We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed visiting bikaner and the hotel stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Raj Vilas Palace
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Bikaner
Reviewed January 18, 2010

We were on a rajasthan trip, its an amazing experience. Its so beautiful state and a must visit to every one. Itsa best time to visit is from Oct and NOV, i am telling from my expereince, nice weather and people.They greet you like a family. We travelled to bikaner from jaipur its a five - six hour run by road, stayed there in Raj Vilas palace hotel, its a nice and hertiage property, lovely entrance and rooms are equiped with all the basic amenities. Nice clean room, toilet and staff is also nice and helpful. Its very close to famous junagarh fort.. Visit Junagarh Fort, Other places to visit are Bhandasar Jain Temples, enjoy sunset views of the desert and taste the camel's milk and ride on its back at the world-famous National Camel Breeding Farm.All these places are very close from hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank enggkuldeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 136 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2009

We were 2 families on Rajasthjan Tour and reached Raj Vilas from Jaipur .To our dismay the rooms were not allocated despite a confirmed booking 5 months back .Our requirement was 2 Double rooms .First the staff said they will join the beds ( a new definition of double room ) , then they try to allocate 2 rooms in different floors and finally after 1.5 hrs we managed to get 2 adjacent rooms .All this happening and the manger is nowhere in sight .Rooms were OK , Bathrooms were oldish , Room service was ok .The buffet breakfast was a joke with no refilling happening . At the end of 2 days we were happy to check out and continue our journey .

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravichandran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

This is supposed to be a 3-4 star hotel but the rooms were stinking and gloomy. Bathroom was not clean with damaged bath tub, leaking taps, non operational shower! Room was full of mosquitoes and many of the light bulbs were fused! After staying in other 4 star hotels in Rajasthan, this was the worst experience.

There was a group of the foreigners staying at the hotel. Looked as if the hotel staff was concerned just about them! The buffet was insufficient, cold, and were were NOT served at all!


It was a very pathetic experience over all! This hotel is not worth even a single star!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rasneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2008

Our room was large and clean. The TV, air conditioning and plumbing worked (a plus for India). The rooftop restaurant was pleasant but seating seemed only available for large groups so we ate inside. The food was good but a bit expensive. The location was a bit far away from anything. We needed a taxi to go anywhere.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuniperToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2008

It is a heritage house converted hotel. Former rulers of BIkaner used to stay in this palace. Till today the looks of this hotel resembles any palace or big Haveli. Now the palace has been converted into a hotel as has been the trend today.
Hotel has 55 rooms, doctor on call, dining, massaging and laundry services. It is hardly 1.5 Km from Rly. station. Adjacent to the entry you will find many shops within hotel premises only. These sell traditional artefacts and hadicrafts items. The lobby of hotel is big and you will notice four stair cases leading to different floors of the hotel.

Staff of hotel warmly welcomes you on arrival. Rooms are big enough to accommodate two double beds with nice colour matching mattresses and curtains. Most importantly bath rooms are very nice , clean and fitted with bath tub. Cost is slightly higher. I paid Rs. 3500/- for one night.
Hot water, however, you will get after leaving the tap ON for 5 minutes. Overall my experience was very good with this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank great_tally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

Very nice hotel! Great service, though food is pricey. Both the premier rooms and the tents are worth trying. The pool is very nice and service there is excellent, each time you go there (the pool) you get two bottles of water, cold towels, sunscreen, fruit smoothies…and throughout the day they gave us different smoothies and different fruit snacks for free. The restaurant had great dinner…we had a great amuse bouche (veg bruschetta) at dinner one night and they gladly made it for us for lunch the next day. The spa is beautiful and the treatments we had were great. If you stay here, try the free cooking classes (offered by the exec chef). We had one to teach us to cook a simple Indian meal and it made the stay. (and was free!) Internet here was very expensive, at 800 rupees per day. If you have a few minutes, walk around the Royal Vila where Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie & Bill Clinton stayed when they visited. Also, in the early evenings I suggest visiting the temple, it is a very nice experience. I would stay at this hotel again, though I may split my time at the Rambaugh palace as well. If you are driving, be careful not to miss the hotel as all the signs are down because of the construction.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Riversair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2007

When you enter the hotel you have the feeling of a rather grand affair - marble hall, painted walls. However we were rather disappointed by the rest. The rooms are actually OK (marble bathroom, even if in need of some maintenance), but the restaurant upstairs has filthy tablecloths and also the uniforms of the waiters could be whiter. At the ground floor there is a restaurant "gents only", which is really not particularly appealing. So, it is not an unbearable place, but certainly not a luxury accommodation either. I would not discard it completely if you get a very good rate, but if you want a very good place look further.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
Thank viaggiando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bikaner hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bhairon Vilas
Hotel Bhairon Vilas
#15 of 36 in Bikaner
303 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Maharaj Ganga Mahal
6.2 mi away
Vesta Bikaner Palace
Vesta Bikaner Palace
#2 of 36 in Bikaner
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Chirag
Hotel Chirag
#5 of 36 in Bikaner
145 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lallgarh Palace - A Heritage Palace Hotel
1.6 mi away
Karni Bhawan Palace
Karni Bhawan Palace
#16 of 36 in Bikaner
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raj Vilas Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raj Vilas Palace

Address: Near Public Park, Bikaner 334001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Bikaner District > Bikaner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Bikaner
Price Range: $36 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Raj Vilas Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Raj Vilas Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing