paid 350r per night) and a stepping stone to the bird and animal life, botany, history,shopping, safari, architecture, food, fort and the temples of this area then the Shanti House is a great option.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Johnz62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is the best value place to stay in Bikaner. Right in the heart of the old town, the wonderful family will make you feel at home with great food, excellent help and no pressure for unwanted extras. The rooms in this narrow guest house have tons of character, some with AC. The owner will organize station pickups, take you one a great value old city tour, and help you with anything you need. One of the best gems in Rajasthan.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SSpring5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Shanti House was a great place to stay. Gouri and his family were wonderful hosts and very helpful. Gouri offers great advice (should be listened to!) and is always willing to help beyond what we have experienced at any other guest house in India. Great home cooked food, all at a very good price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bikaner hotels
1.4 mi away
Shri Ram Heritage
Shri Ram Heritage
#7 of 36 in Bikaner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bhairon Vilas
Hotel Bhairon Vilas
#10 of 36 in Bikaner
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jaswant Bhawan
Hotel Jaswant Bhawan
#4 of 36 in Bikaner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Maharaj Ganga Mahal
Hotel Maharaj Ganga Mahal
#11 of 36 in Bikaner
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Laxmi Niwas Palace
0.8 mi away
Tanisha Heritage Haweli
Tanisha Heritage Haweli
#1 of 50 in Bikaner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti House

Property: Shanti House
Address: Shanti House Near City Kotwaly | Old city, Bikaner 334001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Bikaner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Bikaner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only guest house in the old city. Mentioned and thanked in Lonely Planet. We currently have 3 rooms with attached bathroom and 1 with separate bathroom. Free pick up from bus or train. I am also available for city tours or other travel advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Shanti House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti House Hotel Bikaner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing