We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's still there!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bonito Hollow RV Park & Campground
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Alto
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We have camped at Bonito Hollow Campground for years and years. Our adult kids went there when they were kids. Now the grandkids are becoming regulars! We went there just today (Saturday, June 30) and were amazed at what we saw. Yes, the cabins and permanent structures are gone, but the trees surrounding and inside the camp grounds are still there! Some of them got a little hot, but there are all still there. The sculpted bears are still there. The welcome sign - IT'S STILL THERE! We visited with the owner for a long time. They have done an enormous amount of updating over the past 3 years, and the beginning of this season was off to a great start. The night the fire got too close, campsites were full. Praise God, all campers got out with barely a scratch. The camping this season will be on pause, but let me tell ya - just wait till next year. It will be awesome!
This is still the best campground near Ruidoso, and we'll be there as soon as it's open again! We took pictures today - will post them later. Stay tuned.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank EdNLauraCarpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 52 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

We camped at Bonito Hollow two years in a row, and would have been camping there twice this year (May and August 2012)if not for the fire that they endured June 2012, and that our dog had knee surgery so we had to cancel our May 2012 trip.

Gary and JoAnn are awesome hosts, and wonderful people. The campground is clean and well maintained and they are always looking for ways to improve the place. The property is beautiful, and very different from any typical RV park, it more feels like a camping experience - just a very safe, very easy one. There is room to walk around, and a lovely field to let the dogs play in. Everyone and everything about Bonito Hollow has just been amazing!

We will be returning just as soon as they are able to rebuild, It is truly a home away from home for us.

We camped there in a pop-up camper.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

L and S

My friend and I recently spent a week at Bonito Hollow Campgrounds. We had so much fun! The campground is wonderful and the management is great. The facilities are well kept and clean. The owners and management were willing to help with anything. We met so many nice people from all over. Cindy even offered to keep an eye on our dogs at camp during the day so that we could spend the day exploring the area. We were at the campground during the recent fires. Even though this was frightening, the management made sure everyone was safely evacuated. We had such a lovely week! We will definitely be back. :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We have been going to Bonito Hollow for 3 years now. We love it! We can't stay away. They are the nicest people and they have become some of our closest friends! The camp grounds are the best and they are so helpful. The first time we went we had just bought our 38ft ftwheel and were very green! Thanks to them we have become pretty seasoned and we love it! We can't wait to go back in July for a whole month.

We have been going to Bonito Hollow for 3 years and we love it! These people are so wonderful and have become some of our closest friends! We love them. We ca't stay away. the first time we came we had just bought our 38ft fifth wheel and were really green. Thanks to them we are getting pretty seasoned and feel pretty experienced. We can't wait to go back in July for a whole month!

Room Tip: All the spaces are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

my family both mothers side and fathers side has our family reunion here for the last 8 years all was wonderful everything was so nice. bathrooms, showers with hot water, laundry, vollyball and horse shoes, and the trees and brush made it like you are in bliss of camping with all the perks of restrooms lol. they even have a gazebo you can have a nice get-to-gather at. but this year IS THE WORST TRIP. the office was probably the icing of the cake. Very rude, unorganized AT best, gave me a car pass when i needed a tent spot. charged my sister for just stopping by for 15mins, had some of my family move from their tent sites two to three times, refused some of the family because 'they werent on the list'. prior to this visit they had equal tent and rv sites. then they had new additions but what they forgot to tell you is that they took out over half the tents sites and replaced them with the new rv sites, which were vacant and about four tents were put in the 'park' becuase they were out of tent site. go figure. they also took out horse shoes, and a sink. along with clearing some of the natural trees and brush growth giving the camp ground a sterile look. oh and almost forgot to mention a wild FIRE that the office said was contained and not threating. little bear fire burned 10,000 (as of 2 days) acres starting on a thursday and news said as of saturday morning it was still going. everyone with 15 miles evacuated. 11:30 we left.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexus_1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonito Hollow P, Owner at Bonito Hollow RV Park & Campground, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Recent Posts by OthersSee All

Aaron Slaten
BUT Y'ALL WILL REBUILD BETTER STRONGER FASTER THAN BEFORE
17 hours ago
Aaron Slaten
Aaron posted a photo.
17 hours ago
Aaron Slaten
Aaron posted a photo.
17 hours ago
Aaron Slaten
Aaron posted a photo.
17 hours ago
Aaron Slaten
Aaron posted a photo.
17 hours ago

More Posts
Bonito Hollow RV Park & Campground
47 seconds ago

This was an extremely large family reunion and I got all the reservation list from Sherri Ward. Several of the people that showed up were not on the list that I was given. We immediately made room for them the best that we could since the park was completely booked for that weekend. Sherri was told that we had taken out the tent sites and made them RV sites with water and electric. That was not a problem and she felt people would be happy to have the access to W/E. We are not taking out the horseshoes they were just being moved by the volleyball court area. Unfortunately, three days before Memorial weekend and when out busy season starts a tree fell on my husband and broke his back. We had several appointments in El Paso and just ran out of time to complete the brand new horseshoe pit. There is so much beauty and other things to do that we felt that could wait until my husband was better. As to the comment that we charged people to go into the park for 15 minutes is totally untrue. We only wanted car passes on each car as to keep out people that often mistake us for the lake camping. At this time, no one has been charged at all since we have always settled up with the Ward's at the end of the reunion. I was working in the office the whole time with my sisiter-in-law and at no time was anyone rude to anyone. We did everything we could to get your family in the park as close as possible to each other even all those whose names were not on the list. No one was ever turned away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

The staff were all very friendly. We pretty much had the whole camp ground to ourselves. Since we got there on Sunday afternoon. I highly recommend the area for a relaxing get away. There was so many improvements being done, to all the park. Made friends with all the staff, checked out all the new spaces and got a good idea of which spaces to reserve for our next get away. Met many friendly, good people. Thanks, you all. Daniel & Nadine.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

My husband and I spend a week at the Bonito Hollow RV Park. This was a nice RV park except for Memorial Day weekend. It felt like there were 10 people at each site. It was extremely crowded and noisy. After the weekend, the RV park was great. There is a small stream running between the RV park and road. The road noise was about zero. The owners and their staff were very friendly. Their small store has DVD you can borrow over night. The restroom/shower house was clean, I would stay here again but not on a holiday weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bonito Hollow RV Park & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonito Hollow RV Park & Campground

Address: 221 Hwy 37, Mile Marker 1, Alto, NM 88312
Location: United States > New Mexico > Alto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Alto
Price Range: $19 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bonito Hollow RV Park& Campground…a Hidden Paradise along the Rio BonitoWelcome to Bonito Hollow RV Park & Campground your Lincoln National Forest vacation destination surrounding by the home of Smokey Bear and Billy the Kid. Bonito Hollow RV Park & Campground is privately owned and nestled on 12 acres along the Rio Bonito. Our park is conveniently located just minutes away from the excitement of Ruidoso’s restaurants, shopping, nightlife, skiing and horse racing and only 3 miles to the beautiful Bonito Lake. Bonito Hollow is perfect for an overnight stay or an exciting New Mexico camping vacation.We invite you to come and spend some quality time with your family, friends, or alone and unwind in our scenic and peaceful campground. Fish, hike the nature trails, observe the abundant animal and bird life, and let the sound of the gurgling Rio Bonito lull you asleep each night.Gary, JoAnn and Terry Humphries, as well as our gracious and helpful camp hosts look forward to meeting you and most importantly helping to make sure your stay with us is one that has positive memories that last for many seasons to come. Happy Camping and Safe Travels! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing