We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveler rating
214
69
6
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
214
69
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset cottagetable landheritage hotelold world charmwoodside cottagehome away from homeevery mealnon vegthe cottagesstrawberry jamchirping birdsswimming pooldining hallfixed menulovely hostslonger durationbeautiful property
Filter
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 291 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2010

Prospect hotel is an awesome place.. It was suggested to us by a dear friend and then v checked it on trip advisor.. n it is an awesome place just as every1 describes it.. the food is amazing.. the variants in the food menu just get better n better especially the desserts.. would love to mention the truffle pudding .. must eat..

there r loads of activities u can do.. play indoor games, trek up to table land.. infact there is a swimming pool being constructed..

in short its an heritage property with all modern amenities..

a place where my family n i will visit again n again..

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lakhanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

I found this place after hunting down hotels on virtualtourist.com and tripadvisor. This place was the highest rated hotel in Panchgani -- and there's a reason for this -- it IS the best hotel I've seen there.

We arrived there on the morning of the 24th and were pleased by the fact that this hotel is close to the main road (once you enter Panchgani, keep driving down towards the market. There is a sign-board indicating Il Palazzo Hotel and Hotel Prospect. There is an old Parsi fire-temple at the corner and a bit further down the main road is the Post office, Police station and market -- if you reach them, you've gone too far :). And yet, though it is conveniently located, it's far from the noise, heat and pollution.

The hotel is nested amongst some beautiful and loving looked after gardens, abundant with flowers. And there is a little nest for birds.

We checked in quickly -- meeting Shahram, the owner and his wife who are friendly souls.

The room was very nice -- not a five-star hotel, but comfortable, with a touch of home. And, for finicky people like my wife and me -- the bathroom was very clean and well laid out -- a solid WC and a well-designed shower area separated by glass.

The hotel is close to table land --> when you walk out of the hotel's little lane, turn right, then take another right at the Mandir and you find a path to climb up to the table-land. This is not too easy (it is a little hike), but isn't quite a tough climb. You can reach the table-land in ten minutes by this route -- and by foot! From the table-land plateau), you can head left to the point where there is another plateau separated from the main one -- there is a deep path at the corner which allows you to climb down from the main plateau to the little one ('little' is relative as it's quite a big plateau and completely free of the noisy, cart-riding, motorbiking, lazy bums on the main plateau). This is a nice 2 hour journey, so a good walk in the lovely Panchgani air.

You can also walk down to the market (which I don't recommend as it's noisy, dusty and dirty) and buy jam (again, I don't recommend buying this -- the processed stuff tastes like sugar with chemicals -- no fruits!).

Or, you can just while your time in the hotel -- which is lovely too, surrounded by large trees, varied flowers and plants and has a restful hammock and lots of couple-swings. Plus there is an outdoor table set so you can write that letter to your friend while you commune with nature. I spend a few hours snoozing and pretending to read in the hammock (it's a biit difficult to get out of, so beware!).

And, to top this lazy holiday, the food is a food connoiseur's delight -- though, this is strictly non-vegetarian, so I wouldn't recommend veggies going here. The food is staple Parsi cuisine (chicken farcha etc), with home-made jam for breakfast (now THAT is good stuff), and dinner/lunch started with a soup. The food is so good you want to stuff yourself over and over again --- the only fault I could find is that they give you too much! Too much variety of great food: mutton cutlets, chicken farcha, chicken curry, dal, rice, chapatis, bread, potatoes, vegetables, salad and a desert -- the plates keep coming out.

I found it relaxing to basically sit back and get the food coming (no ordering, no agonizing over a menu wondering what to take) -- some posters here have pointed out that this is full board (breakfast, lunch and dinner all included) and I, personally, think it was a good idea. This place is for a restful, relaxing holiday -- no need to even tax your mind to decide what to eat :)

The service in the restaurant is SUPERB -- the waiters aren't hovering around you, but yet they are there whenever you need something. And they remembered that my wife liked tea with her meals and brought that each time. They also remembered our other preferences and served the food quickly and obstrutively, so that you get the feeling of food just appearing and it adds to the home-like atmosphere -- the waiting staff get a 12* rating from me.

The hotel should replace the dining table cloths more through the day though, as stains do seem to linger from breakfast until dinner. The paint in the dining room probably does need a touch-up. But that's about all the problems we could find in the hotel (and we thought hard about that!)

The rest of the staff were also very friendly -- the gardener who gave us the names of the flowers (and kindly washed my car when leaving), the maids etc.

They have a Great Dane -- Simba, who's quite a friendly, though huge dog who needs a lot more walks than he gets.

Overall, if you're going to stay in Panchgani and want a place which is a home-away from home, I strongly recommend Hotel Prospect. This is not a five-star or a resort with a pool, etc., but it's what it says it is -- a quaint, relaxing place to come and savour fresh, crisp air.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deepfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

The hotel is located very centrally. It is literally 2 mins wak from the main Market as well as Table Land.
The property is beautiful and well maintained. The staff is helpful and friendly. The food is fantastic. Both veg and non veg. Its a heaven for foodies who love Parsi non veg food.
The rooms are spacious and clean. The hotel is at a hill, so the view of the valley is superb. the weather is cool throughout the year and that helps make it more romantic.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Freebird_29in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

We wanted to spend a couple of days in Panchgani / Mahabaleshwar and scouted the net for hotel deals. Finding most decent Mahabaleshwar hotels way too expensive, we booked Hotel Prospect based on Tripadvisor ratings. And it was well worth it!

The "hotel" is a charming set of cottages set amidst tall trees and off the main road. There is no view of the valley (for that, go to the Ravine, but its been under renovation forever!!), but the property itself is nestled on the slopes. It is a short and pleasant walk to the main market area. The Mapro Food Park (a must visit) is just 7 kms away.

About the hotel, well, we had 2 rooms in the Oakside Cottage, with a private patio and swing. The rooms were large and had antique beds and an LCD TV. The bathrooms were modern and clean. Fairly spacious and comfortable, all in all. What I didn't like about the room is that it was incapable of keeping the cold out. Despite keeping the door shut all through, the room was extremely cold all night. There is no heating, and the vitrified tiles on the floor don't help.

They only seem to have full board packages, but we insisted on and got the B&B package. We had read, and were told, that the food there is amazing, but both nights, the veg options were limited to 2 curries, and that seemed too much for Rs 350 per head. Breakfast was also priced at Rs 250 per head, which we felt was too much for poha / paratha, bread, tea and juice. That said, the aloo parathas were pretty good.

The small play room has a few things to keep the kidults occupied. There was a single hammock outside the Woodside Cottage - they definitely should have more!! Pleasant surprise was when we saw the gardener washing our car in the morning, without being asked to. Overall, a nice experience - simple and refreshing.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cocooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2009

I checked the rating of the hotel on this website and purely because of the rating, i booked the hotel for my stay at panchgani. It was well worth it. The hotel is well maintained with various types of suits available for stay. I couldnt believe that its one of the oldest hotel in the city.
Operated by a family in a very professional manner, the hotel offers every comfort you require. Owner's fetish for antique furniture and intruments it worth a watch.

Stay, well worth it!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NasaAshish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews