We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a very comfortable stay”
Review of Hotel Chandela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Chandela
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Khajuraho
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“For a very comfortable stay”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Wonderful hotel, especially the rooms. These are very spacious, luxurious in design. Bathrooms are not very large and as always in Taj hotels the doors open into the bathroom making it very uncomfortable to manouvre "with this thing in te middle". But the shower walk in cabin is extremely nice and peasant. Two floors, no elevator. A a carte restaurant has some excelent dishes, very tasty. The Indian companions of mine with whom I dined complimented the flavours. The buffet in the other retaurant as a good selection but the setting is too much within the lobby area and gives an impression of being in a pool or mall.
Professional and very efficient staff. Great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    303
    133
    38
    9
See reviews for
132
358
52
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed here for two nights with a group of NU Alumni while visiting the beautiful temples and gardens in Khajuraho. The hotel is well kept, spotlessly clean, with good food and friendly staff. The grounds are beautiful and provide a relaxing environment. We ate meals in both the small dining room and the larger buffet dining room and were pleased with both. For an added bit of pleasure, an interesting local folk dance performance was held in a city theatre not far from the hotel. While the dancers were definitely not Bollywood stars, they performed well for a small town group.

Room Tip: A poolside room would probably be best, but any first floor room would be fine. There is no elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFL2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was an average hotel on route to Varanasi in India. We were on tour so I don't know what the cost of the room would be. The breakfast was just ok with a lot less variety then other hotels we stayed. The staff was friendly and all spoke excellent english. They did have a pool. The rooms were not large but adequate. It did include an in-closet safe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

It is an older property, but charming and comfortable and fitting for the Khajuraho setting. The room was clean and had everything we needed. The room stewards friendly and helpful. The pool area is just beautiful and peaceful for relaxing. The gardens and grounds are beautiful. My husband the yard enthusiast was taken by the grounds keeper to the back and given a personal tour of the flowers, herbs and vegetables. Nearly everything they cook there is grown on site. The buffet restaurant is very good, although almost too small when the hotel is full, but they will "spill" you over into the a la carte restaurant which is nearby. The spa services are given by one man and one woman and there is no intermingling the sexes! The services are dirt cheap. Some in our party had massages, facials and hair salon work done. All got a good grade, if not a bit simple by US standards, but a fraction of the cost, and a nice respite while traveling. Very close to the shrine site, which was just fascinating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesroccario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberporth
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for one night during our Tour of India & Nepal but weren't very impressed.The staff weren't as helpful as we found in all the other hotels we stayed in, and the food wasn't as enjoyable. The facilities were good, it was just the atmosphere, especially in the restaurant, that was lacking. We just felt that it was an effort to serve us, and even more of an effort to smile.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PugseyAberporth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

After a harrowing bus trip in the rain and at night, our tour finally made it to this welcoming hotel for a one night stay. The Chandela is an older property with a spacious lobby. The property is immaculately clean. Our large room had older furniture but a new bathroom which had a window (with shade) between the huge walk-in shower and bedroom. Unfortunately there were only 2 bath towels and one washcloth in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable. There was no clock radio. We experience power outages but that seems to be the norm for hotels in India. Dilig was a great bartender who brought us appetizers from the dinner buffet and encouraged us to enjoy a game of pool in the bar area, which we did. We drew quite a crowd although our skills are somewhat lacking. The ordinary breakfast buffet was crowded with people in a tight area and service was slow.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teramo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Hotel was a little impersonal, rooms were tired but comfy and clean. Had issue with the barman. He was very unhelpful, tried to order food but did not seem to want to serve us.He was really not enjoying himself! No red wine available. Eventually we did get some food and a snack. Only stayed the one night so no chance to redeem himself!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyshireScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khajuraho hotels
1.1 mi away
The Lalit Temple View Khajuraho
0.1 mi away
Radisson Jass Hotel Khajuraho
0.3 mi away
Ramada Khajuraho
Ramada Khajuraho
#4 of 24 in Khajuraho
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clarks Khajuraho
Clarks Khajuraho
#8 of 24 in Khajuraho
385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Isabel Palace
Hotel Isabel Palace
#2 of 24 in Khajuraho
528 reviews
1.2 mi away
Syna Heritage Hotel - Khajuraho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandela

Property: Hotel Chandela
Address: Khajuraho 471 606, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Chhatarpur District > Khajuraho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Khajuraho
#1 Best Value Hotel in Khajuraho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chandela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chandela, a haven of tranquility, welcomes you to discover the historical temple town of Khajuraho. The exquisite 1000 year old temples at Khajuraho, graced with sensuous and sublime sculptures, are World Heritage Site. Hotel Chandela offers a choice of 90 elegantly furnished and well-appointed rooms including 5 luxurious suites. Wooden flooring, queen sized beds and writing table offer a touch of warmth to the interiors. All rooms enjoy refreshing garden or pool view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, DerbySoftTaj, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chandela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandela Hotel Khajuraho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing