We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveler rating
214
69
6
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
214
69
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset cottagetable landheritage hotelold world charmwoodside cottagehome away from homeevery mealnon vegthe cottagesstrawberry jamchirping birdsswimming pooldining hallfixed menulovely hostslonger durationbeautiful property
Filter
Updating list...
256 - 261 of 291 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Prospect Hotel is a 100 year old property and their claim is that it is the resort that made Panchgani a tourist destination. Quite a big claim to make but its actually believable. There isnt much to do in Panchgani - its a pretty relaxed destination.

Prospect is a very quiet homely hotel with nice clean rooms with all the amenities you would need. The clincher for the hotel is unbelievable food. Do not miss the corn cutlets, the home made strawberry jam, the fried fish, and also the strawberry and cream dessert. It was tough to stop eating in every meal. They ask for a fixed room rate per head and include all meals in the same.

They have a small swimming pool which is well maintained but its usually failry cold in Panchgani so its tough to really enjoy it.

A nice touch is the bird cage with love birds and Cuckatoo's and also a couple of turtles.

Highly recommended for a relaxed getaway

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vikasjawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We spent our New Year at Prospect Hotel in Panchgani. From even before we arrived, the difference between Prospect and the others was evident. They knew we were driving down and when we did not arrive by the estimated time, they called us to make sure everything was good. Then through the night, they kept in touch with us to make sure we were okay.

Once at the hotel, the facilities were top notch.

The spread at each meal was really large and well prepared. I am betting they have an army in the kitchen. But be warned that the cuisine is typically Bahai and if you like your food spicy you may be a tad bit disappointed. But on the other hand, if you like sampling cuisines, a couple of days of the food here can be a pleasure.

The staff are helpful without being intrusive. They take "service with a smile" literally and almost everyone there is smiling at you.

We would highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a few quiet days in the hills.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vinayjap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

I have visited Panchgani every winter for the last three years and each time I stay at Prospect Hotel. The location is so peaceful and serene, with beautiful gardens and a quiet that is hard to find in India. The hotel itself is a mixture of old and new and is always well maintained to retain that vintage feel. The food is amazing, with a variety of delicious options at every meal, and is by far one of the best things about staying at this hotel! Also, the staff and, especially, the owners are extremely hospitable and go out of their way to make sure your stay is comfortable and you are happy. All in all this hotel really is a home away from home.

Room Tip: The poolside bungalows and the Woodside and Oakwood Cottages are the newer rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KellyS299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

I stayed here last weekend for 2 nights, which was one of the best break in recent days. Beautiful hotel, Extremely helpful and courteous staff. Very clean rooms. Excellent location. Near to the market and bus stand. This is my second trip to this place, it used to be very quiet but unfortunately there was some shoot which made the place very noisy. Otherwise nicely organised hotel. Has all the facilities. Wordless to say about fantastic food and their dinning service

We got homely feeling and the owners are very helpful and courteous, Recently got renovated with new pool facing rooms, which was awesome. I strongly recommend this hotel/resort/home who looks for peaceland and homely treatment if you plan to visit Panchgani.

Room Tip: You may need to climb little bit to reach oakside and woodside cottage but new pool facing cottages would be ideal..
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Passi0nate_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

I have seen positive feedback due to which I visited this place but I didnt like it...rooms were having dust...rooms are below average....food is pathetic & dining hall yak....a old house converted to a hotel & not maintained.....

Room Tip: Pls dont visit if u used to clean business hotels
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sushmita8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prospecthotel, Owner at Prospect Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2011

While appreciating your taking the effort to write a review about your stay at The Prospect, we are surprised and taken aback by your negative experience. In order to improve our services, we request you to give us the dates of your visit and the room that you stayed in . I would also like to clarify, that The Prospect is not an old bungalow converted into a hotel, but was built in 1912 as The first Hotel of Panchgani with a reputation that we would like to uphold.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews