We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of my most enjoyable stays in India”
other travelers have booked this property
Feel the rich heritage of past, stay here at this former hunting mansion, now a villa farm house.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Feel the rich heritage of past, stay here at this former hunting mansion, now a villa farm house.
Take a deep breadth and feel the freshness of incredibile India and its simplicity and its heritage. enjoy bedrooms with colored windows,feel the cooling effect of a bygone era, using wet root curtains
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
Feel the rich heritage of past, stay here at this former hunting mansion, now a villa farm house.
Take a deep breadth and feel the freshness of incredibile India and its simplicity and its heritage.
enjoy bedrooms with colored windows,feel the cooling effect of a bygone era, using wet root curtains
Spend the rarest moments of your life with someone so simple in the most remote villages in India
Have a thrilling Angling or sportfishing vacation with your family in this unknown destination.
For some people time has not changed. Enjoy seeing traditional methods of lifestyle
Be a part and get the feel of an old world charm.
be a part of tribal culture. watching cockfights are a part of local tribal lifestyle, weekly market
relax your mind and refresh your evenings with different tribal dances to remember for a long time
Exclusive al fresco dinner and breakfast settings for a romantic and memorable holiday.
go back in time and look at history.  A family with a rich heritage started in 81 AD.
Enjoy authentic Indian food and family receipies with hosts, cooked in bio gas eco kitchen
A smile is more than a thousand words.
India's top hand woven silk textile destination. A rich Indian product to carry home as gifts
we need no modern technology. we are better off with our traditional stuff !!.see craftsmen at work
Research scholars !! stop here to find out what you have missed in your study.
Are you a bird watcher or a nature photographer ? come here and get the best of it.
trekking, Jungle walk, cycling, Bat safari (flying fox), these are our best features.
For the trophy hunters, size does matter.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Bhubaneswar, Khurda District, Odisha

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
RWhish
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of my most enjoyable stays in India”
Reviewed January 17, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I have visited India at least 60 times, and have been all across this magical, beautiful country and stayed at many wonderful places. But this was one of the best yet! To begin with, people really should visit Orissa more than they do: it has beautiful rural scenery. And this property is really special. It truly is in the countryside, very unspoiled by development (Orissa has its problems, especially with mining, but this is not evident here). The family are simply a delight, very easy to be with and (to my great pleasure) very interested in nature and birds in particular. We were guided through the countryside, including going into the forest at dawn and visiting local villages. The food at the Lodge is superb, very much based on local recipes and a lot of the vegetables grown within the grounds. Nearby are a couple of reservoirs that offer all those magical scenes - India at dawn and sunset, the stillness of rural India, birds circulating overhead. I cannot wait to get back to Orissa on my next visit, and would gladly stay at Kila Dalijoda again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The countryside
Liked least: Nothin
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 25, 2016
Dear Richard,
Many Many thanks for such high words. Hosting you and your friends was such a pleasure. We surely want you to come back and stay longer. Our good wishes to you for a great future.
regards, Debjit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinanan
london england
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Rural bliss!”
Reviewed January 5, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

If you want to experience the 'real' rural India, this is the place for you. Picture post card images of Mother India will blow your mind plus excellent hosts and comfy stay. I took my book (what's kindle?) and read by the pond for two hours whilst looking at villagers taking their daily swim and laundry. so relaxing and there is never a dull moment. I even made a Facebook friend with one of the locals who offered me a sweet! Worth seeking out and you are in safe hands with the gentle hosts. A hit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: its beauty
Liked least: leaving
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2016
Many many thanks Anil for such a high words. It was a real pleasure to host you as well. Best wishes and high recommendation to all hosts. Hope to meet again in future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annaperon...
Brescia, Italy
1 review
“We stayed as guests, left as friends!”
Reviewed December 3, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We were very lucky getting in touch with Debjit as he is an extremely helpful travel planner in wonderful Orissa. His house is full of charme and our stay with them was definitely top class. Debjit and Namrata are the perfect hosts to make guests feel perfectly looked after, as regards the incredibly spacious rooms with antique pieces of furniture, the delicious food in every single course, the very interesting activities planned for us in the vicinity of their beautiful property, and the pleasant chats we had together both in their welcoming living room and the charming rooftop under an endless starry sky. They are definitely a very nice couple who made us feel at home during our stay, and somehow homeless when we left!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house in itself
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2015
Many thanks for your good words. It was a real pleasure hosting you all. I strongly recommended you to all hosts. Best wishes and warm regards. Debjit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquachic1...
Boyle, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful heritage property ”
Reviewed November 18, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I spent a most amazing two days with Debjit and his lovely family. I felt incredibly welcome and I was looked after so well. This was my first time in India and for this part I was alone. Debjit helped me so much including arranging pick up from airport. The house is located near an elephant reserve and surrounded by paddy fields and forest. Stunningly beautiful. My accommodation was vast with large bedroom, sitting room and en suite shower room and toilet. Food was delicious and my request for gluten free no problem. If I have one regret it's that I wasn't able to stay longer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2015
Thanks Sarah,
It has been such a nice feeling hosting you. Will remember you always. Best wishes, Debjit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyles P
Llanwrtyd Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just go there!”
Reviewed October 14, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is one of the most beautiful places we have stayed in many years of visiting India. I can't recommend enough both the lovely mansion and Debjit, Namrata and their captivating Daughter Shreedivya who kept us all thoroughly entertained with her stories and dancing.
Debjit helped us in so many ways, both in terms of showing us around the beautiful area they live in and with many of the mundane things we had to get sorted out. His patience and kindness was amazing!
Although it could be said that it is a cliche I can honestly say that we came as visitors and left as friends. We really felt at home and part of the family and Namrata is an excellent cook!
Orissa is relatively underdeveloped in relation to tourism (which was part of our reason for going) but Debjit and Namrata are excellent ambassadors. We will definitely be going again and I would say that if you want to get a real taste of India and not just what the corporate hotel chains offer you must visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Not being able to stay longer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ankitagar...
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Cultural immersion in the heart of Orissa”
Reviewed October 11, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I changed my plans last minute after I spoke to Debjit, whose interesting place I chanced upon while doing my research on where to travel to in Orissa. It has been quite some time that Debjit and Namrata have opened some of their rooms to accommodate discerning travelers and give them a glimpse of Orissa that is away from the usual tourist map.
Kiladalijoda is an erstwhile hunting lodge which they have restored back to the way it must have been when it was built by his great grandfather. The beds can match that of any star hotel, the food is lovingly home-made and Debjit’s and Namrata’s hospitality is unsurpassed. Over the last many years, they have built strong relationships with the local community and created an ecosystem, which helps visitors get a multitude of experience while also benefitting the local community.

There is something or the other in there for every traveler: if you are a nature lover, there are long walks and safaris in the jungle; if you are into arts and crafts, there are local painters and craftsmen who you can interact with; if you are after spiritual pursuits there are temples and ashrams close by and if you just want to put your feet up and do nothing there are two huge ponds opposite the house where you can spend the entire day watching the world go by.

While I was there, Debjit, along with a local guide, took me for a long walk through thick forest into one of the prettiest villages I have ever seen. In the afternoon we went to a village that houses Dhokra craftsmen. We rounded off the evening with a visit to the temples of one unique sect of Hinduism, which has its origin in that part of Orissa. The day before Debjit had taken me to a tribal house. We also chanced upon a local village performance where mythological stories are narrated through dance and song.

All this was interspersed with interesting conversations over endless cups of tea and fantastic food. Kiladalijoda defies being slotted into a homestay or a hunting lodge or a bed and breakfast. I would say it is a great cultural immersion into India and definitely a must place to experience Orissa.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2015
Dear Ankit,
Thanks a lot for your lovely comments. Our endeavor is to make a guest feel what you have just posted. And we hope to share it all with all our guests. Thanks again.
Debjit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranjan M
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Unique and unforgettable experience with charming hosts”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Being from the UK and inviting my guests from Singapore to this property during the monsoon season, I was apprehensive at first when booking this but was soon won over by the hospitality of the young couple that run this home stay.

If you visit Orissa and don't spend at least 2-3 days with this delightful family in their tastefully renovated heritage property then you would have missed a chance for a unique experience. Debjit and Namrata are an innovative young couple and their family are very gracious hosts as soon as you make contact with them.

They have taken an enormous undertaking to tastefully turn their ancestral property, which is an amazing English-Gothic royal hunting lodge into a comfortable and unforgettable home stay. Our suite comprised of a twin-bedded room, a seating area and an enormous bathroom that used to be the Raja's (king), complete with a steam-shower and bath! Period features and antique family furniture have been retained and creatively been reused to create an amazing atmosphere. Each feature has a charming story around it. Old family photographs speak of a time of their royal ancestors when they used to entertain those of the British Raj including stories of a 42 ton Belgian chandelier that used to be in one of their properties. The rooms are naturally cooled by 'khus' grass curtains which, when wet, evaporate to provide an unforgettable aroma along with the cooling effect!

The 1831 property is easy to get to from Cuttack along a new road that gets more and more beautiful as you approach the property with the back drop of the Kapilash hill range and forest. There are two large man-made lakes that the family used to stock fish and a there is a little alfresco dining area to have supper under the stars by candle light! The family have an active farm and produce biogas they use for cooking the delicious meals that they can provide for guests. There are rooftop rooms that provide a breathtaking view of the hills behind the property.

The meal provided to us was delicious and used produce from their farm for local dishes that the couple are happy to share the recipe with guests. The dishes were lightly spiced but delectable. Debjit even provided us chilled bottles of Tuborg beer that went down well with the meal. They have a superb repertoire of interesting stories of the old times and their family past and the hunting that their ancestors used to do in the not so distant past.

Debjit has good links with the local community and can provide trips to visit a tribal village in the hill forest. They can also provide mountain bikes to trek through local roads. They have contacts with family and friends at other unmissable spots in Orissa.

We wish we had spent more time with them as the conversation flowed easily on a wide range of topics as the couple are well educated and sophisticated.

So if you decide to stay in a featureless sub-standard modern Cuttack hotel with air-conditioning and bland food then you will miss out this lovely home stay experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Unique hospitality and experience
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing