We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj Aurangabad
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Aurangabad
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at Taj Residency, Aurangabad now known as "Vivanta By Taj, Aurangabad" on 17th and 18th night and had a great experience. The staff was very cooperative and they helped us in all aspects right from getting the right kind of room to helping us with making our stay comfortable considering that we were with 2 kids with one of them being a little over an year old.
They did not charge us for any kids' meals and were most helpful when we had to shift to our room from the restaurant in terms of providing the means and services there.
Overall a great experience. I would recommend the Hotel to everyone who intends to travel to Aurangabad.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaheshTripathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    310
    96
    23
    9
See reviews for
231
241
49
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel is built over a large property and serves as a good place to sleep over not only for business travelers but for tourists as well. At any time, you will see a mix of two at the hotel - businessmen traveling to Aurangabad because of the proximity to the auto belt of Waluj and foreign tourists come to visit the nearby Ajanta Ellora caves.

The hotel is housed in an old building and the expectation should be set before booking. It will not be as swashbuckling or fancy as some of the newer hotels but it does offer a calm, peaceful and relaxing stay with good and helpful staff. The rooms have basic amenities though lighting could have been better. The rooms in the basement specifically look dingy and proper lighting could have helped. The balcony with a swing is a big bonus. The residential area is away from the main road which means that the hotel is quiet and calm. Open seating area for breakfast/dinner is a good option.

Dinner buffet was average but breakfast buffet is good. Service was good and gave no reason to complain. It would be my preferred hotel to stay in during any visit to Aurangabad. Set your expectations right for a hotel in Aurangabad and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The ones on higher floors could be better; the one's at the ground level (one level below the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guamit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
145 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very nice Hotel with lots of different trees, plants, shrubs and nicely manicured gardens. The rooms are comfortable with nice Balconys facing the lawns. The food and service are also good. The only shortcoming is the way the hotel is built so there is a considerable amoung of walking from one wing to the other but guess it helps to digest the rich food. I recommend staying here

Room Tip: Choose a room nearest to the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kunal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Despite a bit of a mix up with picking is up from the train station we totally enjoyed our stay. The hotel were very apologetic and compensated us for our trouble.

The atmosphere and facilities mean it's a great place to chill out and recover from the hussle of India. You can here the busy road outside the hotel when your relaxing in a hammock by the pool, but the noise is not intrusive and it reminds you where you are so you don't get too detached.

Drives to Ajanta and Allora are easy to arrange with the hotel or for cheaper with an independent driver.

Loved this place so much so that my travel companion has decided to get married there. It really is lovely.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdavil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband was going to Aurangabad for work and insisted we come along and stay back for the weekend. We were not let down by Taj this time. We landed very early - around 8am but we were checked in right away. The room was nice and comfortable overlooking the pool and had a nice balcony. It was at the end of the property so there was an annoying drilling noise coming from next door all day long.The pool is nice and the staff there was very attentive. There are hammocks by the pool side to lounge in particularly at night for a view of the starry skies. Breakfast spread as well as service was impressive. We had barbecue dinner outdoors which was below expectations considering the price. The food was limited, nor was it very great. Desserts were less than impressive and the staff there was so raw they had no idea about anything. I also went to the spa and enjoyed it. Overall, worth coming back to. And while there, do go and explore the Ajanta / Ellora caves. They will take your breath away..

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sab2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the Taj Residency for three nights. The beautiful domed architecture is a wonderful greeting, and is only surpased by the very attentive staff. It boasts a large, beautiful pull and beautiful lawn on it's huge grounds. The restaurant offers a great variety of both Indian, Eastern and Western food, but the prices, although expensive by Indian standards, is not out of line with what one would expect to pay at a nice hotel in India. Our favorites on the menu were matki usal (a peanut and lentil sprout dish) and a wonderful bhindi and tomato dish. We stayed here as a long weekend for an opportunity to explore both the Ellora and the Ajunta caves and I am glad we did!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank VagabondTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

this was my first visit to Aurangabad. Though the city is uncleaned, this property was well maintained. it has a beautiful landscape and quite a big pool too. the staff members are friendly and helpful. the room was big enough, with a beautiful extension to the garden. it had a 15 year old CRT panel at these age of LCD's and LED's, probably the heritage.

Room Tip: chose one with a view to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank niichu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aurangabad hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Green Olive
Hotel Green Olive
#2 of 57 in Aurangabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lemon Tree Hotel, Aurangabad
2.6 mi away
WelcomHotel Rama International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Ambassador Ajanta
The Ambassador Ajanta
#14 of 57 in Aurangabad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.2 mi away
7 Apple Hotel Aurangabad
7 Apple Hotel Aurangabad
#6 of 57 in Aurangabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Meadows
The Meadows
#28 of 57 in Aurangabad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj Aurangabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Aurangabad

Property: Vivanta by Taj Aurangabad
Address: 8-N-12 , CIDCO | Rauza Bagh, Dr. Rafiq Zakari Marg, Aurangabad 431003, India (Formerly Taj Residency)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Aurangabad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aurangabad
#2 Business Hotel in Aurangabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vivanta by Taj Aurangabad 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moghul-style hotel with central dome, situated on 5 landscaped acres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Aurangabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Residency Hotel Aurangabad
Aurangabad Taj Residency Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing