We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Thar Desert
from $35.90
More Info
from $44.35
More Info
from $87.60
More Info
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
33
15
5
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
33
15
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an amazing experience camel safari witness temperature india
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 54 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I did a camel excursion in Thar desert and dunes near Jaisalmer (can't remember the name of the company !). We rode camel for few hours, had lunch and dinner in desert around campfire, and we slept in desert, no tent. View of the sky was amazing ! Camel men were so nice! Each of them has interesting life story. Mine, Hussein, taught me how to "drive" my camel ! If you reach Jasailmer, don't leave without excursion in Dunes.

Date of experience: November 2012
12  Thank Andréann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Its a beauty spread-ed in 4,50,000 sq/km.This is BIGGER than whole SWEDEN[Europe's 4th LARGEST COUNTRY]this desert is serene and peaceful.Go there as part of SAFARI to witness Scorpions,COBRAS, Boas.Vipers.Deers,Leopards Hyenas and not to forget THE GREAT INDIAN Bustard[Found only here in the world] and the BIG DESERT DONKEYS and beautiful BLACK BUCKS and PEACOCKS.
Must take Camel ride.The RAJASTHANI FOOD is just perfect and off-course very tasty.Go in winters as summer are really hot,Days are SUNNY .AT night TEMP. DIPS AS LOW AS -1 DEGREE CELSIUS[in winters].
Nearby is BIKANER,JODHPUR AND JAISALMER[princely towns of India],in case you want to have the TASTE OF ROYALTY or PAMPER yourself with LUXURY,SILKS and WINES.BELIEVE ME.they are finest in the world as HOLLYWOOD STARS,US PRESIDENTS,HIGH PROFILE BUREAUCRATS often use it as RETREATS.The HOTEL rates can go as much as 10,000 US DOLLARS /NIGHT.There are budget hotels as well[75 dollars/night].
This is the place to buy best of PRECIOUS STONE JEWELLERY IN GOLD as the designs ARE truly REGIONAL and ROYAL.Visit this place for its UNIQUENESS.

Date of experience: November 2012
7  Thank shridhar g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2010

I visited Rajasthan in late Jan., 2010 as part of a safari trip to India. I stayed for two nghts at the Siana camp and then one night at the Siana Gardens. Both are owned by the same family. The tents were far more than basic, although I wouldn't go later than early March as it gets too hot during the day. The food was very good at lunch and dinner; local Rajasthani specialities predominated. The trekking, which is the main reason to be there (although the natural surroundings are a beautiful combination of desert and small mountains), was exciting (but dress warmly; it's pretty cold when the sun goes down and you're driving along looking for game). I saw one leopard, many hyenas, and various smaller game, all in their natural habitat.

5  Thank Rich1234Nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2019 via mobile

Date of experience: October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2019

Date of experience: May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews