We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Venerable old world establishment”
Review of The Poona Club

The Poona Club
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pune
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Poona Club
Ranked #45 of 222 Pune B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Venerable old world establishment”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Be warned this is a venerable old establishment. Go there for its old world charm. The club has its own grounds - great for a brisk daily walk. The card room is packed with bridge players in the evening. We did not expect star comforts and were not disappointed. Room and sheets were clean. The staff were pleasant and not hungry for undeserved tips like the Bangalore club staff. We have stayed there before and will stay again.

Room Tip: Although our rooms were adjoining the main road we had an undisturbed sleep. You may want to choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank behappy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
6
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Considering the status symbol of this club, the accomodation is rather poor standard. The rooms are old and shabby and have not been renovated . The ambiance is great - the gardens beautiful and a good meeting spot for friends and family. The food could be improved as well as the service. A very good venue for holding parties and other social events.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rini47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This club is old. The grounds are beautiful and harkens back to colonial times. The main restaurant has a canopy top and overlooks the gorgeously manicured cricket grounds. The tennis courts are also really beautiful. The room itself is super drab: hard beds, dirty and decaying bathroom but there was a really nice flat screen TV with lots of channels. Service, from check-in at the front desk, room service, to the waiters at the restaurant, was slooooooooooooowwwwwwww. And slower than the typical Indian delays. I tried to order bottled water from room service so I could brush my teeth and after waiting 30 minutes I called room service again. A few minutes later, one of the guys showed up and told me I'd be unable to get bottled water until 11:30a, as the shop was closed. First, I find that preposterous, and second, why didn't the room service guy tell me that when I called the first time. Due to some negotiating on my behalf by a club member, the price was reasonable. So, I guess a silver lining.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whiskeyknits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pune hotels

New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I checked into Poona club for one day as I was going thru Pune to Goa. This place is an old club in this region, on of the 2 opened first in Pune.

The room where i stayed in was huge with all basic amenities. If i really start looking into the nitty gritty of things, then probably it cannot be a review worh making. But what I would like to highlight here is that this place is good for what.

1. Location : With lots of shopping around and Lifestyle right opposite to it, this was a big plus
2. Close to the airport : Its about 30 minutes by a Rick which you can easily get by telling the reception to arrange for one
3. Lawns and sports : ample space for it. Take a walk in the club only. No need to head out for one
4. Food in the bar was nice. Not lavish or yummy but not as bad as where i have had at many places.
5. Room SIze: Huge! and comfortable so to say...

So in the end i found it to be an ok place to stay. So cant complain much.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pawansahni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

This is one of the oldest clubs in the city...it has an impressive array of sports facilities...including its own golf course,cricket ground and flood lit tennis courts of two different surfaces...a library a swimming pool...a couple of restaurants make this place just like home...you can lounge about..catch a nice meal as well as rent out its various locations for business/parties or weddings...they serve quality food..
if your a member of this club....your really lucky....
an awesome place to spend your time....

Room Tip: Book in advance and specify your requirements...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koolraeesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We had gone there for dinner ..the area was dirty n the table looked like it hadn't been cleaned this year...
Tomato soup was served with a cockroach floating in it....kulfi has an hair frozen in it.....absolutely disgusting...
The waiter was unapologetic....it seemed like a daily occurrence..
Rooms r as bad....so don't bother...

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanJai22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Not an enjoyable experience at all. Rooms are in a shabby state. Service is non-existent and food quality leaves much to be desired. Not at all worth the price they charge (not that its expensive at all) but still no value for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms by the entrance gate are definitely more convenient to be in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sujanani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pune hotels
1.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Blue Diamond
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shree Panchratna
Hotel Shree Panchratna
#22 of 221 in Pune
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sagar Plaza
Hotel Sagar Plaza
#37 of 221 in Pune
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Woodland
Hotel Woodland
#89 of 221 in Pune
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Central Park Hotel
The Central Park Hotel
#28 of 221 in Pune
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora Towers
Hotel Aurora Towers
#62 of 221 in Pune
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poona Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poona Club

Property: The Poona Club
Address: 6, Bund Garden Road, Pune 411001, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Pune
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 222 B&Bs / Inns in Pune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing