We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveler rating
28
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
0
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 28 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2011

My adult son and I were guests at the MW Bar Ranch B&B for two nights (Fri and Sat) in mid- Oct. This was a perfect time to visit the mountains of far northern NM. Scenery and climate were perfect, leaves were changing color, morning air was crisp and warmed pleasantly in afternoons. Rio Costillo and Comanche Creek were low and clear and we saw lots of fish.

The meals (breakfasts and dinners) were ample and delicious, our room (two twin beds with private bath) was clean, spacious, and comfortable. Owners Mary Ann And Lawrence were welcoming, extremely hospitable, and very helpful with information about area attractions. I look forward to another visit and highly recommend this lodging.

Room tip: Check on MW Bar Ranch website for available accommodations. Choice willdepend on makeup of your party. All are great.
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riograndemk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the cabin at the MW Bar Ranch. The cabin is next to the main house, but gives a sense of privacy. It has a fully equipped kitchen and we were able to cook dinner each night. However, there were wonderful aromas coming from the main house and we will definitely pay for dinner during our next stay! Breakfast was wonderful and Mary Ann and Lawrence are truly gracious hosts. We look forward to going back!

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weluvnature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

The setting is gorgeous, the house is beautiful, the host and hostess are knowledgable about the area, and warm and inviting, and the food is extraordinary! Once you go, you will return many times!!

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

My wife and I absolutely needed a place to decompress. The MW Bar Ranch totally filled the requirement. From the beautiful, extremely well equipped adobe cabin where we stayed to the great secluded property with pastures, horses and a running stream, to the main house, the hospitality of Mary Ann and Lawrence and the three wonderfully friendly dogs, this retreat is the vacation we wished for.

The ranch is a short distance from Valle Vidal, and about an hour from Taos, NM. The cabin is far enough from the main house so that we felt totally alone. We brought our own food, and were delighted to find a modern, fully equipped kitchen. It has everything from copper pans to complete small cooking utensils to plates that were so colorful and cheerful that we decided to eat on them, even though we brought paper plates so we didn't have to do any more dishes than necessary. The pictures on their website do not do the cabin justice; it is a very comfortable living space that is hard to capture on camera and we felt "at home" from the time we unpacked until the time we had to leave at vacation's end.

Valle Vidal is close, beautiful, accessible and, although there are no formal trails, we found places to park and hike every day we went to this portion of the Carson National Forest. Even if your not hiking, the views and vistas from the road, and parking areas are beautiful.

The hosts know both the history of the area and current things to do. They share their knowledge in interesting and entertaining ways. They were great to be around and an information resource that is not to be beat.

As mentioned earlier, we cooked our own food, but we did have one dinner prepared the night before we left. It was better than great. Pork tenderloin, cooked to perfection; ratatouille and salad prepared from vegetables grown in their garden, and potatoes. Every bite was to be savored, and the conversation during and after the meal was relaxed and entertaining.

Would we go back? We are planning on it.

Bill and Marie

Date of stay: August 2011
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Love this place! It's heaven on earth and the wonderful owners are a great resource to the whole region, really all of New Mexico. So impressed by their kindness, service, awesome breakfasts and all around helpfulness.
If you want to be out there, and I mean out there, (closet place for real food is Taos about an one hour south), then this is your place. A river runs through it! Large open space surrounded by canyons and just minutes from the entrance to the Valle Vidal and fifteen from Comanche Point. We brought our German Shepherd and enjoyed visiting the year round residents in the pasture, their horses. Great for star-gazing, and simply getting away from it all. If you do want to head to Taos though it's easy and makes for a great day trip. Plan for lunch at Orlando's New Mexican.
FYI - you won't have access to phones, TV, wireless - and it's awesome! Bring some games to play if you stay in the spacious cabin.

Room tip: The cabin is the best deal because you get an awesome breakfast from the hosts and then after fishing/hiking all day you can make dinner.
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichiDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews