We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rules the ROOST. No exaggeration. (and that's...”
Dala Rooster entrance in daylight.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dala Rooster entrance in daylight.
Dala Rooster bungalow,Panchgani entrance at night. View of bungalow
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
180 reviews
Dala Rooster entrance in daylight.
Dala Rooster bungalow,Panchgani entrance at night.
View of bungalow
View from the Gazebo
Living room
View from living room
Dining room
Dining room
Living room with fireplace
Living room with fireplace
Bedroom
Garden level bedroom
Top floor passage
View from top bedroom
View from living room
View of bungalow from NE
Front view of bungalow
View from Gazebo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Panchgani, Satara District, Maharashtra

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 180 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bolotarar...
Pune, India
2 reviews
“Rules the ROOST. No exaggeration. (and that's catchy title!)”
Reviewed February 7, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

This review was long due, so here goes:

My wife and I booked a 2 night stay at Dala Rooster for our wedding anniversary in mid December via flipkey.com (if I remember it correctly). While the reviews on Tripadvisor and elsewhere were mostly positive, we were still a bit skeptical about the experience that awaited us.

Ratings:

1. Property: Large bungalow set in a perfect location with superb views of the valley. We were told the monsoon views are even better.

2. Parking: Adequate parking space inside the property for 3 or 4 cars.

3. Cleanliness : Top marks! They even encourage wearing footwear available with them inside the house. Quite understandable.

4. Rooms: Large rooms with adequate furniture. Clean sheets, toilets and other furnishings.

5. Staff: The in-house property caretakers (who have a family staying on the property) are courteous and take care of you well enough. They also got us a cake for our anniversary. :)

6. Food: Don't even bother looking for any restaurants. The food that the husband-wife combo prepares is finger licking delicious. While they seek your preference, do not hesitate to ask them what their specialties are. Barbecue recommended, veg and non-veg alike.

7. Things to do: Just relax while you gaze out into the Sahyadris as you sip your cuppa! Conversations with well traveled Capt. Gokhale (when he is around) are an added advantage.

We plan to make this a yearly ritual and bring friends along on occasions!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Food, Service and the views
Liked least: Nothing actually.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 6, 2014
Thank you very much for a detailed and comprehensive review. It is indeed encouraging and your positive comments make us feel proud.
Please do come and visit us again.

Best Regards from Capt.Vikas & Leena Gokhale
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goa
Reviewed February 6, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 6, 2014
Thank you Vidula Phadke. We are very pleased that you liked our property, the food and service. We look forward to your visit in June.

Best Regards,
Capt.Vikas Gokhale
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pune
Reviewed February 2, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 2, 2014
Thank you Mrudula Kelkar for being one of our repeat guest. We strive to look after the guests requirements and people like you inspire us to better ourselves. Please do let us know when you would like to visit again.

Best Regards from Leena & Capt.Vikas Gokhale
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vasu2014
Mumbai, India
1 review
“An amazingly homely stay at Dala Rooster, Panchgani”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We had an extremely comfortable stay at Dala Rooster from 27th to 30th Jan 2014. Our stay became more personal with the presence of Capt Vikas Gokhale, an interesting and knowledgeable gentleman to share topics of various interesting subjects. The caretakers, viz. Yadav and Suvarna were excellent housemakers preparing sumptuous and tasty typical foods suiting our buds. The premises were strikingly spick and neat. The entire team was highly hospitable and made our stay very homely and comfortable. There was no room for any complaint. Their personal touch mattered a lot. We would love to stay at Dala Rooster as frequently as possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of the plot and layout of the premises
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 30, 2014
It was indeed nice meeting you both and it was my pleasure to have the opportunity to spend the three days with you. Your knowledge regarding taxation was impressive. Looking forward to meeting you sometime soon.

Best Regards,
Capt.Vikas Gokhale
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Reviewed January 12, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2014
Thank you Mr.Srinivasan for such a encouraging review. We are constantly striving to make the stay of our guests as enjoyable as possible and so far things have worked out well. Guests like you motivate us and help us, going forward We look forward to seeing you again in Dala Rooster sometime soon.

Warm Regards,
Mrs.Leena & Capt.Vikas Gokhale
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mumbai
Reviewed January 10, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2014
First of all a big thank you and a very Happy New 2014 to you. We are glad that Dala Rooster was able to cater to all your needs and that you enjoyed every bit of it. We hope to see you again in the very near future.

Best Regards,
Leena & Capt.Vikas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thane
Reviewed January 7, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2014
Thank you Prachi. We are happy that we were able to provide you with what you would expect of a perfect homestay experience. Do visit us again. We are constantly trying to better ourselves in all respects and we are sure that your next visit would be just as enjoyable if not more.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$55
/
Night
Week
Month
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing