We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to Visit With Family and Friends”
Review of Kalinga Ashok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kalinga Ashok
Ranked #30 of 58 Hotels in Bhubaneswar
Reviewed November 26, 2011

I have been in the hotel many a times either to dine or to witness various exhibitions organised here. Situated at a prime location in the Temple City of Bhubaneswar (Kalpana Square), the hotel is well connected to important places like Railway Station, Airport, City Market,etc. Food here is good and price is reasonable, given the standard of the hotel. Very near to Tourist Attractions like Lord Lingaraj's Temple, Dhauli Stupa. Its a nice place to dine with family as well as friends on special occassions. The hotel has ample space to organise various exhibitions and gatherings.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank kharavela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 89 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2011

Hotel Ashok is perhaps can be described as a horse of long race.i
It is a old hotel in the capital city of bhubaneshwar but it has enough charm and elegance.it is like new wine in old bottle.it is very close to airport probably
.i stayed in a standard room but it was well above my expectations.there are suite rooms.the room service is good.the hotel staff are courteous.i would recommend this hotel to every business traveller.
Do visit the state museum which is nearby

Room Tip: get rooms facing outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivektripathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

it was relly nice to visit this hotel. when entered in the hotel we thought that we are at a wrong place and it will not fit in our budget, but as soon as we were offered with the final price it was really good and it was perfectly in our budget.
the price of the food was also fair. the quality of food was more than i thought.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JSingh47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Rooms are old and in bad condition. Although cleanliness is there but they are poorly managed. No mineral water bottles in the room (they kept a jug filled with water). When you enter the washroom you find leaking taps.
The food quality of the restaurant is good though.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AVH12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Ashoka Kalinga is a centarlly located hotel. The rooms are centrally air conditioned and face the main city road. Though we stayed here only for one night, it was a very comfortable stay. We had a Veg Orissa Thali at their restaurant as a part of an ongoing festival and it was delicious with local flavours. The staff was helpful and explained the preparations whenever we enquired about it. We had an early morning train to catch and the hotel packed a neat breakfast for us to carry. Very warm and hospitable staff.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hetapeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Hotel Kalinga Ashoka is a centrally located hotel. It has lots of open space that is used for vehicular parking and for conducting functions. Rooms are quite spacious with finest furnishing. Toilets are clean and with lots of space and stock of latest toileteries. The lobby is spacious. It has a large conference hall . The staff are courteous and prompt to attend the calls.

Food is superb here. The restaurant is well laid. The State museum is just in front of the hotel and can be walked into during leisure. Railway station is 1 km away. Airport is 3 km away. Heritage sites like Rajarani temples etc are at a short distance.

All site seeing information is available at the reception desk. They also arrange tickets for nearby sight seeing in the tourist luxury coaches. It is a very good hotel to feel at home.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dpanda71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Situated in the centre of Bhubaneswar, this hotel has great potential to develop itself as a very good place for travellers. Big rooms and airy corridors make you feel like you are staying in a big byngalow. But the service, food and other amenities can be improved by a notch. I would like to come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitrabhanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bhubaneswar hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Central
Hotel Grand Central
#18 of 58 in Bhubaneswar
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pushpak
Hotel Pushpak
#5 of 58 in Bhubaneswar
241 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ginger Bhubaneshwar
Ginger Bhubaneshwar
#3 of 58 in Bhubaneswar
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
La Franklin Hotel
La Franklin Hotel
#15 of 58 in Bhubaneswar
123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mango Hotels Prangan - Bhubaneshwar
1.3 mi away
VITS Bhubaneswar Hotel
VITS Bhubaneswar Hotel
#11 of 58 in Bhubaneswar
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalinga Ashok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalinga Ashok

Address: Kalpana Square, Gautam Nagar, Bhubaneswar 751014, India
Location: India > Odisha > Khurda District > Bhubaneswar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 58 Hotels in Bhubaneswar
Price Range: $44 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalinga Ashok 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modular Hotel located 1 km from train station & 4 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kalinga Ashok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalinga Ashok Bhubaneswar, Odisha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing