We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel”
Review of Hotel Chandela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Chandela
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Khajuraho
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel is near the main sites of the city .The room was clean and simple.the hotel is clean .the front desk staff was very slowly but helpful. About the breakfast
we did not find nothing to eat, most of the food was Indian.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hcrespin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 743 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

It is like arriving at a large villa from the Fifties: white, clean lines, neat. It may not have a lot of local charm, but the hotel is located at an easy walking distance from the UNESCO-monuments (15 to 20 minutes walking) but in green, quiet surroundings. Our room was situated on the pool-side of the hotel and was large, clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the terrace in front of our room, where we relaxed after a swim. As usual, the breakfast was not very good (at least when you go for western).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaartenMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Overpriced and poorly maintained. Charge for wifi. Wines way overpriced. The cook needs to learn how to cook western foods. Overall it is tolerable but not desirable place. I can not compare to other local places to know if there is better so can only compare to western based hotels. This one has a 3 1/2 star entry but fails after that. Room temperature control would not cool room below 22C.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fspandorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Wonderful hotel, especially the rooms. These are very spacious, luxurious in design. Bathrooms are not very large and as always in Taj hotels the doors open into the bathroom making it very uncomfortable to manouvre "with this thing in te middle". But the shower walk in cabin is extremely nice and peasant. Two floors, no elevator. A a carte restaurant has some excelent dishes, very tasty. The Indian companions of mine with whom I dined complimented the flavours. The buffet in the other retaurant as a good selection but the setting is too much within the lobby area and gives an impression of being in a pool or mall.
Professional and very efficient staff. Great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed here for two nights with a group of NU Alumni while visiting the beautiful temples and gardens in Khajuraho. The hotel is well kept, spotlessly clean, with good food and friendly staff. The grounds are beautiful and provide a relaxing environment. We ate meals in both the small dining room and the larger buffet dining room and were pleased with both. For an added bit of pleasure, an interesting local folk dance performance was held in a city theatre not far from the hotel. While the dancers were definitely not Bollywood stars, they performed well for a small town group.

Room Tip: A poolside room would probably be best, but any first floor room would be fine. There is no elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFL2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was an average hotel on route to Varanasi in India. We were on tour so I don't know what the cost of the room would be. The breakfast was just ok with a lot less variety then other hotels we stayed. The staff was friendly and all spoke excellent english. They did have a pool. The rooms were not large but adequate. It did include an in-closet safe.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

It is an older property, but charming and comfortable and fitting for the Khajuraho setting. The room was clean and had everything we needed. The room stewards friendly and helpful. The pool area is just beautiful and peaceful for relaxing. The gardens and grounds are beautiful. My husband the yard enthusiast was taken by the grounds keeper to the back and given a personal tour of the flowers, herbs and vegetables. Nearly everything they cook there is grown on site. The buffet restaurant is very good, although almost too small when the hotel is full, but they will "spill" you over into the a la carte restaurant which is nearby. The spa services are given by one man and one woman and there is no intermingling the sexes! The services are dirt cheap. Some in our party had massages, facials and hair salon work done. All got a good grade, if not a bit simple by US standards, but a fraction of the cost, and a nice respite while traveling. Very close to the shrine site, which was just fascinating.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesroccario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khajuraho hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Khajuraho
Ramada Khajuraho
#5 of 24 in Khajuraho
763 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lalit Temple View Khajuraho
0.4 mi away
Hotel Isabel Palace
Hotel Isabel Palace
#2 of 24 in Khajuraho
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Jass Hotel Khajuraho
1.2 mi away
Syna Heritage Hotel - Khajuraho
0.7 mi away
Clarks Khajuraho
Clarks Khajuraho
#9 of 24 in Khajuraho
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandela

Address: Khajuraho 471 606, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Chhatarpur District > Khajuraho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Khajuraho
#1 Family Hotel in Khajuraho
#2 Luxury Hotel in Khajuraho
Price Range: $62 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandela 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chandela, a haven of tranquility, welcomes you to discover the historical temple town of Khajuraho. The exquisite 1000 year old temples at Khajuraho, graced with sensuous and sublime sculptures, are World Heritage Site. Hotel Chandela offers a choice of 90 elegantly furnished and well-appointed rooms including 5 luxurious suites. Wooden flooring, queen sized beds and writing table offer a touch of warmth to the interiors. All rooms enjoy refreshing garden or pool view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Chandela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandela Hotel Khajuraho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing