We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A gem worth visiting”
Amazing view of Dala Rooster bungalow entrance during daylight.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Amazing view of Dala Rooster bungalow entrance during daylight.
Dala Rooster bungalow,Panchgani entrance at night. View of bungalow
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
191 reviews
Amazing view of Dala Rooster bungalow entrance during daylight.
Dala Rooster bungalow,Panchgani entrance at night.
View of bungalow
View from the Gazebo
Living room
View from living room
Dining room
Dining room
Living room with fireplace
Living room with fireplace
Bedroom
Garden level bedroom
Top floor passage
View from top bedroom
View from living room
View of bungalow from NE
Front view of bungalow
View from Gazebo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Panchgani, Satara District, Maharashtra

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 191 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
neonsworl...
Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A gem worth visiting”
Reviewed November 16, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I stayed here for one night just after Diwali and I regret the fact that I could spend only a single night here. This truly memorable house needs atleast a couple of nights to do full justice to it.

The house layout is like nothing I have seen before and there is a certain old world charm to it. The view from all the rooms is pretty awesome. The rooms are the right size, the beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are clean and well-maintained. The best part of the house is the gazebo which is perfect for a round of drinks in the evening or the morning tea with a view.

A special mention to the staff here, who were very helpful and attended to our needs efficiently. The meals that they cooked were quite satisfactory.

The hosts were very responsive through the booking process and I hope to meet them during one of our many future visits.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Glass gazebo
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 16, 2015
Thank you for staying with us. It is encouraging to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly would love to host you again.

Best Regards,
Capt.Vikas Gokhale and the Dala Rooster Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Srivishal
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just WOW- The Place and the Stay ; Amazing”
Reviewed November 16, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

What a Home stay!!! Amazing.
We were 2 famalies , wanting to stay in home like atmosphere , away from home .... not hotel . And , I tell you , what luck we had in discovering this property .

Really , great views from everywhere, great hospitality , absolutely safe and neat. Home cooked food ... What else you want on your holidays!!!

A must visit for anyone planning to go to panchgani.

Kudos to Capt Gokhle and the service staff for such a nice hospitality and maintaing it so very well!!!

Vishal Srivastava

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and hospitality
Liked least: The short Stay of 2 days
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 16, 2015
Thank you very much for posting your review. It was indeed our pleasure to host you. We thank you once again for choosing to stay in our Dala Rooster and hope to see you again sometime soon.

Best Regards,
Capt.Vikas Gokhale and the Dala Rooster Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avidz9
Bhubaneswar, India
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This place will remain etched in your memories forever”
Reviewed October 31, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Believe me you will miss this place dearly after your return from your trip.Stayed for 3 nights 16th -18th Oct'2015.Ideally located between Panchgani and Mahabaleswar for someone who wishes to visit all the tourist attractions of both the places.There is absolutely nothing nearby to disturb your stay in any manner.Easy to find using GPS/GoogleMap.Words of praise alone can never do justice to place of such enigmatic beauty.The property is remarkably well maintained and very clean.We traveled in a group of 9 persons (including an infant)but had booked the entire bungalow for ourselves.Once you enter the bungalow,the view from the living room will catch you by surprise.The view from, the rooms and the dining area is to die for.The rooms are spacious and are very well equipped.The place has all the modern amenities required for a comfortable stay.The peaceful environment is enchanting and one will wish never to return from that place.The next best thing about Dala Rooster is its food.We never ate anything outside during our stay.Once we tasted the food it was the unanimous decision of the group to have food there only.The food is hygienic,prepared fresh in front of you , taste is simply delicious and that too at a reasonable price.The couple in charge of the property Shiv and Puja are the stars of the place.The food cooked by them is unbelievably tasty.They care for you and treat you like family members.One must never miss Biriyani and Barbecue cooked by Shiv during the stay at Dala Rooster.This place is definitely the best place we have ever stayed in our life so far.Special thanks to Capt.Vikash Gokhale whose brainchild is Dala Rooster.We were fortunate to meet Capt.Vikash and his family and must say their hospitality will touch you.Capt. Vikash thank you so much for building a place like Dala Rooster which will be in our memories forever.My entire family misses Dala Rooster and its hospitality dearly.Will definitely visit once again in lifetime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Entire Dala Rooster Experience
Liked least: Absolutely nothing, except for the fact that you have to check out someday.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2015
Thank you for a very detailed and inspiring review. It was indeed our please to meet you and your family. Guests like you are always a pleasure to be with, for us and our staff.

Do visit us again.

Best Regards,
Capt.Vikas Gokhale and our Dala Rooster Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi R
San Francisco, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“truly relaxing home stay experience in a pristine setting”
Reviewed October 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This is our 2nd time at Dala Rooster (3 nights both times) and we hope to go there every year for our retreat. Capt. Gokhale has created a little piece of paradise at Dala Rooster and appointed a doting couple as care takers of this homestay, who are also very good cooks. We felt pampered and can't wait for next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: nice views, clean throughout
Liked least: barbecue dinner - didn't really do it for the vegetarians in our group
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2015
Thank you for making our Dala Rooster your regular and favoured vacation destination. We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,
Capt.Vikas Gokhale and our Team in Dala Rooster.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77Anand
Pune, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to enjoy and relax”
Reviewed October 11, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

It's my second visit and the same hospitality and relaxation . This time with a large group and with my extended family .
We booked the complete bungalow from 2'Oct to 4'th Oct .

Weather played a beautiful role in making our stay more enjoyable and memorable .
You can view the clouds moving and waterfall from drawing room .

Good service and food . Neat and clean always . Barbeque added another taste .

All an above excellent stay and enjoyed the long weekend .

Thanks once again to Mr Gokhale.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2015
Thank you again for making our Dala Rooster blessed with your presence, the second time around.Do visit us again.

Best Regards,
Capt.Vikas Gokhale and the Dala Rooster Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prasanta4...
Prasanta45
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A most satisfying holiday”
Reviewed September 26, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Was looking for a short holiday close to home. Some friends recommended 'home stay' at Dala Rooster, Panhgani. Got a reply to my enquiry within an hour, the dates I had asked for were booked, alternate dates were suggested and the booking completed within a couple of hours.
We were surprised by the place when we reached Panchgani.Everything was perfect. The location of Dala Rooster, the ambience of the rooms and the excellent service provided by the care takers.
I would rate the quality of food served as the better than what we got in the highly rated restaurants in Panchgani.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2015
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you back in Dala Rooster or our new Dala Mare.

Best Regards,
Capt.Vikas Gokhale and our Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajiv D
Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed September 9, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We always stayed in Mblwar, the senior sibling and were fed up with the commercialization of the place. This was our first visit to Panchgani. We asked our friends and also asked " Google " for reco's. We got all typical names and were about to Zero onto the standard "Adda's " when an article i had saved from Thirophillia was used to doube check the choice. Surprise.
We got " Dala Rooster" as the place to go.
We checked out yesterday morning ( its past midnight, now ) so i can definitely say, that it was the right choice, baby.
Capt Gokhale was present and made it more memorable. Does that mean that the staff takes care only if Capt is around, Of course not . The husband wife combo take great pains to make sure you are comfortable. the first day we did not want to eat dinner in house, so Capt and Staff gave us multiple options. However my advise, if you want " wholesome home food" stick to Dala rooster inhouse cooking. Do not miss the tea. She adds Ginger and makes it with less milk. Wonderful. Definitely coming back, but, now, Dala rooster or Dala Mare. Uff, now i have a choice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Personal touch from Capt and Staff
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2015
Thank you for posting a comprehensive review. It was a pleasure meeting you both. Looking forward to your visit to our Dala Rooster or Dala Mare soon.

Best Regards,
Capt.Vikas Gokhale and our team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing