We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun”
Review of Sinhagad Fort

Sinhagad Fort
Ranked #6 of 285 things to do in Pune
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good fun”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We travelled at night with a group with hired bikes. Good fun and it rained for a while. It was great, and some of us had a real blast. It was a good outing, and hopefully this time if I had a chance, I will try to get in early. I couldn’t see much though, but the surroundings were very lovely, quiet and calm, hard to describe.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    601
    163
    23
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Panjim, India
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“.. only if words could explain..”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I fall short of words when I talk about Sinhgad fort. Having stayed in Pune for 3 years during my college life, I have been to this man made wonder several times. The fort is beautiful, the climate is unbelievable and what makes it special is the food. A roasted corn, some kulfi, some zunka bhakar with hot tea. Wow.. As I write this review, I feel the urge to plan my next visit.

When you reach on top of the fort, you feel something eternal. It is moving. I go speechless. I spend days just looking at the fog coming from the valley.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Giriraj P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Lions Fort”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Tanaji Statue, Relics, Flora and Fauna. One I saw a leopard (offcourse) being carried down the fort by locals. Zunka Bhakari is best. So also the trek by NDA cadets as Sunday workout or as a punishment. Visit to dip in the history.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nilraj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not much of the fort left”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Preservation is pretty poor. Doordarshan is using this historic site as a broadcast centre. They have erected a tower and have a generator going 24/7. There are some gates etc left and a few temples, but don't expect too much. Tilak's Bungalow is also here, but that is also in bad shape. Be prepared to climb and walk around a lot. Must try kanda-vada and baingan ka bharta at the top of the fort. You can get some great views from the top and the place is great for photography if you get clear weather. It's also quiet a bit colder than Pune city because it's much higher. All in all, if you're not going there with very high expectations, you will be happy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank doubledolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great week end destination..”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Many people make a day visit to this place..I actually had an overnight stay at Sinhagad fort and it was indeed a very memorable one...also rather than driving to the top of the fort, it is more exciting if you climb. As it is rightly said..the excitement lies in the journey and not in the destination...must add both the journey and destination were amazing..excellent food, amazing view and budget accomodation..worth every penny..

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank amitd16_enjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sinhagad Fort also viewed

 

Been to Sinhagad Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing