We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay , great views” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ravine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ravine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Panchgani
Mumbai
Level Contributor
101 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay , great views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at Ravine for a couple of days and had opted for the Valley Side Rooms , The Valley plus rooms have better views but you can enjoy those from the restaurant and also from a huge sit out that is on the cliff.

The room was small, cozy, comfortable. It was a little run down, with the paint in the bathrooms peeling off and the equipments are also dated.

We did not any Tv reception, there were only a couple of channels which too weren't clear.On repeatedly requesting for the same were informed that the whole of Panchgani was facing a Cable black out

The food in restaurant was good, but the service was excruciatingly slow. Room service, although was prompt and attentive.

They have a tie up with Jaffer Bhai Delhi Darbaar , from where you can call in your food

Choose this property if you want to enjoy the spectacular view and relax in quiet solitude. If you want the hustle bustle and the crowds, head to Mahabaleshwar 20kms away

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank explorerspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravinehotel-Saumil, Public Relations Manager at Ravine Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive review. Due to technical reasons, the cable services were out of services for some days, which happened to be during your stay. We have now installed the Tata Sky services at our Hotel and so we assure you, you would not have to face this issue again. We have also renovated certain rooms where there were paint 'peel-offs' due to heavy rains here. Thank you bringing these matters to our notice. We look forward to welcome you back again.

Warms Regards
Ravine Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    311
    94
    28
    48
See reviews for
351
205
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We booked two rooms in Ravine, from 16th November 2012 to 19th November 2012, we did this booking through Hotel's website. After online payment through debit card we didn't receive any confirmation from the hotel or any kind of mail.. after 48 hours, when contacted the reservations, they took almost three days to send mail that they booked the rooms in our name and also mail didnt have proper confirmation details. So we contacted the Hotel and confirmed , they said the printout of mail will work during check inn.
I would like to mention two persons here who gave this confirmation but didnt respond during our check in at the Hotel.
Mr. Barucha from Pune booking office and Mr. Aamir from reservations.

When we checked in Hotel on Nov 16th, the reception personnel's said that our booking is not confirmed and they didnt recieve our payment.
When we showed that email printout, they blindly said that it must have mailed erroneously as its just booking confirmation but not payment confirmation. We were shocked to hear that we did not make payment and during that time,We didn't had enough funds to pay them full amount for the stay

Somehow with great efforts, we got the bank statement of debit card from the Bank manager( who in general cases does not give bank statements without passbooks) and showed them that we did payment long back. They checked their bank statements and found that we did payment almost a month back.

The Response we got later was terrible and sily that " due to some mistake in checking bank statement they could not confirm our payment".

Due to this silly mistake of theirs we were in mental agony for almost 2 days and did not have any peace of mind which we required during holiday.

We suggest to all future holiday planner to confirm the hotel booking, rooms, payments and other required things categorically before planning to head to The RAVINE.
Other wise The Ravine is a very good property to stay with average service and pathetic systems.

Room Tip: Valley side rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pankaj2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravinehotel-Saumil, Public Relations Manager at Ravine Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest, firstly we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. We too are human and sometimes errors are made by us as well. It is unfortunate that this happened on your booking and it caused undue stress., We assure you, you would not have to face any such issue during your next stay with us. We learn from our mistakes and ensure that this does not happen to our other guests as well. Thank you for bringing these matters to our notice and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards
Geeta
Ravine Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Amazing Place with Flawless beauty of nature...A must visit hotel of Panchgani..Interiors are superb.It is a treat to your eyes.Food at Poonam's is adviceable at Panchgani market..and guys if ur gujarati..u can go for Gujarati thali at Purohit's Lunch home,At 14 Degree also u can feel the warmth of the place.

Room Tip: Valley View room or Tents
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vandanatnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravinehotel-Saumil, Public Relations Manager at Ravine Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your positive review and for recommending our Hotel. It is because of Guest like you we endeavor to give our best everytime. We will look forward to welcome you back again.

Warm Regards
Ravine Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We travelled as couple to celebrate first wedding anniversary at Ravine in nov 2012. The hotel was too good with so many entertaining points. We stayed for 2 nights...and travelled to see mahabaleshwar on 3 rd day...there was nothing special to see in mahabaleshwar some points like echo point, aurther seat, needlepoint etc...but to be true the third day was no much fruitful. We spent the first 2 days entirely enjoying the ambiance of Ravine...it is just amazing........the valley view from room was just breathtaking...Room on 2nd floors give perfect view...we stayed in Room No 215..The staff was wonderful and attended us well. The melting pot restaurant also gives u breathtaking view and the tasty food...room service is very good...but costly.....it will b entertaining for kids too...Indoor games and gym was also nice..swimming pool also has good location...two things they could do 1) provide electric kettle in room and 2) place dust bins in garden to avoid litter here and there.....U will get iron box /hair dryer on request. that is nice....rooms r well maintained...amazing.....Go to Mapro gardens just 7 kms away from hotel and enjy various taste of products. Also food you can have from Panchgani just 1.5 km from hotel ...small hotel named poonam served us tasty food at much reasonable rate and we walked to Panchgani to enjoy the ambiance...go to table land and sydney point just 1.5 km from hotel...by walk u will enjoy to see these points....I think this is the best hotel and only 3 star hotel in panchgani with calm and pleasing ambiance.......there r mulberry trees near tennis courtsl...enjoy the rich antioxidant fruit with freshness early morning....

Room Tip: Valley rooms on 2nd floor......we stayed in rom no 215
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sannasuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravinehotel-Saumil, Public Relations Manager at Ravine Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
: Dear Guest, thank you for your Amazing review and for appreciating our services provided. At Ravine, we endeavor to perk-up our services towards our Guests consistently. We look forward to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panjim ,Goa,India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here from 9th till 11th Nov....the view(from the pics on the hotels website after looking thru Tripadvisor) was the main reason I booked this hotel and to say that the view was astounding is an understatement...I travelled with my wife and my 4 years old daughter...My daughter enjoyed the kids park and play area which was a plus point too...However the hospitality from the staff needs improvement as at times the room service staff and the housekeeping staff were very disinterested...The extra effort to make the guest feel comfortable was totally missing...They even charged me extra (Rs.500/night) for a mattress for my 4 year daughter...The light fixtures in the room were not working and were fixed only after we checked in and brought it to their notice...The sheets were stained and the furniture dusty....The cable TV wasn't working either for our entire stay...Besides the amazing view, the in-room experience was not worth mentioning....Its the Location and the view we paid for.

Room Tip: Its all about the view so book the valley plus rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denzil24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

The view from the hotel window is really very nice. You see Krishna River and its beautiful valley. You can also see Dhom Dam which is on this river. The room has a big glass window and a coffee table-chairs near it. You can relax and watch beautiful sun-set from your room.

The hotel has a small natural landscaped garden. They also have tents where you can stay - but you cant use tent from June-October due to rains. It must be nice experience to stay in those tents overlooking valley.

This time when we went to Panchagani- Mahabaleshwar, I was not sure if I will be able to walk and explore a lot due to my pregnancy. So I wanted a place where I can relax at hotel itself. It was a good choice.

The hotel is around 30 kms from Mahabaleshwar and 5 kms from Panchagani. It's on main road. The hotel has 5 tennis courts, a spa and a restaurant.

a couple of negative things - hopefully they will get rectified..

The food was with limited variety and not so great but OK. There are no much options nearby.

When we were in hotel, there were some tennis matches going on and the players were put up in the same hotel. It was very noisy due to this and we were disturbed couple of times at night due to some boys staying in nearby rooms.

It would have been better if the staff would have been more polite. We used to get blank calls due to some problem in their phone system. On complaining the staff was reluctant to do anything or even to say sorry about the trouble.

Room Tip: Ask for Valley View Rooms - preferably on 2nd flr. 1st flr is also ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlpanaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravinehotel-Saumil, Public Relations Manager at Ravine Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your ‘Amazing’ review. We are glad to know that your stay with us was ‘relaxing & comfortable’ and happy to inform you that the Tents are now open for stay, as the monsoons have passed. We regret for the inconvenience that you had to face, during your stay. We assure that during such times (Tennis Matches & Phone-Line issues) we will take measures so that you or our other guest do not face these issues in the future. Thank you once again, for bringing these matters to our notice.

Warm Regards,
Ravine Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Its not about Ravine. Its about Panchgani.

A neat 3 hours drive from Pune landed me in Panchgani. And I am glad I chose Panchgani over the hyped Mahabaleshwar to stay overnight. Ravine was a natural choice having read so much about it, courtesy Trip Advisor forums. Situated near the Sydney Point, Hotel Ravine is set truly in nature's lap. We chose the Valley Plus room and the glass window opened up to the mesmerising beauty of nature. Yes, its Panchgani. Bliss.
Ravine is a 3 star hotel and the facilities are adequate considering the remote location. The room seemed good for the price although the gigantic sized spider webs were not good for the eyes. Room Service Department- Are you listening ?
The food at restaurant was good to taste but appeared overpriced. How I wish they included the breakfast in the room tariff ! The main turn off for me was that the Wi-Fi did not work from the room..the signal was only at the lobby level. The resort has multiple facilities- Tennis Courts, Spa, Kids zone etc. The hotel also provides car hire services for sight seeing through an outsourced travel desk and I availed it to my satisfaction.
Overall, Ravine is a good place to stay. The hotel staff also appeared professional. With expectations limited, this is a treat for nature lovers. Recommended.

Room Tip: Valley Plus rooms are a must !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ANIRMITR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravinehotel-Saumil, Public Relations Manager at Ravine Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your ‘Mesmerizing’ review and for recommending Hotel Ravine. Yes, Panchgani is a place where one would be lost in its Beauty. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently in the process of adding more Wi-Fi Routers, where are esteemed Guests can utilize this service even from their Rooms. So, we assure you, the next time you visit us again, you will find the Internet working (minus the Spider-Net) in your Room.

Warm Regards,
Ravine Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panchgani
7.4 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 48 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
2.9 mi away
Panchgani Health Resort
Panchgani Health Resort
#5 of 17 in Panchgani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blue Country Resort
Blue Country Resort
#7 of 17 in Panchgani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Millennium Park
Hotel Millennium Park
#10 of 17 in Panchgani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mala's
Hotel Mala's
#4 of 17 in Panchgani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
8.8 mi away
Le Meridien Mahabaleshwar Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravine Hotel

Property: Ravine Hotel
Address: Sydney Point | Wai-Panchgani Rd, Panchgani 412805, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Panchgani
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Panchgani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ravine Hotel is situated 4,500 feet above sea level, overlooking the Dhom Dam, at the base of Sydney Point. It is located only 20 Km from Mahabaleshwar. Far away from the hustle and bustle of the big city , it is truly a peaceful break from everyday noise, stress and pollution!! The only certified 3 Star Hotel in Panchgani, the Ravine Hotel is equipped to satisfy all your needs, from conferences to movie shoots. Stay where the stars stay and enjoy the breathtaking views from our luxury rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Ravine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravine Hotel Panchgani, Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing