We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stay at Pune”
Review of Hotel Surya Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Surya Villa
Ranked #70 of 208 Pune B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“stay at Pune”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Good for lodging, ideally located at the centre of the city and easily identifiable. The rooms were kept clean. Service can be rated ok only. Reasonable fare by auto or taxi to airport. I stayed with my family overnite.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geetha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
3
12
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a week before staying at the Osho Ashram. As a female solo traveller, I found the hotel to be a good location to which I felt safe walking to and from at night. The road is quite used to tourists, especially female tourists, so although you still get the same entitled stares from Indian men that you get everywhere in India, they stay respectful of your personal space and generally don't seem as intimidating as elsewhere.

The hotel staff seemed disinterested for the most part but fulfilled all their duties including anything you might request (room service menu for the cafe next door, help with the paid wifi etc, information for site-seeing etc).

**NB they say they have wifi which is true but it is PAID wifi. You pay 100 rupee a day.

The room was clean, large and basic but sufficient for my needs. I was violently ill at one point (street food) and felt at home in this room and hotel and comfortable so that's saying something! The bathroom was standard Indian fare - toilet and sink in the same room as a showerhead with no divider - and was clean with hot water so I was happy for the price. TV had cable channels which was especially nice when I was bedridden and sick!

Room service is is quick and cheap from the cafe next door, Yogi Tree. NOTE - quality at the Yogi Tree has apparently gone down in recent years (and since Lonely Planet evidently reviewed it) and Western style food is quite uninspiring to awful. Order the Indian food from Yogi Tree, it's really great. There's also some corner shops just across the road with breakfast cereals, milks, juices, fizzy drinks, toilet paper, shampoo and conditioner and anything else you might need.

I had a street facing room on the third level and it was fine noise-wise. On a Friday or Saturday night it could be noisy but only till about midnight and then it was silent. All other nights were quite quiet actually.

I felt safe here, both walking to and from the hotel as well as in it (corridors, foyer etc). This is a plus for a solo female traveller in India where things can get really scary sometimes.

Oh I also had aircon which was GREAT when it gets really hotel. Total plus.

At ~$150AUSD for five nights, this was definitely worth it, bot just as a budget option but in terms of safety and clenlliness and proximity to the Osho ashram.

Room Tip: I had a street facing room on the third level and it was fine noise-wise. On a Friday or Saturday ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Reading that this hotel was located close to Osho Ashram and reading other reviews, I thought it would be a pleasurable experience... But experience proved to be otherwise.....I was orally confirmed that I would be charged half-a-days charge if i stayed beyond the check out time. At the time of checkout, not only was the manager refuting any such promise that was made, he was rude and discourteous. Apart from the room was unclean, had cockroaches, pathetic room service and really bad food.... It was the most disgusting experience I had... Would advise others to stay away from this god-forsaken place... There are better options available around.....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
5 Thank sriramm1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pune hotels

Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

the room are OK except no real hot water.
So I had to take my showers at Osho resort.
nota : I had a A/C room, but didn't have to use A/C in december.
Good point : the Yogi Tree Coffee is just next the hotel. Perfect fort breakfast…

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
5 Thank Antoine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeist, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Nice clean room with everything you need. One problem is that the rooms are only cleaned if you request it. You have to pay for WiFi at 100 rupees per day but the quality is then excellent. I found the staff in the hotel somewhat uninterested. In the associated restaurant next door, The Yogi Tree, the staff were fine and the food was also very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, quite clean and good. the owner paras is a good man and makes you feel at home.Its off the german bakery and leafy Koregoan park.5 minutes walk from the Osho ashram and a hub for western travellers.

Room Tip: if you need Osho books, the bookshop is just right next door to the hotel and the cafe on the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sham420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Really clean rooms, very basic. TV has all cable channels, wardrobe to hang up your stuff. Bathrooms very clean, hot water 24 hours, and you're provided with soap and toilet paper when you arrive. Only con is the rooms aren't cleaned during your stay. And we stayed for 5 days...
Wi fi works well, at a charge of 100 rupee per day. If you don't have an indian mobile number to register the wifi, just ask the boys at reception.

The attached yogi tree cafe has reasonable prices. It's the same kind of menu as everywhere else in India, but the foods actually really good. Try the pizzas, they're really nice! When the cafe gets a little busy, be prepared to be ignored though.

Laundry is 30 rupee for big items and 15 rupee for small items, or there's a laundry place around the corner. (Turn right out the front, and right at the corner)

Locations great. Worth a stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pune hotels
0.0 mi away
Park Central Comfort-e-suites
0.2 mi away
ST LAURN HOTEL, PUNE, KOREGAON PARK
0.1 mi away
The Sirona Hotel
The Sirona Hotel
#160 of 225 in Pune
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The O Hotel
The O Hotel
#19 of 225 in Pune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Srimaan
Hotel Srimaan
#86 of 225 in Pune
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.5 mi away
Treebo Bel Air
Treebo Bel Air
#179 of 225 in Pune
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Surya Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Surya Villa

Property: Hotel Surya Villa
Address: 294/1 Hotel Surya Villa Lane - A Down German Bakery Lane, Pune 411001, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Pune
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 208 B&Bs / Inns in Pune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Surya Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Surya Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing