We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intercultural experience and wild life in the desert.”
Review of Vino Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vino Guest House
Ranked #5 of 51 Bikaner B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Intercultural experience and wild life in the desert.”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel in August 2012.
We also took a two days desert safari organized by Vino.
Let’s first talk about the guesthouse: it is located far away from the old city center and the Bikaner station (you need a rickshaw to move through the city); Vino sent a driver to pick us up at the train station (without being asked) and he didn’t even charge us for the ride! Moreover, Vino in person kindly drove us in the early morning (4.30 am!!!) to the station, always free of charge (that is quite rare there!). Anyway he makes you feel comfortable and if you have any question or request you just have to ask him.
We took a double room inside Vino’s house for the price of 350 rupees per night. It was pretty clean, large and had a lott of plugs! Vino doesn’t have rooms with air conditioned.
Free wifi is avaiable but it only works in the common room.
The guesthouse has also a garden with rooms around it.
Food is good, home cooked and quite cheap.
About the safari: as we went during rain season, we didn’t see many sand dunes but many peacoks and antilops; we enjoyed camp food prepared by camel man (they taught us how to clean plates just with sand); we spent a nice time with our english speaking guide. The safari ended with the visit of Mata Temple (the Rats Temple) in Deshnok.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank marina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    20
    10
    10
    13
See reviews for
10
52
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at Vino´s in January. As others mentioned, the Rooms are basic but spacious and the whole Family is VERY friendly. Vino tries to help you with all the Questions you have...we also did a Camel Safari with Vino´s wich was great aswell.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbreun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

About 3 kms from the train station, it is a bit of a hike back and forth if you're wanting to use services inside the city or see the fort. Our room was spacious with large windows and an attached bathroom. Unfortunetly, the walls offer little soundproofing to the household noises below and after arriving exhausted at 5am from our train, we got to listen to an explosive domestic arguement that lasted a few hours. There is a closed off garden available to take your meals in, which also has a swimming pool (but it was covered and closed off). You can have your meals prepared by the guesthouse and the food was simple, cheap, and quickly made.

Room Tip: Convenient if doing a camel safari, but not for seeing the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We did enjoy our stay and camel safari with vino, but a 2-day camel-safari is probably more than enough for most people. We took a 3-day-tour and would have been happy with two days,seeing as the camp on night 1 is far more scenic. Vino was very helpful and stuck to his word.

Room Tip: The rooms inside the house are cooler and more homely than the ones around the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank joshd3533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I cannot wait to return to Bikaner and stay here again. Accommodation was great, clean, and quite. Vino and his family are very helpful and do not try to rip you off. All were very kind and friendly. The camel safari was great as well. Thumbs up all around!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, Utrecht, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in this guesthouse.
They picked us up from the trainstation even though our train was one our late. That night, the son of the family, took us to a wedding. It was a special experience. After the safari we could take a shower and they maded sure that we didn't pay to much for the riksjaw to the train station.
We really felt that they wanted to make our stay as plesant as possible.

We did a camelsafari aswell. We really enjoyed to be away from the choas for 4 days. The only thing we didn't like was that 2 nights some friends of the guide stayed for the night. We didn't feel really comfortable about that because we really needed some time away from people staring at us.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meilan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Even I spent just one day in this cozy guest house I felt like home. Comfy rooms, home made food and on the top very friendly and helpful staff and owner.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank duhoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bikaner hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bhairon Vilas
Hotel Bhairon Vilas
#11 of 36 in Bikaner
299 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Jaswant Bhawan
Hotel Jaswant Bhawan
#4 of 36 in Bikaner
265 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Harasar Haveli
Hotel Harasar Haveli
#6 of 36 in Bikaner
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Vinayak Guest House
Vinayak Guest House
#2 of 51 in Bikaner
199 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tanisha Heritage Haweli
Tanisha Heritage Haweli
#1 of 51 in Bikaner
166 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shanti House
Shanti House
#3 of 51 in Bikaner
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vino Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vino Guest House

Property: Vino Guest House
Address: Opposite Gopeshwar Temple, Bikaner 334001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Bikaner District > Bikaner
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Bikaner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vino Paying Guest House is a family run guest-house with garden and is an ideal and comfortable place for your stay in The desert city of Bikaner. From the warm welcome you receive on arrival, Vinod and his family have been welcoming traveler for more than 15 years with cosy rooms, home-cooked meals and free cooking lesson, internet and friendly help for all your travel needs and arrange great camel safari in the desert of Rajsthan. There are 10 nice rooms with private bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Vino Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing