We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay option at Panchgani”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ravine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ravine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Panchgani
Pune, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent stay option at Panchgani”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Ravine is really the palace of winds...lovely interiors...helpful staff and beautiful views.

Parking is at 2 levels and is ample. We drove to Panchgani from Pune and the hotel lies just before you enter the Panchgani city and immediately after the city checkpost. It was the rainy season July 2012 and we stayed in the East Side Room. Unfortunately there was no great view from the room. However, when you keep the windows it brings in lovely winds inside which refresh you immediately.

The other side has an amazing view of the valley and the hotel is located at the foot of Sydney point.

The only issue was the hotel did not allow food inside the rooms. The staff was a little confused about this policy.

Else, it was one of the best budget hotels I ever visited.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in the Valley Side rooms to get a breathtaking view and lovely fresh air. Talk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmitNChoudhary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravinehotel-Saumil, Public Relations Manager at Ravine Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 'excellent' review. Apart from the beautiful view from the rooms, we also have a mesmerizing view from our Restaurant 'Melting Pot' , and so to encourage our Guests to enjoy this view we do not provide meals in the rooms (only snacks available). We look forward to welcome you soon.

Warm Regards
Geeta
Ravine Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    319
    95
    29
    49
See reviews for
365
209
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

this is my hotel of choice when in Panchgani for location location and space. This was our second visit and though the experience was at par with the last, there is a lot of scope for improvement. Firtsly i think the management truly needs to freshen up the hotel, its rooms and amenities provided. (Wondering what the rooms where the big stars stay look like) . The spa is at par with many five star spas in Mumbai. The staff sometimes gets too bogged down by the stars which they cater to and ignore the rest , but still they do a good job. The restraunt serves good food. But there are options like Jaffer Bhai's , Lucky Cafe and Starwberry Inn. But the staff at the restraunt is really attentive . The childrens park is excellent. The flora and fauna well kempt . The star gazing through a 1000 mm telescope in the night with a local person (dont remember his name) who is so enthusiactic about the space is a must do. Truly would like to see some change in the overall ambeinec of the hotel next time i visist and visit i surely will ! All the best!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ppokhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I had been to Ravine for the last 3 days. It's a hotel that is at a very good location. They have nice little rooms overlooking the valley and it is a pleasant sight when you wake up. The stay was not one of the best ones but maybe I would rate them at 6.5 on a scale of 1 to 10 with 10 being the best.
This hotel must have been a very good hotel in its prime but now I feel it is just a shadow of what it must have been earlier. The food, though expensive is just "OK", though when you have a Jaffer bhai's Delhi Durbar just around the corner who will eat here.
They had those normal problems that you have with a poorly managed hotels, for e.g. problematic flush that works only when twisted in a peculiar style, lots of used bed sheets, towels kept in the corridor etc.
Hardly any attention to detail ,for e.g as I had my son with me and an extra bed was required and though informed well in advance, we had to call them to set it up, extra bathroom accessories were not kept etc.
I was there when SRK, Deepika and Rohit Shetty were also staying here and so obviously the focus was more towards them. I was surprised that they were giving super attention to one junior extra - (normally acts as a dark monster in films and gets bashed up by the hero every now and then). While at the breakfast table no one even came to take up the order while all the waiters and other staff were busy clicking picture with this monster and I had to leave the hotel and have breakfast some place else.
It might be slightly better if there are no film actors around. Please confirm before going.
The best place in the hotel was their Spa. It was a very nice experience and me and my wife really enjoyed it. I recommend you try it once.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Creativegene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravinehotel-Saumil, Public Relations Manager at Ravine Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review and recommending our Hotel. Though our Hotel is very popular , our services remain the same for all our esteemed Guests. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay and assure you that you would not have to face these issues again. We look forward to welcome you soon.

Warm Regards
Geeta
Ravine Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a superb stay at Ravine, pleasant staff, good food and ambience.
very relaxing, should plan to go back in peak season. Was disappointing that paragliding was banned. We request that safety measures be deployed at the earliest and to start the service soon.



Jayashree

Room Tip: Bathrooms have to be more spacious, but they are clean and very well maintained
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashritha503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravinehotel-Saumil, Public Relations Manager at Ravine Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Positive review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Although, due to unfortunate incidents, paragliding has been shut down. But we do have other entertainments at our Hotel Ravine, where one can watch a movie in our Movie Theartre or play indoor/outdoor games. We look forward to welcome you soon.

Warm Regards
Geeta
Ravine Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
72 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We choose to stayed at wooden hut (Eagle's Tent 505) thinking of a different experience. View from the hut was amazing. It was nicely clean and bathroom was fairly clean as well. There was a small fire place next to hut and a sitting area. Food at hotel was good. Hut was equipped with TV which was mostly showing free channels. Service was poor we ordered for fire wood at 7 pm which we couldn't got till 9 pm.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kukku_mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravinehotel-Saumil, Public Relations Manager at Ravine Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us and assure you that you would not have to face these issues again in future. Thank you for bringing this matter to our notice. We look forward to welcome you soon

Warm Regards
Geeta
Ravine Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed in valley plus room at this hotel, which has the best view. The service is at par. Food except for breakfast is mind blowing compared to other eateries at panchgani. Hotel property is old but very well maintained. The best part of this hotel is its versatility, hats off to the owner for such an amazing sense of planning. It offers u all entertainment under 1 roof & a variety of rooms to choose frm. Visited in march & the crew of upcoming movie Chennai express was also staying in the hotel at the same time. Meeting Shahrukh khan and Rohit Shetty was an icing on the cake. Would definitely come here again soon. I would recommend them to start an annual membership program.

Room Tip: Undoubtly go for valley plus rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravinehotel-Saumil, Public Relations Manager at Ravine Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 'Superb' review and ratings to our Hotel Ravine. We are very glad to know, that once again, we have succeeded in serving the best to our Guests. We look forward to welcome you again during the Monsoon Season, which again, reveals another beauty of Panchgani.

Warm Regards
Geeta
Ravine Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Ravine is an old hotel near Panchgani having good views.preferred by lot of bollywood stars.its a paradise for Tennis lovers as it houses 5 world class tennis courts. However it lacks a lot of basics.the toilets in the rooms do not have an exhaust.the bathroom is very basic.The rooms have old box tv which do not work. If at all you are fortunate/unfortunate that a bollywood star and their crew is staying there, the differential treatment will be highly visible and may possibly be a nuisance for other hotel guest.the hotel is a 30 minutes drive from Mahabaleshwar

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aman-Tekriwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panchgani
2.9 mi away
Panchgani Health Resort
Panchgani Health Resort
#5 of 17 in Panchgani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
7.4 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Millennium Park
Hotel Millennium Park
#10 of 17 in Panchgani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Blue Country Resort
Blue Country Resort
#7 of 17 in Panchgani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mala's
Hotel Mala's
#4 of 17 in Panchgani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
8.8 mi away
Le Meridien Mahabaleshwar Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravine Hotel

Property: Ravine Hotel
Address: Sydney Point | Wai-Panchgani Rd, Panchgani 412805, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Panchgani
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Panchgani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ravine Hotel is situated 4,500 feet above sea level, overlooking the Dhom Dam, at the base of Sydney Point. It is located only 20 Km from Mahabaleshwar. Far away from the hustle and bustle of the big city , it is truly a peaceful break from everyday noise, stress and pollution!! The only certified 3 Star Hotel in Panchgani, the Ravine Hotel is equipped to satisfy all your needs, from conferences to movie shoots. Stay where the stars stay and enjoy the breathtaking views from our luxury rooms. Arrive in style, why don't you use our Private Helicopter landing site (Helipad) we can even help you book an helicopter excursion from Mumbai or Pune to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ravine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravine Hotel Panchgani, Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing