We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing hospitality in an old hunting lodge”
other travelers have booked this property
Feel the rich heritage of past, stay here at this former hunting mansion, now a villa farm house.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Feel the rich heritage of past, stay here at this former hunting mansion, now a villa farm house.
Take a deep breadth and feel the freshness of incredibile India and its simplicity and its heritage. enjoy bedrooms with colored windows,feel the cooling effect of a bygone era, using wet root curtains
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
Feel the rich heritage of past, stay here at this former hunting mansion, now a villa farm house.
Take a deep breadth and feel the freshness of incredibile India and its simplicity and its heritage.
enjoy bedrooms with colored windows,feel the cooling effect of a bygone era, using wet root curtains
Spend the rarest moments of your life with someone so simple in the most remote villages in India
Have a thrilling Angling or sportfishing vacation with your family in this unknown destination.
For some people time has not changed. Enjoy seeing traditional methods of lifestyle
Be a part and get the feel of an old world charm.
be a part of tribal culture. watching cockfights are a part of local tribal lifestyle, weekly market
relax your mind and refresh your evenings with different tribal dances to remember for a long time
Exclusive al fresco dinner and breakfast settings for a romantic and memorable holiday.
go back in time and look at history.  A family with a rich heritage started in 81 AD.
Enjoy authentic Indian food and family receipies with hosts, cooked in bio gas eco kitchen
A smile is more than a thousand words.
India's top hand woven silk textile destination. A rich Indian product to carry home as gifts
we need no modern technology. we are better off with our traditional stuff !!.see craftsmen at work
Research scholars !! stop here to find out what you have missed in your study.
Are you a bird watcher or a nature photographer ? come here and get the best of it.
trekking, Jungle walk, cycling, Bat safari (flying fox), these are our best features.
For the trophy hunters, size does matter.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Bhubaneswar, Khurda District, Odisha

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Cesare B
New Delhi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing hospitality in an old hunting lodge”
Reviewed March 20, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

One of the most memorable experiences in India for those who love home stays and places with a soul.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality and the effort to preserve the past
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Вячеслав...
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place and great people”
Reviewed November 10, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We were advised to stay at this director of travel agency in Bhubaneswar. We arrived late in the afternoon, very tired. But we were just fascinated by this house and its hosts. Lovely large room with very high ceilings. We were provided with two people had three rooms, all very convenient and comfortable.Also I want to say about the host and his wife at home - they are an informal approach to the reception of guests, very touching and emotionally.
thank you so much

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely house and grounds
Liked least: Wonderful authentic Indian decor
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhananjai...
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Virgin Fishing Territory”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Master Piece!!!!!
Stayed at KILA DALIJODA - The Hunting Lodge, at the Master Suite,
Great Location,Fabulous Place,Lovely rooms, Fabulous Food....
to beat all this A Gracious Host - Debjit....
Virgin Fishing territory, huge Potential as a Fishing spot,
2km wide River Mahanadhi,
Who Ever Wants to be the 1st Land the Biggest Fish....
Don't waste Time!!!!!
Jai

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klaus H
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Highly enjoyful stay with descendants of Maharadjas”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Are you looking for something extraordinary, for a private and authentic place, run by a young warm hearted, ingenious and highly educated couple, loving to communicate and exchange insights from family and indian history, offering delicious joint lunches and dinners, taking care of everything, to find out what it means to house a goddess by their own, to combine spacious comfortable living within a step by step revitalized former hunting countrysite, from where you can catch a glimpse of the hidden treasures of wonderful Orissa, to experience that time and stay at one location like this enhances the charm of traveling in unknown India, then you will be totally rewarded by staying with Debjit and Namrata and little dancing daughter Shreevidya at Kila Dalijoda.
We certainly love to come back again.
Traute and Klaus Holper, Germany (March 27-30, 2014)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen J
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“live like a maharajah in a hunting lodge in Orissa”
Reviewed February 7, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This homestay in a former hunting lodge was a an amazing experience. Debjit & his family were marvellous hosts an nothing was too much trouble. I particularly enjoyed the way they have adapted the property to organic sustainable farming. The area is a fascinating, with plenty to see & do. Make sure this property is on your bucket list if planning a trip to India.

How easy was it to book the property?
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArnonR121
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A highlight of our trip”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

The hosts were delightful. We gained stories about of Orissa and about Rajput family histories (he was a grandson of a maharajah) from each of them. Facilities were comfortable and spacious, charm rather than modernity. A careful restoration to the 1930s is being undertaken, but meanwhile it was comfy. The home cooked food was very tasty. We were given a tour of local tribal villages and ashram, with explanations of what we were seeing, the recent history and government actions, and much more.

We booked in as part of a tour with car and driver (through TravelLink, who gave us good service. Ask for Bansi. Or ask hosts about taxi from airport BBI or Cuttark train station.

We rate this much higher than our homestay at Denkhanal the next days (we'd give 3.5 stars)

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The hosts, and the great charm of the place
Liked least: No downside. Out of the way, scenery pleasant but flat.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie-Bel...
Gangelt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very good experience”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We stay at 18 jan. 2014 in Kila Dalijoda just one night. We Did,t know what to expect.
But we love / like that place so middle in the jungle.
It is a warm hospitality place and the family takes care of us. The rooms are very comfortable , nice and clean.
The food was good, so we mean that one night is to short, if we are going back to India we will stay there a couple of days just to relax.

Teun and Ellie van Huizen Bruggink
Germany

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing