We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
KARE Ayurveda & Yoga Retreat
Nearby Hotels
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
53
17
5
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
17
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskareweight lossmulshi lakebody typeayurvedic foodrejuvenation packagedoctors and therapistsdetox programmeyoga centermeal timesper dayroom nightdaily routinehealthy foodthe entire staffpune airportconsultation
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 78 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was my third visit. It is always rejuvenating. I have discovered a new "ME" every time. People, methodology, care for the guest, coordination amongst all the elements is amazing.
Do experience this place and get yourself serviced, yeh it is time for you to get serviced after getting all the machines and equipments serviced at your home, office, and factory.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArunShuchita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a place where people go to lose weight. Period. There is absolutely nothing else there... You get body type specific diet, go onto detox - all of which is that you will not get any food. And because of remote location, you'll simply have absolutely no way of getting any, thus, you'll lose weight.
Treatments 1100rps/day consist of you being slathered in sticky sesame oil, completely naked, with therapist (local village girl) just rubbing you for an hour or so. There are couple other massages, all geared towards weight loss. Oil very difficult to wash the smell off, not to mention your hair will remain oily if not washed 2-3 times.
Naturally people will lose weight, but you would lose weight anyways if you'd go on a fast.
Daily yoga consists of an hour in the morning where delusional and grumpy old guy berates overweight students... If that would happen in US, he not only would be sued for discrimination, but also would never ever be allowed to "teach" anyone again. All he could teach you is how not to be... Rude comments, snide remarks were daily "treats", not to mention unsafe yoga practice when he would just come and push you (if you're unable to reach your toes, for example) from behind or sideways.

Nutritionist girl was a stickler to "you have to do it because it is ayurveda", with zero concern that I was losing weight (i didn't come to lose weight there but to work on my hormones, but was put onto this weighloss detox anyways), losing balance and strength to even walk. Mind you, I was 51kg (110lb) at arrival.

Overall, I would never recommend this place because of my personal experience there. Because of this place my trip to India was ruined. Complete insensitivity from the staff (nutrition person) was the key.

Living situation was ok. Beds were like hardboard, a lot of bugs inside the rooms. You pay for bottled water.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank Jacqueline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

For someone looking to get out of his or her busy, stressful city life routine and reset your body and mind, Kare is a perfect place.

Away from the city, the location is great with a magnificent view of the lake and a great short trekking course on the hill. Doctors and therapists are professional and very attentive – all the staff at Kare is very warm and they make you feel that you are in good hands.
The meals, therapies (massages and other treatments) and medicines are based on Ayurveda, personalized to each individual, so you not only feel great with the detox, but here you also have the chance to take care of your problems that you may have had.
I came home not only feeling great and with the lovely memory of my stay, but my own personalized daily yoga sequence that the doctor made for me, knowledge of what type of food is good for me, and some Ayurveda medicine. Kare helps you to reset your body and mind and also to continuously lead a healthier, balanced life style after you come back to the city. I would love to make this an annual trip!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank a0is0ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

In India, there really isn't a line between "healthcare" and "retreat" or resort. The difficult part about coming to this country as a foreigner with a serious health issue, is being able to find the right balance between treatment and ambiance. While hospitals here may have more experienced doctors, the beauty of seeking a holistic cure is being in a clean, positive and natural environment with yoga and diet; the state of most hospitals here is a far cry from this. Still one must be careful to discern between somewhere to go for a retreat and somewhere to go for serious treatment in a resort atmosphere.

After reading all the reviews, I made the trip here first without booking. Though I have a serious issue, I refuse to pay for treatment without first visiting and meeting the team who will be treating me. Though it was a long journey here, I did not feel that the doctor here was very thorough or welcoming nor did I appreciate the awkward moutain slope it is located on. The tariff here is also high comparitively speaking.

I came to india looking for somewhere to really heal with both the medical component and the lifestyle component. I did not find either here and decided to look elsewhere. This may be perfect for a weekend retreat to relax but I would encourage anyone looking for a cure to ask specific questions about how the doctor would read and treat your problems specificially first and make sure the response is both thorough enough and reassuring to gain your confidence.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
12  Thank SkyAvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 23, 2013

Hello,

Thanks for reviewing KARE Ayurveda & Yoga Retreat.

We are sorry for your negative experience at KARE and given a chance would want to erase this off your mind by serving you better than before.

Regards. KARE Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have just returned from my third stay at KARE. If you would like to (or have to) do something for your health, you are in the best of hands here!
Weekend or even day programmes are available, however, one benefits most from 10 days or more.
Wonderful, friendly staff. The doctors are very experienced, so are the massage therapists. A stay at KARE really consists of 4 components. Ayurvedic medical treatment and detox (great doctors!), massage treatments (wonderful massage therapists), change of diet including detailed explanations from ayurvedic dieticians according to your very own body type and YOGA! The daily Iyengar Yoga sessions are amazing and you can watch your body getting into shape within days.
I especially recommend the treatment for obese people. You will learn to eat less again and will not even miss anything while at Kare. The powder massages literally rub off your cellulite and the detox will make you feel young and fresh, with your blood results being perfect afterwards (bringing cholesterol, bad liver results and so on right down). It gives you a kick start and you can easily loose 3-4 solid kgs a week.
But everybody coming to KARE has a different ailment or focus. This place is perfect for it, as it treats everyone INDIVIDUALLY, also during the yoga sessions.

Another healing aspect is the beautiful nature surrounding the place and the lake below.

One really relaxes, lets go of any worries and detoxes not only the body, but also the mind.

The perfect place to get rid of stress or declutter one's mind, heart and soul!

Room Tip: Somebody already mentioned, you either need to climb up or down to reach your room. What to do!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Tanja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews