We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ravine Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Il Palazzo Hotel(Panchgani)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prospect Hotel(Panchgani)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mount Castle(Panchgani)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pan Hill Hotel(Panchgani)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
White House(Mahabaleshwar)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Mala's(Panchgani)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (789)
Filter reviews
789 results
Traveler rating
240
349
108
35
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
240
349
108
35
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennis courtssydney pointmelting potvalley viewswimming poolserenity spaair hockeyroom serviceexecutive roomamazing locationkrishna riverbreakfast spreadrestaurant servesin house restaurantoff seasonplay area for kidsthe ground floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
537 - 542 of 789 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Right!

We booked 2 rooms online and after the 24 hour wait, the rooms were confirmed.
We then called next day to ask if we could get adjacent rooms, but the operator on the other line said that "it will be on the availability of the rooms and we cannot confirm that, after the initial disappointment right before the trip could start, we got a call from the hotel stating we have an executive room available, which has can accommodate 4 members but will be 490 odd Rs extra, which we obliged.

The stay:

The moment you enter the room, the view is mesmerising and serene, and you instantly fall in love with it


The food is a little on the expensive side.

The reason to rate this review as average is purely on the service element

The ordeal of getting even the housekeeping staff to clean the room required 5 follow ups and a wait of close to one day as an example.

It's a beautiful hotel but the service really needs to raise the bar as it can turn an excellent experience into a turmoil.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Nipunkashyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravinehotel-Arbaaz, Public Relations Manager at Ravine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for posting your constructive comments. We are Sorry to know that your stay was below par.

I have noted your feedback and will be reviewing it with the relevant departments in the hotel. I am especially disappointed to read about the housekeeping & attention to detail and am sorry that you have left with a average impression.

Your review does not mention whether you discussed your disappointment prior to your departure however I would welcome the opportunity to do so if you could please contact me directly at the hotel.We look forward to welcoming you back soon so we can ensure you receive the best possible service and award us with full marks.

With kind regards
Anish K
Ravine Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We usually go away from mumbai on 31st dec ...going by a solitary photo & a stranger's recommendation , my wife booked 3 rooms here in early sept ... we were really not sure what we were getting into ....should not have worried at all ... pleasant 5.5 hr drive ... excellent location overlooking the valley & the Krishna river basin ... the FRONT OFF was very prompt & helpful [Rathore, Ashwini, Ajay - ever smiling & always THERE for the guests] ... the hotel has 2 sidess - 1row of rooms overlook the road, parking - the other row oveflooks the Valley - obviously CHOOSE the valley side ... 2 categories : VALLEY VIEW & JR ESECUTIVE ... both are spacious & comfy ... the Exec has a fridge & tea/coffee making kettle ... Excellent toileteries in the bathrooms in both ... do not miss the sit out overlooking the Valley ... 2nd floor rooms have a better view than the 1st ...but the BEST part is the FOOD - WOW ! [waiter Nilesh is very good]..
the quiet overall service - no'palms sticking out' - prompt room service ..all probably because the owners live on the property & also manage it .... DO GO !!!!

Room Tip: 2ND Floor facing the valley ... Corner Exec rooms unusually spacious ... Rooms on the side of the Dining room, perhaps have a better view .... A/C is optional on additional charge
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weakass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravinehotel-Arbaaz, Public Relations Manager at Ravine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Ravine and for your ‘absolutely amazing’ review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed every bit of your stay and that you were treated and served like ‘royalty’. So much thought, care and preparation goes into our guests stay it is wonderful to be appreciated, and the way you have described your ‘Ravine Experience’ is exactly what we aspire to achieve every day.

We have conveyed your positives to the front and back office team and it really does provide true job satisfaction, when our staff is praised with such lovely comments.

Thanks again for your recommendations.

We all look forward to Welcome you soon in the very near future.

With Kind regards,
Anish K
Ravine Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I am a regular visitor at the ravine since last six years also i have worked in the hospitality sector at mumbai international airport for 15 years .without any doubt it is one of the best hotel. food is excellent matched by top class room service and fantastic valley view .IF u r lucky u may meet many top bollywood personalities though personally i am not bothered about them. A special mention for Mr Rathod in front office reception avery sweet and helpful person always ready to help. 4/5 points would have given them 5/5 but for the fact dat with this sort of class there is no mini refrigator and no tea,cofee maker and somebody needs to teach the owner to smile atlest to regular guests.
tip: a car is must . do have a look at their superb tents . book well in advance to avoid dissapointment as many times they are sold out even during off seasons possibly because of regular film shootings and commercials.

Room Tip: car is a must kindly book in advance
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wildhorsesubhash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravinehotel-Arbaaz, Public Relations Manager at Ravine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay.

We are extremely happy to see you as our ‘Regular visitor’ since last six years, which indeed gives us a great assurance about the standard of our services.

Thank you for giving Mr. Rathore a special mention, it really does provide true job satisfaction, when our staff is praised with such lovely comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ravine soon, where we will ensure you have a mini refrigerator and a tea,coffee maker and award us with full points.

With love from us all,

Best Regards,
Anish K
Ravine Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This was my second time at the Ravine Hotel in Panchagni and it won't be my last!!

I stayed 2 years ago and the quality hasn't dropped.. If anything it's gotten better!!!

The views are amazing ( DO try to book a room with a view.. it's definitely worth it the difference).
The Food is AMAZING - My favorites being -…. well everything!
The GYM is state of the art - with great quality machines - the best brands and the Personal Trainer is a dear!

The family who runs it is lovely and friendly and very worldly and knowledgeable.
The Tennis courts are great and there's even one with an amazing view.
The tents are being renovated and will offer a "Out of Africa" experience around a salt water natural pool in the bottom of the garden overlooking the stunning views…
There's a man with a huge telescope in the evenings.. and it's wroth looking through it at the Moon as it's an experienced only rivaled by a trip to a big planetarium.
I am from NYC and probably one of the only westerners i've ever seen there with a few other friends… but that's the charm of this hotel.. big happy indian families..ok, do maybe bring ear plugs as the indian children seem to be very rowdy til very late in the night…
They revamped the boutique and have a lot of trendy things to buy for super reasonable prices!

Overall lovely, relaxing, friendly, super value for the money and/... the Serenity SPA has amazing treatments… really adorable spa girls who make you feel right at home with wonderful Aryuvedic treatments and wonderful products you can buy and bring home!
If you're' going to the Panchgani area : or if you want a break from the Bombay hustle and bustle STAY At the RAVINE- It won't disappoint!

Room Tip: Pick a Room with a view on the ravine.. whatever the difference is, it's WORTH it!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThePerfecti0nist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravinehotel-Saumil, Public Relations Manager at Ravine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Ravine and for your ‘absolutely amazing’ review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were treated and served like ‘royalty’. So much thought, care and preparation goes into our guests stay it is wonderful to be appreciated and the way you have described your ‘Ravine Experience’ is exactly what we aspire to achieve every day.

On behalf of the entire team, front and back of house, I would like to say how much your kind words are appreciated by us all at The Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed all of the facilities and service including the gym and spa treatments.

We absolutely love it when are guests become our friends, as we are a huge family - our only wish is that all our guests are as lovely as you…

Thank you once again for all your kind words and recommendations; we all loved reading it!

We would love to welcome you soon in the very near future.

With love from us all..

Bes Wishes & Regards,
Anish K
Ravine Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We visited Hotel Ravine in the 3rd week of December. This was our 4th trip to Ravine but this is the first time I am posting a review. The view from the Valley View Plus rooms is really soothing and refreshing. We generally make it a point to visit every year as the view of the Krishna river and the valley is breathtaking. The food is really good but slightly expensive. The rooms are neat,clean and well done up especially in the new wing. Room service is also decent. There are 4 tennis courts and a viewing deck used for party purposes. The Serenity spa is also great.This hotel scores over other hotels in Mahabaleshwar and Panchgani for purely location. Hotel staff is courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: Choose the Valley view plus rooms for an expansive view of the Krishna valley
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrakashShirke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravinehotel-Saumil, Public Relations Manager at Ravine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay.

We are delighted to know about this being your 4th visit and it makes us feel so proud believing in our high standard of services.

On behalf of the entire team front and the back office,I would like to say how much your kind words are appreciated by us all at the hotel.

I am pleased you enjoyed all of the facilities and services including the Serenity Spa.

I and we all look forward to welcome you back for another relaxing, peaceful stay soon - even if it is just to try a few more of our amazing treatments I

P.S. Your words about us scoring over other hotels in Mahabaleshwar and Panchgani really made the whole team smile!

Best Wishes,
Anish K
Ravine Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews