We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't eat there again”
Review of Alto Cafe

Alto Cafe
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wouldn't eat there again”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Waitress wasn't welcoming. Food was average. Homemade biscuits soggy. Butter not served on table. Had to find someone for a glass of water. Hot tea was as described by previous reviewer-not good. Searched for waitress to pay our bill.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calabacitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    19
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Saba, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Spot”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Local café with great breakfast............small, intimate but a local hangout with great staff who tend to your needs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RAY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fine little cafe”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a late breakfast here of oatmeal and coffee. Both were fine. They had a breakfast buffet but we did not try it. I would eat here again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank riverspud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alto, NM
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Skip it if you are not a local”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We spend lots of time in Ruidoso and had heard great things about this place. Tried it out and found it lacking. Messed up our order and then charged us more because we were polite enough to put up with the wrong thing and save the time on sending it back. The price was only slightly more but it's the attitude that counts. Most good restaurants would have "comped" it for the error -- I did not expect or asked for that but charging a higher price, really?

Terrible attitude, food was decent, iced tea was worst I have ever had. Really disappointed because I had hoped we'd found a new regular place to eat. The owner was super friendly to the locals but almost disdainful toward our family. I'll stick to other local restaurants in the future where newcomers and visitors are welcomed. Crossing this one off my list.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice lunch :)”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

You walk in and it's what it is, it's a cafe. Local hangout, I dont see tourists much in here, tho we are tourists we come to ruidoso yearly (x24 yrs to be exact). They have great blue plate specials, like under 8 dollars for a large meal, chicken fried steak etc. Good breakfasts. Better and cheaper than the Log Cabin, just more simple decor, much nicer wait staff here, very "homey".

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank libbyswin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alto Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing