We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located”
Review of Kalinga Ashok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kalinga Ashok
Ranked #36 of 58 Hotels in Bhubaneswar
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Centrally located”
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Ashoka Kalinga is a centarlly located hotel. The rooms are centrally air conditioned and face the main city road. Though we stayed here only for one night, it was a very comfortable stay. We had a Veg Orissa Thali at their restaurant as a part of an ongoing festival and it was delicious with local flavours. The staff was helpful and explained the preparations whenever we enquired about it. We had an early morning train to catch and the hotel packed a neat breakfast for us to carry. Very warm and hospitable staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hetapeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    42
    19
    6
    7
See reviews for
28
14
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Angul
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Hotel Kalinga Ashoka is a centrally located hotel. It has lots of open space that is used for vehicular parking and for conducting functions. Rooms are quite spacious with finest furnishing. Toilets are clean and with lots of space and stock of latest toileteries. The lobby is spacious. It has a large conference hall . The staff are courteous and prompt to attend the calls.

Food is superb here. The restaurant is well laid. The State museum is just in front of the hotel and can be walked into during leisure. Railway station is 1 km away. Airport is 3 km away. Heritage sites like Rajarani temples etc are at a short distance.

All site seeing information is available at the reception desk. They also arrange tickets for nearby sight seeing in the tourist luxury coaches. It is a very good hotel to feel at home.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dpanda71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Situated in the centre of Bhubaneswar, this hotel has great potential to develop itself as a very good place for travellers. Big rooms and airy corridors make you feel like you are staying in a big byngalow. But the service, food and other amenities can be improved by a notch. I would like to come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitrabhanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

This is a typical ITDC hotel where service are below expected levels.

Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank skmish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Hotel kalinga ashoka is a nice hotel in bhubaneswar.It is 1km from bhubaneswar station.The services of this hotel is great.nice food,and nice room service.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocky14339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raipur, CG
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2010

When we enter at Hotel premises we think its too costly BUT wow!!! its really cheap (may be because we are there at off season.) but anyway we really enjoying stay there with good ORISSA food and such a nice service.

  • Liked — Services
  • Disliked — Response
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dSACHIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bhubaneswar hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Central
Hotel Grand Central
#19 of 58 in Bhubaneswar
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pushpak
Hotel Pushpak
#5 of 58 in Bhubaneswar
230 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Franklin Hotel
La Franklin Hotel
#14 of 58 in Bhubaneswar
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mango Hotels Prangan - Bhubaneshwar
3.4 mi away
Ginger Bhubaneshwar
Ginger Bhubaneshwar
#3 of 58 in Bhubaneswar
754 reviews
1.2 mi away
VITS Bhubaneswar Hotel
VITS Bhubaneswar Hotel
#10 of 58 in Bhubaneswar
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalinga Ashok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalinga Ashok

Property: Kalinga Ashok
Address: Kalpana Square, Gautam Nagar, Bhubaneswar 751014, India
Location: India > Odisha > Khurda District > Bhubaneswar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 58 Hotels in Bhubaneswar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalinga Ashok 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modular Hotel located 1 km from train station & 4 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kalinga Ashok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalinga Ashok Bhubaneswar, Odisha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing