We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay”
Review of Hotel Chandela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Chandela
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Khajuraho
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We booked this hotel directly for two nights and three days. The room type was a suite. Even though Khajuraho is a famous tourist destination, the travel to the place is tiresome due to bad roads. However, all the travel fatigue was washed away by the warm reception and the comfortable room. The suite had a nice and a modern bathroom with 2 LCD TVs. The staff made us feel special and organized the small things required to handle our young brat.
The hotel had a good swimming pool with sufficient facilities to keep the children busy.
The food was exceptional and the service was amazing.
The stay was made memorable with all the personal touches and maybe we will visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apsingh18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 743 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2010

We'd gone after the end of the tourist season ... we got the only Deluxe suite at the hotel at a very very economical rate ... had 2 rooms with a balcony bigger than your average house :)

The food is okay ... staff are pretty helpful and you can practically walk down to the west complex of temples. The hotel has a good collection of souvenir shops but what is heartbreaking is that Khajuraho is known for nothing other than the temples - so you can't have any souvenirs that are "Made in Khajuraho" ... the memorabilia you get is largely brought in from Delhi !

Food in the town is nothing memorable - you're far better off eating at the hotel

We'd driven down to the place, and the hotel was gracious enough to provide complimentary accommodation for our driver

We also had good fun cycling around the hotel campus, playing badminton and other game / sport options that are available to hotel guests

While the infrastructure is a little dated and does not look like a Taj group property ... it's pretty decent nonetheless

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GhumakkadCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We were facinated to be at a Taj property at Khajuraho. We were for 2 nights and as per our package buffet meals were included. But to our surprise there was no buffet and we were asked to choose our meals from the ala carte menu. The food was pathetic, probably stale food as there was very low occupancy. I fall sick having lunch in the hotel and I had to take medical help. I complained to the management and thet respoded by saying sorry on the first day. On the 2nd the food made me totally sick and required a doctor and had to take medicine to get well.

I would not recommend any one to stay at this hotel in off season as it is a nightmare come true in respect of food.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanjay92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

This is a very nice hotel, with a pleasant garden and in a quite environment.

The facilities are very good, except the gymnasium where there is no air conditionned.

It is at a 20 minutes walk from the main village of Khajuraho and the same walking distance from the western temples.

The staff is very professional and friendly, they always try to do their best for one to have a magnificent stay.

The restaurant has very good food.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegaloAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

good location ,food is freash and tasty , spacious room , severice excellent .

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dheer1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

The Hotel far exceeded my expectations. Was fully equipped with all the amenities you need. Nice large swimming pool and gym and there is also an in house barber. The Temples are only a short walk away.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qi_Energy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

A group of six (three families) decided to spent three days in hot summer in Khajuraho and after considerable discussions decided to stay in Chandela , a Taj group Hotel . We found a special promotion deal available only on Taj Reservations ( 2 night stay, one night free) due to which cost worked our to be about 45 US Dollar per day per room. Rooms were excellent . The reception area was decorated very well. Staff was very courteous and accommodating. They even kept Swimming pool open in the late evening hour on our request. Room were maintained properly except the service guide was missing. Hotel has two restaurants and a Bar. Food in Rasna ( Main Restaurant) was very good . One can try their Bundelkhand Thali ( Rs 425 +Tax). As it was summer ,coffee house ( RimZim) was not functioning. However on Sunday a tour group arrived and Buffet Dinner was being served in the Coffee House. On inquiry Catering Assistant offered us the Buffet . He also mentioned that as Dinner was organized for a German tourgroup ,it may not have enough vegetarian food , but he will be happy to get few vegetarian dishes prepared for us. In addition he also agreed to get a special dessert prepared for us.Surprisingly he offered us discounted rates ( I believe these rates are offered to tour groups). Food was excellent . We were highly impressed by the managerial abilities, and customer friendly attitude of catering assistant. Overall It was a very pleasant stay and high value for money.Hotel has a good swimming pool, Billiard and minigolf course.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashok M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khajuraho hotels
1.1 mi away
The Lalit Temple View Khajuraho
0.1 mi away
Radisson Jass Hotel Khajuraho
0.3 mi away
Ramada Khajuraho
Ramada Khajuraho
#5 of 23 in Khajuraho
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Isabel Palace
Hotel Isabel Palace
#2 of 23 in Khajuraho
580 reviews
1.2 mi away
Syna Heritage Hotel - Khajuraho
0.7 mi away
Clarks Khajuraho
Clarks Khajuraho
#8 of 23 in Khajuraho
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandela

Address: Khajuraho 471 606, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Chhatarpur District > Khajuraho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Khajuraho
#1 Family Hotel in Khajuraho
#2 Luxury Hotel in Khajuraho
Price Range: $62 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandela 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chandela, a haven of tranquility, welcomes you to discover the historical temple town of Khajuraho. The exquisite 1000 year old temples at Khajuraho, graced with sensuous and sublime sculptures, are World Heritage Site. Hotel Chandela offers a choice of 90 elegantly furnished and well-appointed rooms including 5 luxurious suites. Wooden flooring, queen sized beds and writing table offer a touch of warmth to the interiors. All rooms enjoy refreshing garden or pool view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Chandela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandela Hotel Khajuraho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing