We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A REAL HAVELI EXPERIENCE - AMAZING ROOMS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bhanwar Niwas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bhanwar Niwas
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Bikaner
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A REAL HAVELI EXPERIENCE - AMAZING ROOMS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

WE stayed here overnight on our way from jaisalmer to delhi and even though the owner on the phone suggested that i stay at their new & modern hotel on bikaner outskirts as that was easy to reach but still we opted for Bhanwar Niwas and all in all we made an excellent decision and had we not then we would have never known what we missed.

This Haveli is bang in the middle of the old city and not so easy to find on your own especially if you have a big car and the owner was kind enough to depute a rickshaw to pilot us to this place thru the maze of by lanes of the old city.

A must see and stay place if you are going to Bikaner even if for one night. The moment you enter the haveli, the grandeur captivates you,The rooms & the dining area are huge and with original restored paint work & wall paper with high ceilings etc.
The food is vegetarian and home cooked and very good.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on the first floor which open on to the inner courtyard we took the two on either s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linus_110048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    38
    24
    13
    6
See reviews for
19
51
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Struggling through the little alleys and lively chaos of the neighborhood we arrived at this amazing place. Looks like a little palace and decorated beautifully. We had a huge room with our own hallway leading up to the bathroom. My parents also had a wonderful room.
Sitting in the courtyard, with the fountain and music playing the background feels so tranquil and magical.
For wonderful views of the town you can go all the way up to the roof, this is especially nice at night.
Walking the neighborhood is also a great experience, there are some lovely haveli's nearbye and we met quite some friendly people who didn't want something from us.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasminePetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

I stayed at Bhanwar Niwas 5 years ago, and returned recently. It's been refurbished since then - it was always stylish, and quirky, now it's even better (though I miss the vintage car that used to be in the lobby!). The dining room has been redecorated and, contrary to others experiences, we found the food very good and the service excellent. We were given a huge and beautiful suite, with an amazing bathroom and a rather regal loo! It's in the old part of town, which means a) narrow streets so it can be tricky to get to if you are in a large car but b) it's close to those seriously beautiful old haveli's (and is one itself). Each evening, musicians play in the courtyard - the music fits the experience. If you want bland and anodyne then dont stay here. If on the other hand you want a uniquely Indian but comfortable stay, then Bhanwar Niwas will fit the bill nicely.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaipurjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

Could be an excellent hotel but they need to lift their game. Also serving some continental food would be great, by the time most people have reached Bikaner they are really looking for some variety and I think if you are spending $200+ a night then it’s not unreasonable to expect this.

Pros: lovely big heritage building, huge room, nicely decorated rooms and common areas

Cons: uncomfortable bed, bathroom was not totally clean, no tv, no wifi, no music in restaurant or bar, bar was set up in courtyard which was a great idea but there were no staff and no music (so no atmosphere – again!), staff in restaurant were very bumbly and didn’t seem to know what they were doing.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deltasmelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaipur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed here for one night in the last week of july2011. Finding the hotel took some time, and we thought its going to be a disaster. We were completely wrong and taken aback when we entered the hotel (possibly due to initial apprehension due to location). The staff were nice and the room was extremely spacious and very...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rajendra300678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wollongong
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

We stayed two nights at Bikaner.The hotel was fabulous,huge room, lovely courtyard and decor.Every thing was very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.The location however was not so good ,in an older part of the city(which is usually ok) but here it was nowhere near a market or restraunt area.We ate at the hotel which was a set menu and it was'nt that great,a pity because every thing else was good .It would have been nice to have some tasty Indian food but instead they tried to westernise the food which did;nt really work. service at the restraunt was excellant.We enjoyed our stay.The city palace was an exceptional sight and our guide Diguijay Singh was fantastic.Also take a trip out to Deshnok to see the "rat temple"

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
530 reviews
224 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

Approaching the hotel you wonder what on earth you have done booking this hotel. The narrow streets you travel in your car to get here, far too small for a coach for example, are somewhat dirty and definitely in a more run down part of the town. The reception is similarly not very encouraging although the classic vintage car in reception might give a clue as to what is to come. You then enter the old building and its grace of a bygone era becomes evident in luxurious corridors and antique decorated side rooms. The bedrooms themselves are similarly lavishly finished with paintings on the walls, as well as the walls and ceiling being decorated themselves. And the size, our room, number 4, was 8 metres by 8 metres ! It is good the mass tourist coaches can’t reach here, and with only six rooms they couldn’t be catered for, which is great because as one of few guests you do feel the quiet peaceful mood of this place. Dinner was a waiter service affair. No menu choice, just their standard dinner on offer that night. Soup starter, main course, dessert, coffee all well served for US$8 each. And the food was tasty. A bit strange being offered potatoes, pasta and rice on the same main course but nevertheless a very good experience of waiter service in a large sumptuous dining room. And in the middle of the courtyard two musicians played for an hour on sitar and Tabla. Breakfast was similarly waiter served in the large dining room. With the few number of guests this hotel caters for, being waiter served here for breakfast after spending the night in an enormous lavishly decorated bedroom did feel rather special but overall you also get the feeling that the building itself has not quite got used to being a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KS&HC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bikaner hotels
5.7 mi away
Vesta Bikaner Palace
Vesta Bikaner Palace
#1 of 36 in Bikaner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Laxmi Niwas Palace
The Laxmi Niwas Palace
#2 of 36 in Bikaner
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bhairon Vilas
Hotel Bhairon Vilas
#10 of 36 in Bikaner
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lallgarh Palace
Lallgarh Palace
#8 of 36 in Bikaner
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Gaj Kesri
Hotel Gaj Kesri
#16 of 36 in Bikaner
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Maharaj Ganga Mahal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bhanwar Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhanwar Niwas

Property: Bhanwar Niwas
Address: Rampuria Street | Bikaner Ra, Bikaner 334001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Bikaner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Bikaner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bhanwar Niwas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated inside the walled city of Bikaner is Bhanwar Niwas, the grandest of the famed havelis belonging to the Rampuria family. Bhanwar Niwas is a tribute and testimony to the skill and craftsmanship of the artisans of Bikaner. Completed in 1927 for Bhanwarlalji Rampuria, heir to a textile and real estate fortune, Bhanwar Niwas reflects the fashionable tastes of the 1920's, a taste for formal and well ordered luxury with modern conveniences of the time. The architecture of the haveli is a fascinating mix of Indian and European styles. On the ground floor are the public rooms including the Blue Drawing Room and the Little Drawing Room. For your palate we serve delectable vegetarian food in the magnificent Dining Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Bhanwar Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bhanwar Niwas Bikaner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing