We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj Aurangabad
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Aurangabad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the Taj Residency for three nights. The beautiful domed architecture is a wonderful greeting, and is only surpased by the very attentive staff. It boasts a large, beautiful pull and beautiful lawn on it's huge grounds. The restaurant offers a great variety of both Indian, Eastern and Western food, but the prices, although expensive by Indian standards, is not out of line with what one would expect to pay at a nice hotel in India. Our favorites on the menu were matki usal (a peanut and lentil sprout dish) and a wonderful bhindi and tomato dish. We stayed here as a long weekend for an opportunity to explore both the Ellora and the Ajunta caves and I am glad we did!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank VagabondTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 910 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

this was my first visit to Aurangabad. Though the city is uncleaned, this property was well maintained. it has a beautiful landscape and quite a big pool too. the staff members are friendly and helpful. the room was big enough, with a beautiful extension to the garden. it had a 15 year old CRT panel at these age of LCD's and LED's, probably the heritage.

Room Tip: chose one with a view to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank niichu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was my 2nd visit to this hotel for a stay for about 6 nights and the experience surpassed even the first one. The staff made us feel so welcome. They went out of their way to make sure that our stay was comfortable.
The rooms are spacious and clean.Our room had an attached terrace and a balcony which has a swing and provides a very soothing view on days it was drizzling.
The swimming pool was clean and well maintained. It does have a great feel for just a lazy afternoon or a quiet evening.
Service is prompt and one of the best.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anjunel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Aurangabad got 5 star hotels many decades back. Global and big metro tourists are attracted to Ellora caves & Ajanta cave paintings. Based on my stay yesterday Taj Vivanta (erstwhile Taj Residency), I would say this is the best hotel in Aur'bad.

The old style building looks regal with a white dome. The lawns are immaculate and sport a sunrise look. The garden area is full of Jasmine (Mogra) bushes spreading lovely floral scent. I also loved the Frangipani or Champa trees with delicate white flowers. Taj has also manicured some trees which is rarely seen nowadays. Great job in creating a natural & peaceful setting. My congrats!

The breakfast spread was good covering Indian & continental dishes. I loved the Baked Yoghurt. Select an outdoor table to enjoy nashta with nature.

The rooms decor & fittings are dated and do not justify Vivanta branding. But my overall experience, though short, was very good. The unit head Anand seems to leading a responsive team. Well done!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ranjeet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very nice and comfortable hotel. This hotel has one of the best housekeeping team. The property is well maintained. The restaurant is a bit pricey but the service is one of the best. The rooms are very good and comfortable. The room has a balcony with a swing and sofa. The hotel is a bit far from the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abhishekh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We are usually taj fans and this experience was by and large good except for few hiccups.
Bad : rooms small, no bathtub, no jet on toilet, no doorbell, very noisy flushing system, no dental kit

Goods: courteous staff, good swimming pool, very good breakfast preparations

Overall experience was nice but was closer to 4 star than 5 star. Btw the hotel is now called vivanta by Taj and not residency anymore

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank allbhatias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Situated about twelve kilometres from the airport, Taj at Aurangabad is an impressive property in spite of not being very large. The two storied white domed structure houses a hotel which is good without being great. The most pleasant surprise was the tariff - a mere Rs. 3400 per night for a double occupancy. This is the lowest tariff I have ever paid at any Taj hotel in India or abroad. The rooms are large and well appointed. The first floor rooms are preferable on account of the large balcony with a traditional swing provided therein. The rhythmic to and fro rocking is pleasantly soothing.

The rooms are large and well furnished, though the television sets provided belong to a different age and the news and entertainment channels available are limited. Little gestures like complimentary fruit have been skipped.

The staff are very young and come across as sincere but raw. Which is not surprising as most of them are from the local hospitality management institute. This is not to suggest that service is substandard.The breakfast was excellent and the burger I ordered for in the restaurant did not leave any room for complain. The hotel has a bar which is best described as basic with limited variety on offer.

I found the car hire at the hotel extremely expensive. Much better to call Alfa travels and book a car for the day - eight hours / eighty kilometres - Rs. 1500. It makes sense to take a prepaid taxi from the airport rather than get the hotel to pick you up.

Room Tip: If you are travelling in summers, it makes sense to take a room close to the pool. Otherwise, you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank indianraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aurangabad hotels
2.6 mi away
Lemon Tree Hotel, Aurangabad
2.2 mi away
WelcomHotel Rama International
2.9 mi away
Hotel Green Olive
Hotel Green Olive
#3 of 58 in Aurangabad
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Ambassador Ajanta
The Ambassador Ajanta
#12 of 58 in Aurangabad
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
7 Apple Hotel Aurangabad
7 Apple Hotel Aurangabad
#6 of 58 in Aurangabad
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Meadows
The Meadows
#30 of 58 in Aurangabad
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj Aurangabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Aurangabad

Address: 8-n-12 , Cidco | Rauza Bagh, Dr. Rafiq Zakari Marg, Aurangabad 431003, India (Formerly Taj Residency)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Aurangabad District > Aurangabad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aurangabad
#2 Business Hotel in Aurangabad
Price Range: $121 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vivanta by Taj Aurangabad 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moghul-style hotel with central dome, situated on 5 landscaped acres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Aurangabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Residency Hotel Aurangabad
Aurangabad Taj Residency Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing