We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Prospect Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Mala's(Panchgani)(Great Value!)
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Hotel Valley Nest(Panchgani)(Great Value!)
$48
$42
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Signature Crest(Panchgani)(Great Value!)
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ravine Hotel(Panchgani)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Residency(Panchgani)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveler rating
207
69
6
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
207
69
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset cottageheritage hoteltable landhome away from homewoodside cottageold world charmevery mealnon vegthe cottagesold treesstrawberry jamchirping birdsswimming pooldining hallfixed menulush greenerylovely hosts
Filter
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 284 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Went to Panchgani for a weekend break. After arriving at Panchgani, had a bit of challenge to locate this place, but we were guided very well from Prospect Desk - which ensured we reach safe-n-sound. :)
This place doesn't look like a hotel to be honest. It's more of a HUGE family resort. Property is really big, nicely spread amongst nature and the cottages make you feel at home indeed.
Positives:
Great location: It is almost at the heart of Panchgani, yet - it is away from the regular hue-n-cry of city chaos. So, you will have a peaceful stay and nice view of nature.

Awesome property: This is apparently a 100 year old property & carries the vintage elegance well. The furniture, office decoration, dining place - they all carry the beauty of old and facilities of modern age - together.

Friendly treatment: As I said, we never felt at a hotel, rather an extended family place. Mr. Shahram & his family were very friendly & helpful at all times. We really appreciate all the help & guidance.

Food: I am a big tea-freak, loved the tea there. Breakfast was nice, meals were more than enough - had its own variety (more than enough for a few days stay).

Wi-fi: Collect your password from office, it works with descent speed.

Kids will love it: There is enough place for kids to play around.

Negatives:
Well, nothing much on this front. All were nice. Just a few notes -
1. It is assumed that you will be having your vehicle, else travelling may be a challenge.
2. Carry your swimming costumes - the pool is really tempting.
3. You may wish to inform the cook beforehand about your choice of meals - specially if you have kids (so that they make it accordingly)

Tips:
1. Hotel package includes fooding+lodging & is priced as per head/per day
2. Credit cards are well accepted (visa/master)
3. You get both plain & mineral water - both worked for us

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Arijit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My family and I have had the pleasure of several stays at Prospect Hotel during our many international travels, and this place is a favorite. While it is always a breath of fresh air to get out of the heat and dust of Mumbai and Pune, Prospect Hotel itself is up away from the Panchgani bazaar and main road, so you get an extra level of peace from the chaos. The quiet is stunning, and I can sit on the bench swings in the garden for hours just meditating or taking tea. The home-cooked food is to die for and always in generous portions. The husband and wife owners Shahram and Parvaneh take personal attention to the customers, and we have always been welcomed with a smile. This hotel has old-fashioned class and much more.

Room Tip: Oakwood and Woodside Cottages are the most spacious and up to date, and if booked with your family, you are guaranteed a private, quiet time.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zambezi_potato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I chose this hotel for 2 day stay in panchgani after reading such a great response on tripadvisor and our stay was ok on first day. We were highly disappointed when on second day bed linens were not changed, which we also realized was the case on first day. Hygiene was the biggest issue.

Food - Very generous servings with lots of non-veg dishes. But we found non-veg food to be rarely eatable (mostly the taste was not upto the mark). Breakfast was really good on both days. They also serve tea and coffee in room which is complimentary.

Apart from food & hygiene, property is well maintained considering 100 years old.

Not recommended considering the hygiene problem and rates being on higher side.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gurdeep_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prospecthotel, Owner at Prospect Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your valuable feedback.
We are committed to the environment and are an eco sensitive hotel. Though all our guest rooms are cleaned and serviced daily, the bed linen is changed every alternate day unless otherwise requested by the guest. Conservation of water and discharge of washing effluents are major concerns especially of a hill station with the abundance of natural beauty such as Panchgani has.
We look forward to your next visit and assure you of our best services as always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Fab & homely experience. HIghly recommended for those who are looking for a place away from the urban humdrum & noise. Excellent food options with natural surroundings. We didn't even realise that there was a TV in the room. Great memories of bringing NY 2013 with friends & a lot of strangers.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maddyisms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is our fourth visit to hotel prospect , great family holiday . The owners shahram , Parwana & family are here always to look after the guests. The hotel food , rooms , location are amazing . We always look forward to our next trip once we are leaving back home . It is really like a home away from home .
Keep it up and thank you for making our trip a memorable one .

Room Tip: Sunset cottage
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salmank26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews