We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and homely getaway”
Review of Prospect Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panchgani
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prospect Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Panchgani
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great and homely getaway”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

It was our first trip to Panchgani. Decided to stay in Hotel Prospect based on TripAdvisor ratings.

And we were pleasantly surprised that the ratings are pretty accurate in the case of Hotel Prospect.

The estate on which the hotel is located is very beautiful. It does have the feel of a heritage hotel throughout. In the rains, the place gets even more beautiful. The sloping driveway with croutons on both sides was enchanting. Car parking is at the landing at the end of the highway, thankfully. So, you don't see ugly cars marring the pretty estate.

The buildings them selves are styled after old-time bungalows and have a forest lodge feel due to the extensive use of wood. The estate owners' penchant for antiques adds to the charm.

You can feel the owners take care of you in many subtle ways. The staff is also trained to be subtly courteous and make you feel at home. We were provided with a double room with four beds and two bathrooms even though our kids were under 3 years of age and their stay was free. There was a pantry right next to our room and the staff provided us with hot water whenever we had to prepare a feed for the baby. They even provided us with an umbrella when we had to leave the room for our meals.

The food was the best part of the stay. We might land up there the next time just for the food! We had our fill of delicacies - Fish fry to Mutton (Salli Boti) to Chicken kheema pakoras to lovely desserts both during lunch and dinner. We were so enchanted by the place that we hardly went out "sight-seeing" in Panchgani.

Highly recommended. Plan to visit this place again soon!

Room Tip: Rooms in Sunset Cottage have a lovely verandah and an attached garden. They are also secluded from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MayurUpadhya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    66
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
129
50
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Goa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2011

This was undoubtedly one of the best places to go. Though best season now we know is Oct Nov where strwberries are avaiaklble for Rs 50 a Kilo :-)
The place was excelelnt. each cottage has a private garden. But the best part was food. Special care was taken for all the wihms and fancies. Its even better for non-veg.. The owners family themselves run the kitchen.
we checked other 2 top hotels - ravine .. it may be good place for seeing all the filmstars and rooms with view.. but if you need a charmming place like prospect.. i would give away 1000 views like that

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arpan_g101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

prospect hotel is an quaint hotel with all modern ameniites. Its a family owned hotel and they go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. the food is delicious and you cant get enough of it especially the custard with strawberries.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank luckyamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Having stayed at Prospect many times in the last 4 years, each time the same consistent service, awesome food, and super ambience. Owners Shahram, his wife Parwane, and the entire family, including the senior Mrs. Javanmardi go out of their way to make sure each and every guest is comfortable.
The rooms are large, and very comfortable. They have recently added a pool, and some new poolside rooms. Very well located, the highlight of our stay is their food. Forget all your dieting and indulge. A must try is the akuri, and the homemade strawberry jam:) I believe the hotel completes 100 years next year...

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KavzPune_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

We decided to stay at Hotel Prospect after having read some very nice comments on Tripadvisor. It was a wonderful 2 days that we spent at the hotel. The food is awesome, the staff is very helpful and the rooms nicely maintained. Given that we were staying during weekdays, there were just a couple of other families and we were looked after very well .

The beds were quite comfortable and the extra beds that we had for the children were quite decent too. I had read of some great non-vegetarian food being served at Prospect and being a family of vegetarians, I was a bit apprehensive that we might have limited options. But the vegetarian fare that was served to us just great - a wonderful spread and very, very delicious. The aloo-pyazz paranthas were simply amazing! Definitely a place where we would love to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JayantKeswani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Hotel Prospect lacated in Panchgani, Mahabaleshwar is a good option to have a stay in panchgani.
Quiet,chilling atmosphere will always make ur stay pleasant..
Prospect is located just before the Panchgani market which makes easier for tourists to shop.
buses and tourist Vehicles r also available.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ashu1791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2010

My wife and I decided on this hotel since it was one of the heritage hotels in the area. The property was beautiful and it's a perfect place to get away for a few days.
We picked a room in the Oakwood cottages. The room was tastefully furnished and very clean. The bathroom was quite modern and clean as well.
Food is included in the package. It is a fixed menu served in a sort of 3-course meal. It begins with bread and soup, followed by starters and main course and then desert. The food was quite good and deserts were excellent. We could get our tea served anywhere on the property and there were a few nice spots where we enjoyed it as well.
We had no complaints at all from the staff or their service. They were extremely prompt and courteous.
All in all it was the perfect getaway we were looking for. It is close to Pune (where we arrived from) and the whole experience was laid back and relaxed, with no hassles, noise or any other discomfort what so ever. I would recommend this place if someone plans to travel to Panchgani/Mahabaleshwar.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ganjman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panchgani
0.7 mi away
Ravine Hotel
Ravine Hotel
#3 of 17 in Panchgani
741 reviews
2.8 mi away
Panchgani Health Resort
Panchgani Health Resort
#5 of 17 in Panchgani
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mala's
Hotel Mala's
#4 of 17 in Panchgani
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Millennium Park
Hotel Millennium Park
#10 of 17 in Panchgani
215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Country Resort
Blue Country Resort
#6 of 17 in Panchgani
223 reviews
7.2 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospect Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Hotel

Property: Prospect Hotel
Address: Ring Road, Panchgani 412805, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Panchgani
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Panchgani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Prospect Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates are per person and include all meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prospect Hotel Panchgani, Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing