We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Getaway!”
Review of Prospect Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panchgani
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prospect Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Panchgani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We were visiting Pune and had a couple of days to spare, so we decided to drive to Panchgani. We made a reservation at Prospect Hotel at the recommendation of a friend, and it turned out to be one of the most relaxing breaks of the year!

The property is extremely well maintained and even though you are less than a kilometre away from the main road, it seems you are in some remote corner of the world as soon as you enter the reception! We spent a day just sprawled in the garden - dozing, listening to the birds and watching them drink from the tiny fountain, reading, admiring our surroundings and dozing a little more!

But it's not just the beauty and its history that makes Prospect Hotel such an awesome getaway - it's also the amazingly tasty food. Be prepared for an extra large share of gluttony as you will find it difficult to resist the amazing dishes that the kitchen churns out for every meal.

We had booked a suite in Sunset Cottage - tucked away in a corner, this is a great location if you are looking for peace & quiet. Our rooms consisted of a master bedroom, a smaller bedroom and a beautiful porch. There are 4-5 other rooms in the cottage - unfortunately for us all of these were occupied by a large & extremely noisy group of travellers, so our blissful sighs were soon replaced by a frantic search for rolls of cotton to drown out the screams! When we discussed this with the owners, they very kindly offered to move us to another cottage.

Overall, we had a fantastic stay at Prospect Hotel and can't wait to get back there again!

Room Tip: We loved the Sunset Cottage and highly recommend for those wanting some privacy. For water lovers, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anotherfineday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 275 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

We visited this place in Feb 2013 and simply loved it. Very warm and hospitable owners. Great food and especially the home made jam should not be missed. Intact we bought a bottle of the same when we were leaving.
The property is very old but very well kept. Rooms are very neat and the furniture is mainly in wood adding to the vintage charm. No flamboyance yet so nice!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnkurNagpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed for weekend in a classy furnished, spacious and very comfortable Sunset Cottage of the 102 years old Heritage Home, pleased to see that the hotel has been well kept.
There are no significant signs of wear and tear as often happens in Heritage hotels, It had a relaxed atmosphere and not pretentious as some hotels can be in Panchgani / Mahableshwar.
Such a special area it has it all. Great history fantastic surroundings and extremely friendly people. I cannot say how relaxing it is here..
We loved this place and felt at home. you can find peace even in the busy months!!! Yes, I'd rather be here than anywhere!
One tiny detail that the hotel should work on vegetarian cuisine.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manojchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Been here in Jan 2014 for 2 nights and absolutely fell in love to this place. Very very warm hospitality and polite staff. This is 103 year old hotel and very well maintained hotel. Rooms and well maintained with adequate lighting and good interior giving oldish flavour. We stayed at rooms with swimming pool view which had good view.

If you are die hard non vegetarian and specially you eat red meat then you will love food in here. This place get 5 stars in non veg but veg could have been with more variety. Food have lots of parsi flavor and its very good.

This hotel refilled all the bottled water and no extra cost. Also they didnt charged for ordered tea / coffee. This was really pleasant to see Prospect include everything in package.

Pro:
- Nice room and nice & green property
- Excellent non veg food & Yummy desserts post dinner
- Not money minded hotel. We didn't paid any advance and we paid bill while checking out.
- Good cleanliness and warm staff

Cons:
- Should have better maintained kids play area and should add 2/3 more rides for kids
- Veg food could be better with more variety
- Less open space for swimming pool view rooms compared to others.
- No snacks provided

Overall: Very good place to relax and eat specially non veg food.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yashchuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our family spent 3 days in Panchgani, staying at the Prospect Hotel. Our The accommodations were very good, food was excellent with a huge variety of food, served "country style" and had many choices at each meal to satisfy both vegetarian and non-vegetarian palates. Quality of the food was excellent. Room service, restaurant service and management' attentions to our needs were superb. They even packed us a lunch (for 6 of us) for our return car journey to Mumbai - at no extra cost. All my family enjoyed the cleanliness, and other services.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank India1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We went to Hotel Prospect for Christmas. I went there without expectations. Previously we had stayed at Hotel Ravine which has very nice valley view rooms. So this time we decided to go to a Heritage property. It is owned by a Parsi family. The hotel is very well maintained and very clean. The staff are extremely courteous and the food is very homely and delicious ( if u r non-veg). We r veg and the meals were avg. The starters and desserts though were awesome. The main course was not very tasty. But that dosent take away the warmth that the place has.
Regarding the room, we were in the Sunset view block. The room was big and the bathroom was also big and very clean. On the Negative side the bathroom shower handle was broken and the hand shower knob was missing. We complained to the owners but they were least interested. So the shower handle kept falling every time and we could not use the hand shower as the knob was missing. After paying Rs.7500/- per day this irresponsible behavior of the owners is unacceptable.

It has a swimming pool, which was not used as the temperature at Panchgani was 10-12 degrees. It also has a games room which has a carrom board, a TT table,a mini football table and a pool table.

Overall it is a very nice place and though overpriced it is one of the cleanest in Panchgani

Room Tip: Choose a Poolside cottage for direct access to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank santoshkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

If you're in Panchgani, then Prospect has got to be the place to spend your time. A great hotel located at quite, close-to-nature location. The staff is courteous, the management is highly friendly and the food is amazing ! Have been very close to this place and also the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atulmaharaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panchgani
0.7 mi away
Ravine Hotel
Ravine Hotel
#3 of 16 in Panchgani
772 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mala's
Hotel Mala's
#4 of 16 in Panchgani
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Millennium Park
Hotel Millennium Park
#9 of 16 in Panchgani
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Blue Country Resort
Blue Country Resort
#5 of 16 in Panchgani
232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pan Hill Hotel
Pan Hill Hotel
#8 of 16 in Panchgani
32 reviews
7.3 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 57 in Mahabaleshwar
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospect Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Hotel

Address: Ring Road, Panchgani 412805, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Panchgani
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Panchgani
Price Range: $35 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prospect Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates are per person and include all meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prospect Hotel Panchgani, Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing