We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm with modern amenities”
Review of Prospect Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panchgani
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prospect Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Panchgani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We visited Panchagani from 12-14 June 2013 and landed at this place as it was suggested by a friend. We immediately fell in love with it. It is an excellent property situated just below the tableland. It has a vintage charm to it but the cottages are extremely well furnished and maintained. We stayed by the poolside cottage no 204 (It has 2 + 2 beds). Our stay was all the more pleasurable due to the owners who were extremely courteous and the staff very cordial. We got a good deal as we went there on weekdays. It has Swimming pool, games room, lots of books to read and free wi-fi. As far as food was concerned breakfasts were excellent but meals could do with some improvement and we found it cheaper to eat out. Weather was perfect so overall a superb experience.

Room Tip: Poolside Room 204 has 2+2 beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atul_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 272 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

I went to Panchgahani in May. Rooms were good clean & well kept. Food was very nice & scrumptous too, with Good variety. A Very Nice swimming pool with towel & wash facilty, though clorination in Water was a bit high, enjoyed swiming , esp in hot weather. The Host are very hospitable & accomodating.Adequate Car parking. Close to market, table land & Agiary.
Overall enjoyable stay

Room Tip: Tariff is a bit high, considering that Rooms are not AC, Ac is additional cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marzd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The location of the property, the property and its maintenance, the owners and the staff, the food - they all are amazing. We visited Panchgani and stayed for three nights during June 2013. We got a pretty good deal and when I mentioned that I was told a tariff over phone that was less than the printed tariff, Mr. Shahram immediately recognized and adjusted the tariff to the lower figure - no argument (in spite of the fact that the printed tariff clearly specified children's ages and the corresponding tariff; according to that, I should have paid more). We stayed in a suite with two rooms each having their own bathrooms - really big ones. The rooms were very comfortable and were well attended. When we needed directions, we got very detailed instructions with patiently hand-drawn maps. I just can't believe how cherishable they made our entire stay. Our daughter did not want to return home from there and started considering studying at Panchgani (!). The kids were greatly impressed with the humility and hospitality they saw all around the property. Food was incredible - truly home-made, without the strong spices and great desserts. We were checking out early in the morning and enquired if we could get packed breakfast. And what was packed and given to us were yummy sandwiches which were good for breakfast and as snacks throughout our drive back to Hyderabad. An excellent experience overall which we would like to enjoy many times over.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramanathan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

i went to panchgani with family and loved my stay at Hotel Prospect. We chanced up on it through trip advisor en route to panchgani. Good gracious big thank you to trip advisor for starters.
i like the fact that it is around local habitation market, road etc and still so recluse. I am told that the Hotel is at the highest point in panchgani, after the plateau of course!
very serene, very peaceful, very relaxing, very my kind :) must visit

Room Tip: take the top most rooms for privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neha0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Highly recommended for the lovely hosts,  wonderful ambience and sumptuous food. Truly enjoyed our two night stay. It never felt like a typical impersonal resort stay. We were welcomed warmly like family. A big hug goes out to Anisa who made our stay truly memorable.Thanks a lot and keep up the wonderful ways. Will definately return back, hungry for more. Cheers.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farroakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Recently went to Panchgani with family. The aim was to just relax and this is a perfect hotel for that. The property is spread over 4 acres with just about 25 rooms spread across. So there is lots of space and peace.
We were given a choice of rooms in their Sunset and Oakwood cottages. We chose Oakwood as it is higher up and has big open varandah with jhoolas.
Please note, the property is spread on hill side so has rooms at different levels. So if there are elders you should check with the owners for right kind of room.
The food is good with mix of parsi, continental, indian veg/non-veg fair and you end up overeating at every meal.
The swimming pool is in good condition and we spent at least 1 hr each day in it. The recreation room needs to be maintained as the pool table has lost the levelling, TT table is in ok shape. Looking at condition of all these, we never went there. If they improve this it would definitely add charm to the hotel.

Room Tip: Oakwood or pool side. Sunset are also good but has enclosed varandahs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamirP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We rode to Prospect from Mumbai to meet up friends. We opted for cottages with 5 bedrooms as we were 10 guys.

- The hotel is easy to find and has good parking space for vehicles
- Cleanliness of the property and rooms is very good
- Rooms were fresh and well lit
- We got separate place for gathering out of the cottage and have chitchat without worrying about sun
- Breakfast and snacks can be served in this sitting area
- Food was great, menu has atleast one Parsi dish for each meal
- Entire property is maintained well including pool, trees and lawn
- Though the property is near main road, the surrounding trees make it very quiet and makes you feel you are away from population for a peaceful experience

Also note that...
- Lunch and Dinner is served in common dining area
- Pool water had more chlorine and pool is just 4.5ft deep
- Located in main panchgani area but having your own vehicle will make it easy to move around in Panchgani and Mahabaleshwar
- Alcohol is not on the menu but there is a shop few meters away if you need

Room Tip: there are few smaller rooms right next to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiranGhag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panchgani
0.7 mi away
Ravine Hotel
Ravine Hotel
#3 of 15 in Panchgani
760 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mala's
Hotel Mala's
#4 of 15 in Panchgani
88 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Country Resort
Blue Country Resort
#5 of 15 in Panchgani
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Millennium Park
Hotel Millennium Park
#8 of 15 in Panchgani
217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pan Hill Hotel
Pan Hill Hotel
#7 of 15 in Panchgani
31 reviews
7.3 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 53 in Mahabaleshwar
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospect Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Hotel

Address: Ring Road, Panchgani 412805, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Panchgani
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Panchgani
Price Range: $35 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prospect Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates are per person and include all meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prospect Hotel Panchgani, Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing