We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best cheap hotel in Pune”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of National Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pune
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
National Hotel
Ranked #163 of 221 Hotels in Pune
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best cheap hotel in Pune”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

If you're a foreigner it might be hard to find a budget hotel. The National is no-frills, for sure. The beds are hard and the facilities basic. But it's cheap, and the garden is really nice! Rooms in the bungalows are the best I reckon. Ask if you want hot water, blankets, sheets etc. Staff are business-like but cool. Plenty of low budget places to eat nearby - go right and try the restaurants by the crossroads for a nicer, more expensive meal. The area's a bit grimy, but it is right next to the station. There's internet cafe in station and another nicer one near if you cross the railway onto Sasoon Road and go right at Sohrab Hall.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    3
    4
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
6
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

It's cheap, just under RS900 for a night. That's the only positive. Felt like I was in a prison as the room had no windows and the bed was as hard as Ray Winstone in a gangster movie!! If your budget is small try it out, but I think you'll find sleeping in a tuk tuk more comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stenward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pune hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Only advantage of this hotel is its location and price. National Hotel is close to Pune and offers budget accommodation.
On the other hand rooms are very just ugly. Room allotted to me had no double cot on top of it cots were of different height. You check one of the posted photos. One of my cot was standing on life support. Hotel charges extra for TV but none of the channels were playing. Person at the reception was probably new, he knows nothing about the Pune. Rooms were damp, Wash basin was not operating and Flush tank was broken.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Datha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dona Paula, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

i stayed in this hotel on June 19th, 2011 for a day with my wife. This hotel is having a typical village nature atmosphere in the heart of the busy city. Rooms are surrounded by trees and having calm environment. Room was very small and compact .. It's a budget hotel with very helpful staffs. bathroom and toilet is ok , but needs to improve.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank normal1087527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

Situated right opposite the Pune railway station, this is a good option if you want to be close to the station/ have to catch an early morning train.

Run by the Baha'i trust, this hotel is in an ancient building, with lots of trees around. Since its set a little back from the main road, it isnt as noisy as one would expect.

The rooms are are very spacious and reasonably clean, through clearly very old, with high ceilings and ancient fixtures. (we actually found it quite charming). The rooms are not very bright, but like I said, you feel like youve stepped back in time, and it has a certain old world charm to it. It they choose to renovate, they could easily use the beautiful architecture, and random bits of georgous furniture we saw lying around to turn it into a cute little boutique hotel.

The staff are Baha'i and very gentle and laid back. Its definitely not a professional sort of hospitality, but it seems all the more genuine for that.
We stumbled upon this place totally by accident intending to stay only one night, as we arrived tired and late from Mumbai and didnt want to spend additional time looking for a hotel, but ended up staying for the entire weekend, because we were so charmed. We were expecting a lot less for the price, and planned to just crash for a night, and find a new hotel first thing in the morning, but were really pleasantly surprised.

Be warned, this place is more like a hostel, with huge rooms, so if you want luxury and super efficient service then give this place a miss. But if you want a cheap option (600 RS a night), and old world charm at an unbeatable price, then definitely stay here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anattaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pune hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Woodland
Hotel Woodland
#78 of 221 in Pune
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alpine
Hotel Alpine
#124 of 221 in Pune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
2.7 mi away
Treebo Golden Emerald
Treebo Golden Emerald
#160 of 221 in Pune
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sai Heritage
Sai Heritage
#105 of 221 in Pune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shivam
Hotel Shivam
#151 of 221 in Pune
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Mint
Quality Inn Mint
#31 of 221 in Pune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel

Property: National Hotel
Address: 14,Opposite Pune Railway Station | Sasoon Road, Pune 411001, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Pune
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 221 Hotels in Pune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing