We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the wait!”

Chaturshrungi Temple
Ranked #8 of 274 things to do in Pune
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Delhi
Level Contributor
109 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was an official visit to Pune University. Due to a confusion about Ashtami tithi, we landed up far from home on Ashtami. We told our hosts it was important to visit a Durga temple on Ashtami and perform puja. They told us that this temple is close to the University where we were staying and very revered. It is a long climb (stairs are there) to the temple and the queue moves very slow. The lady ahead of us in the queue very helpfully told me not to miss the idol, which is a little at the back. I followed her- we knew what to expect because the screen outside had visuals of the Goddess. I have kept the darshan ticket counterfoil, which tell me that She is Goddess Lakshmi, Goddess Saraswati, Amba and Chaturshungi mata. Who would have thought we would visit the supreme goddess in this form in Navratras on Ashtami? We were even able to worship the kanjaks (small girls) outside the temple.

By and large, the queue moves in an orderly fashion. Our hosts had told us to go early in the morning to avoid the rush, but we got delayed. We were told that the queue was longer in the morning, and by the time we came out, the queue had subsided.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RitaKakkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    175
    39
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
pune
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Chaturshrungi Temple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Its nice and located in center of the city, have around 50 to 80 stair to reach temple,near to university circle it will take just 3 to 5 mints walk from Pune university main gate

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sivaintouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very nice temple”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Me my friend and his wife went to this temple during navratri last year. There was a very long queue as it was navratri. It took almost two and half hour to reach up to the temple at evening. Come early to avoid queues. There is more rush at evening time. There is no parking near temple. They have made arrangement for parking in an open space like ground a kilometer away from temple. At night temple looks awesome. A Must visit specially in navratri.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KrunalD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“excellent temple”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

temple surrounded by hills..very good scenario from temple ..a place were get a relaxation ...good to visit occassionally.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nitish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Place to visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Situated at Senapati Bapat Road,it is a good place to visit.
The presiding deity of the temple is Goddess Chaturshringi, also known as Goddess Ambareshwari.
During Navratri the place is crowded and holds a fair.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DEBASHRI_2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaturshrungi Temple also viewed

 

Been to Chaturshrungi Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing