We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home and more.”
Review of Marudyan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marudyan Resort
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Bikaner
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

I go to Marudyan every year since it was started. The warmth of the hosts and the comfort of the resort is unmatched. Excellent home made food is served. The trips to Bikaner, Gajner, khichan and Taal Chappar are memorable. Go guys don't hesitate.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sundeeprsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 37 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at Marudyan in December 2012 for two nights. Karan Singh Rathore runs a lovely place just outside the city on the Jaipur Road. Space is what you get here with the one room bungalows that are clean and compact with a small sit out verandah. The lack of TVs in the rooms is a bonus especially when you want to leave the world behind. Morning means opening the door to one of the three friendly dogs who are otherwise all over the property when not lazing in the winter sun. Nothing to complain about the food either. We had it in the dining hall - no room service apart from tea - but breakfast could be al fresco!

Karan was most helpful with what to do, directions and other general information about the city and the environs. In fact, he called us to find out where we were since we drove from Delhi. When told that we were at Deshnok at the rat temple, he gave us the directions to the resort and we had no problem in getting there.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Sandeep K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We chose Marudyan Resort because of the pool and gardens. I was travelling through Rajasthan with my daughters aged 10 and 7 and needed to stop and recharge our batteries. I couldn't have asked for more. The girls loved the place and the people were all friendly. Even the three dogs were so lovable. The owner accepted our booking over email without any advance payment - said he had room and we were welcome to check the place out before deciding to stay. This was the only place throughout the trip where I did not put a down payment at the time of booking. The rooms are basic but comfortable and clean. There is no room service and one has to go to the dining room for even a cup of coffee, but these inconveniences are minor compared to to the atmosphere of the place. The vibes you get are so good and one can laze in the sun or near the pool for hours. Surprisingly there were very few other guests and this was the most peaceful part of our stay. I would definitely recommend this to someone who wants peace, quiet, a small campfire at night, plenty of sun in the day and friendly hosts. It is not for those who cannot do without the internet for a couple of days, or need the television in their rooms, or room service every few minutes!! The price of room was also very reasonable though one has to pay in cash as the resort does not accept cards.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luisa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The hosts are very warm and welcoming but the rooms we were given were dusty, the buckets in the bathroom had a thick layer of grime. The food was below average and the service was slow and hap-hazard. The property otherwise has tremendous potential but the initiative on part of its owners is lacking.

Room Tip: Ask for independent cottage for your stay. The rooms by the pool are average and certainly not ideal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uno2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at Marudyan resort for 2 nights in November 2012. This place is a little away from the main city but a very nice and quite place. Best place to spend some peaceful time away from home but still with a homely feeling.

Rooms were quite neat and clean and were like sweet little small bungalows.

Thanks to the sweet couple ( the owners) for their hospitality. We were overwhelmed by their hospitality and friendliness. Food was also very homemade.

Attached few photos too for reference!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benazir25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I was part of a group of American students who attended a week long camp at marudyan to as part of our high school syllabus. The aim of the program was to acquaint us to the real India which is 70% rural. We were staying at Marudyan and visiting villages which fall within a half hours drive to the resort. We would spend the mornings there working on various projects, which were fun and rewarding. The village people especially the children were inquisitive, but always very polite and helpful. The women were all very friendly and good fun. Being March, the days were warm and we spent the afternoons at Marudyan. They have a lovely pool and the trees on the campus provide a lot of shade to just laze away in. Rooms were comfortable and one did not miss the lack of television or internet connectivity. The food was excellent and was the best I personally have eaten in India. The owner and his family were always polite and helpful and are an encyclopedia of knowledge on history, culture and society of India. I would definitely recommend any one staying there to pick their brains. Not to forget the lovely dogs which are part of the family and very guest friendly without being greedy or ill mannered.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kateislate84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We selected marudyan because of some favorable reviews on tripadvisor, and we were looking for a smallish property not in the heart of the city. Being posted in Delhi for the past year my partner and I decided on a holiday in Rajasthan - what better place than the desert to soak some sun in the winter. We chose Bikaner over Jaisalmer because of its proximity from Delhi - we were driving ourselves. Marudyan promised us peace and quiet and we were not disappointed. Booking though took some time as the owner, Karan, is not punctual with his replies over email. We solved this problem by contacting him on his mobile whenever we needed some clarifications. We were given the best welcome in India by the lovely dogs there - 2 cocker spaniels and believe it or not a sweet natured rhodesian ridgeback! The room was basic and functional and bathroom clean. Surprisingly there were only 3 other guests during the 3 nights we were there - very poor marketting Karan explained. We let the resort chef prepare meals for us every night, and the food was delicious. Karan and his father were always willing to talk to us about the history of their people, culture and social setup and we learnt more about India in those 2 days than in a year spent in Delhi. They did advise us to visit the fort one morning and we had lunch at Gajner, a beautiful hotel on a lake, otherwise we just relaxed and recharged in the Marudyan garden. Incidentally we learnt the name marudyan means an oasis and it definitely is.

Room Tip: Room in the south are best in winter because of the direction of sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zackmayo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bikaner hotels
5.5 mi away
The Laxmi Niwas Palace
5.9 mi away
Hotel Harasar Haveli
Hotel Harasar Haveli
#7 of 36 in Bikaner
554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vesta Bikaner Palace
Vesta Bikaner Palace
#2 of 36 in Bikaner
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Bhairon Vilas
Hotel Bhairon Vilas
#15 of 36 in Bikaner
303 reviews
5.4 mi away
Shri Ram Heritage
Shri Ram Heritage
#6 of 36 in Bikaner
184 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Lallgarh Palace - A Heritage Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marudyan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marudyan Resort

Address: C-73, Sadulganj, Bikaner 334003, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Bikaner District > Bikaner
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Bikaner
Price Range: $42 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Marudyan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing