We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a far cry from decent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Grand Central
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Bhubaneswar
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“a far cry from decent”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

the one and only plus: it's very close to the train station

otherwise, it was a horrible visit and hands down the worst hotel i've ever stayed in! check-in went alright, but it all went downhill from there. the room smelled awful, the floors were dirty, the bed sheets were clearly used multiple times without a wash, and bathroom sink's faucet barely dripped water, there was NO hot/warm water, and the toilet didn't flush. after 15 minutes of these spectacular findings, we called the front desk to see if we could switch rooms. instead of responding to our request, the woman at the front desk hung up the phone and refused to talk to us. since we booked the hotel online prior to traveling, we were "stuck" with our room for the remainder of our stay in bhubaneswar.

other reasons not to stay here: the complimentary breakfast was the worst food i was served during my entire trip, hands down. they also poured me a glassful of "clean water" which didn't taste clean at all. due to our difficult stay at the hotel, we decided to treat ourselves with a private car ride to puri, which was booked through the hotel. not only did the driver try to make us pay for his gas, but he also charged us the same amount travelers pay private drivers to give them an 8-hour tour in conjunction with the ride from bhubaneswar to puri.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slp-travel-bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    95
    59
    21
    12
See reviews for
78
23
18
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Balasore, Orissa, India
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2012

goodTHis hotel was really good. Pick and drop facility provided by the Hotel which was good. Hotel staff was really very cooperative. I would prefer to stay again.As per the price of room services are up to that level too. Hotel staff tried their best to provide the complete satisfaction and really appreciate it.

Room Tip: plzprovide good mobile signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

THis hotel was really good. Pick and drop facility provided by the Hotel which was good. Hotel staff was really very cooperative. I would prefer to stay again.As per the price of room services are up to that level too. Hotel staff tried their best to provide the complete satisfaction and really appreciate it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neeraj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

It was a very nice and neatly maintained place, Staff were very helpful and they also take great care of the guests.

They offer a verity/ choices of food, South Indian, North Indian and Continental.

Room Tip: Nice and a quiet place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anand_HS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

good accommodation at reasonable rate.Very helpful staffs.Located 100 metres within station.Has travel desk,conference room,bar and restaurant.Rate are also reasonable. I stayed four days very recently and enjoyed this experience.
Thanks-Sukanta Sarkar.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sukanta0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Königswinter
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

The Grand Central is a conveniently located, simple hotel, which might earn one or two stars at most.
We had a so-called Super Deluxe Room, which has little more to offer than the "normal" Deluxe rooms but is big enough for two. Simple but acceptable beds, table with chairs and a TV. Style is certainly not an appropriate descripition of the furniture, so you may have a good sleep (noise level is o.k. for a city center in India) but there is little luxury to enjoy.
Positive: Free Wifi (though limited to 100MB per day, which is totally enough)
Cleanliness is o.k. as long as you do not look under the beds. No pests. Bathrooms are Indian standard and nothing for picky people.
The mostly empty restaurant offers a standard, comprehensive menu and the food is actually good. The waiters are professional and very friendly and deserve more customers and tips.
Summed up, it is surprising how anyone can offer more than three points here. Those guys have obviously never been to a really good hotel, sorry. The Grand Central is o.k. for a night or two but you will not be inclined to stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 30degreesminimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2011

This hotel is really great place to stay as it's very close to BBSR rly station and has very decent facility. I stayed here for one day on my personal trip but it was immense pleasure being there. Staff is very helpful, rooms are clean, food in restrau is good so I say it's a "great place to stay".

Don't go by View from room etc... you can't expect a great view when you are next to Rly station.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moneyease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bhubaneswar hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pushpak
Hotel Pushpak
#5 of 58 in Bhubaneswar
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mango Hotels Prangan - Bhubaneshwar
3.0 mi away
Ginger Bhubaneshwar
Ginger Bhubaneshwar
#1 of 58 in Bhubaneswar
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
La Franklin Hotel
La Franklin Hotel
#14 of 58 in Bhubaneswar
117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kalinga Ashok
Kalinga Ashok
#34 of 58 in Bhubaneswar
88 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pal Heights
Pal Heights
#6 of 58 in Bhubaneswar
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Central

Property: Hotel Grand Central
Address: Old Station Road | Just off the Railway Station, Bhubaneswar 751006, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Odisha > Khurda District > Bhubaneswar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Bhubaneswar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Central 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Central is the ideal accommodation option for business travelers as well as leisure travelers. Centrally located near the commercial center of the city at Old Station Road (Just 1 minute walk from The Railway Station Platform No 4), this budget hotel offers 31 A/C rooms to stay. The rooms at Hotel Grand Central are categorized as Deluxe, Super Deluxe and Executive Deluxe Rooms. All the rooms are lavishly furnished with cable television, channel music, direct dial telephone, study table, mini bar and Free Wi-Fi connectivity. The attached washrooms are equipped with bathroom toiletries and receive a continuous supply of hot & cold water. The Executive Deluxe rooms additionally have fruit basket ,Tea/Coffee maker and shaving kits available. The multi cuisine restaurant at Hotel Grand Central has a wide choice of mouth watering Indian, Continental and Chinese cuisine that are bound to get your taste buds tingling with delight. There is also a swanky bar with a wide range of Indian and International liquors. Travel desk also offers sightseeing tours to distant heritage sights, namely Puri and Konark. Corporate are also facilitated with a boardroom and a conference hall, which is ideal for business and private events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Central Bhubaneswar, Odisha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing