We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maidstone

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panchgani
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maidstone
Ranked #13 of 32 Panchgani B&B and Inns
Mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Idyllic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We (two of us) landed up at Maidstone purely basis existing Tripadvisor reviews and the place lived up to its reccos!
We drove down from Mumbai on a Saturday afternoon looking for a quite weekend at Panchgani and that what we got. The town itself seems transforming from quaint to bustling. But Maidstone will more than make up for it. We called up Maidstone after reaching Panchgani and felt lucky to get a place since the other highly-recommended places were sold out.
Once you find the place, (and the approach road is charming in itself), Mohinee Aunty will greet you very warmly! The place is an old bungalow; the exact age not known even to the owners!
You walk through their house and upstairs to your room and that is when you see the mesmerizing view of the valley and the lake. We were put up in a large room with a separate changing / vanity room which made my girlfriend very happy :) The rooms are clean and kempt. If you are into it, you will find the wooden furniture, the dressing table, the bookshelf charming. Later in the evening, you can join Aunty and her mom (presumably) while they play a game of scrabble. Beware the witty twosome! Their quips will catch you by surprise.
You really appreciate the beautiful view from your room/terrace early in the morning. Tea was served in the room. A little later breakfast was served, with a healthy dose of anecdotes about family history and love. There is a special connect with the Father of the Nation. You have to visit the place to find out that one :)
All in all, we are coming back again for sure!

(Oh yes, in case you are wondering, we paid about Rs. 1300 per head per night - B&B)

Room Tip: All rooms have the same view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank varunpoddar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

If you're looking for a perfect getaway from the bustle of Mumbai, look no further than the quiet little town of Panchgani. And there is absolutely no better place to stay in Panchgani than Maidstone. It has a gorgeous view, delicious food & comfortable lodging - You couldn't ask for any more.
The place is a throw-back to the British Raj and the mansion is absolutely quaint with personal touches from the owners. There are books in every room & they brought us beer when we asked for it. The meals were also fabulous - we got 3 course meals at breakfast and dinner (which was a lot more than we expected) and tea every morning & evening (in a tea-pot served with hot-cross buns & home-made strawberry jam was my favourite)
We met Gita, Mohinee & Aunt Daphne who were very helpful, warm & absolutely charming. They gave us great tips about where to go in Panchgani to eat, buy strawberries & do sightseeing. And we had some wonderfully engaging conversation too.
What's more, the place is actually more reasonable than the other hotels & inns in Panchgani.
If I could, I'd go there once every two months.
I absolutely love this place, and look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AvantikaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

To write a review of perfection reeks of sacrilege of sorts. So forgive me. But if as a child you read books by the venerable Enid Blyton, about lazy days in the hills, with absolutely truckloads of the good stuff to send past your tonsils at periodic intervals, then look no further.

Maidstone is an absolute dream come true, for those who have these sorts of dreams that is. Fresh jam made from mulberries at breakfast? A fine multi-course lunch that's wheeled in on a trolley? A very English cha best had with the valley in the corner of your eye? Dinner under a starry, starry night with a nip in the air as well as in your hand? All of this and more is to be had at Maidstone.

An eclectic mix of the ordinary home and sublime company this is your home away from home, should your home of course be straight out of England. Aficionados of P.G. Wodehouse will recognize this to be exactly what ol’ Plum meant when he said, ‘God’s in his Heaven and all’s right with the world.’

Do keep in mind that Maidstone isn’t quite vegetarian friendly, so if you’re the thepla and khakra crunching sort, perhaps another place may be better suited. (They won’t miss you either.) But to the rest of the world, this is civilisation’s last bastion. A wicker picnic basket filled to the brim with chicken sandwiches neatly wrapped up proves it decisively.

Take a bow o gentle women of Maidstone, you have made life worth living once more upon my holiday there. I shall return, to once more drink from that tranquil stream of peace. What life indeed is this, if full of care, we have no time to stand and stare…

Room Tip: Book well in advance! And spend time in each room to really experience them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RayomandJPatell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

This is almost a Heritage Home.run by a warm and welcoming family. It is a beautiful homestead resort .
there are three suites and three rooms which in all can accommodate about 15 people comfortably at a time.
Each room has its own period furniture..right from a traditional dressing table, wardrobe and a writing table.The furniture is all solid wood and beautiful.
The books placed in each room, complete with a reading lamp and pretty bookmarks, a jar of water , a little flower arrangement and the tastefully appointed curtains and upholstery make the rooms ever so welcoming !
The cleanliness is impeccable,sheets are changed every night and the staff is absolutely trustworthy and cheerful! The suites are self sufficient enough to let you have a cup of tea in the electric kettle or even warm food in the oven provided.
What I wondered was that perhaps for the elderly or someone who's just recuperating from any illness, the climb of stairs or the cool air could prove to be a discomfort.The addition of a room heater or a covering to the staircase leading up to the rooms would be helpful indeed.But for the enthusiastic traveller it is absolutely THE place to put your bags down!!
Then there's the delicious food on offer too! Excellent tea, served the British way replete with a tea cozy!!(loved it !)healthy , home cooked breakfast, a varied menu for Lunch as well as dinner spoils you rich!
Meeting different guests at the table is a refreshing experience and otherwise too, conversation at the table is lively and warm with the family .And I wont ever forget the heavenly almond and honey cake offered on my birthday :-)
Warm company , right amount of privacy and all required information about Panchgani truly makes a stay a memorable experience!The service is polite , quick and thoughtful. The centralized yet discreet location ....its just a short walk from the main street..and the large and comfortable rooms make this an excellent getaway for superb Value For Money.
Above all, the feeling of having reached 'An ideal home away from home' is very very relaxing

Well what more could you want from a short holiday?!It will be really convenient if one makes a prior booking and specifies requirement for meals well in advance!

Room Tip: beautiful rooms,plz say 'NO' to TV!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank triptipsfromme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panchgani hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mala's
Hotel Mala's
#4 of 17 in Panchgani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ravine Hotel
Ravine Hotel
#3 of 17 in Panchgani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pan Hill Hotel
Pan Hill Hotel
#8 of 17 in Panchgani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Blue Country Resort
Blue Country Resort
#7 of 17 in Panchgani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Millennium Park
Hotel Millennium Park
#10 of 17 in Panchgani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mount View Heritage Hotel
Mount View Heritage Hotel
#1 of 32 in Panchgani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maidstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maidstone

Property: Maidstone
Address: Chesson Road, Panchgani 412 805, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Panchgani
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Panchgani
Also Known As:
Maidstone Panchgani, Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing