We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Remember the Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karthika Plaza Resort
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Statyed for 2 Days New Years eve 2012 with 4 Friends at this pretty Resort on New Years eve 2012.
This place is 5 mins walk from the cliff and Tucked into the Greens.
Fantastic Service from the staff. Breakfast is simple yet well prepared. Clean Rooms and a very Peaceful place. Total Value for Money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 141 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

My husband and I spent six weeks at the Karthika Plaza over January and February. This was our second visit , having spent 2 weeks here 3 years ago. We stayed in one of the large rooms in the new building and were very comfortable there. Lots of space, large comfy bed , fridge and tv...what more can you want! We cannot praise Rajesh and his team enough. The service is fabulous, nothing is too much trouble, but most importantly , they make you feel so at home. The breakfasts are delicious and comes with fresh fruit . The resort is beautiful and spotlessly clean. Rooms are cleaned at least every 3 days , with fresh towels and linens. As we were out and about most days this was more than sufficient, if fact we sometimes had to stop them as it was so unnecessary. As they got to know we genuinely enjoy the local cuisine, we got the option of home cooked local breakfasts and dinners at times , I even had my own private cooking lesson! What more can I say...we absolutely love it and can't wait to go back next year....probably for 8 weeks this time.

Room Tip: We loved the extra space in the new rooms but the smaller rooms are probably a bit cooler as they ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Turid_bryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasodharan L, Owner at Karthika Plaza Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. we will try our level best to improve our service further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We are on our first visit to Kerala, and I and my friend found this a great place in Kerala to stay. We though mixed the track to reach due to too much sleep in train, but when we reached the place through proper guidance frequently from Rajesh. Rajesh and Shijit received us so humbly like a family and even picked us and took us in their car to sea places in time and without much worry. We found room a fantastic, clean beds, clean toilet, good working AC, beautiful garden with flowers and trees around. We served tasty breakfast and even lucky to get super fish dinner since it was holiday and raining. And these two men were so much helpful in servicing us delicious Fish and Chapatis and what not. Just Awesome!!! Will visit and refer to many places to this place. A must visit place..

Room Tip: You have choice to choose room if not is not good. Just chill at this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galina_v123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed 5 days and flying to Mumbai today.Except climate we enjoyed our stay here. very hot and humid.This is very beautiful !, very clean, full greenery, best service. will be back next year for more days.

Room Tip: if non Ac ground floor rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank komaladharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This is possibly the best Place to stay at in Kerala. We were picked up a late night at the railwaystation.Next morning we had awonderful breakfast outside our room. A beutiful garden was around. The Place has got three kindly men to serve you and they do Everything for your best. They take you with car everywhere and they pick you up when you wish. The garden has got small owls and a lot of other birds. It´s a calm Place, but not far from the spectacular Cliffs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eva J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

My husband & I enjoyed our stay at the Karthika Plaza in 2013. We loved it so much we returned in January 2014.
Karthika Resort is about 5 minutes drive to the beach & restaurant, that is not a problem as Rajesh or Sugit will take you in the car and pick you up again. They will even take you to a peaceful beach for the morning or all day if you wish. It is a great friendly hotel. The rooms are cleaned every day, so are the bed linen. There were many returned guest, whilst we were staying there. I am not suprised because he makes you so welcome. If you want to go on a train journey, he will collect your ticket for you, save you much time. If you email him regarding any question, he is very prompt. I received an email from him within 20 minutes.
Thank you Rejesh for looking after us.
Keep up the good work.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Amina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I stayed with my family and there is nothing less regarding their service. The complex is beautiful.
they provided all support for our stay and local tour. breakfast is great.Also we got very good assistance for Ayurveda treatment

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Levis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.5 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#24 of 52 in Varkala
145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
1.4 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 52 in Varkala
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karthika Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karthika Plaza Resort

Address: Punnamoodu Papanasam Road | Wacher Mukku, Kairali Nagar, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Varkala
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: $22 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karthika Plaza Resort an elegant holiday accommodation is the favourite choice for travellers worldwide who are looking for an unforgettable get away stay. The combination of comfort , location , great breakfasts, Calm and relaxed atmosphere surrounded by coconut palms , rich greenery , humming birds and dedicated guest care staff makes your stay memorable. Each of the guest rooms are pleasingly appointed and offers a private bath with shower. AC Non AC Single, Twin / Double, Suite and Special connected family rooms. free WIFI and satellite television. The Inn is just a short walking distance to the beach. In minutes guests may walk to downtown attractions. Guest Review Award 2016 and Trip Advisor 2017 Excellence Award (3rd) are the distinction given based on reviews and recommendations by guests on recognizing our exceptional service. Traditional home made breakfast and meals on request. Enjoy our Traditional vegetarian meals. We promote organic food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Karthika Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karthika Plaza Tourist Hotel Varkala
Karthika Plaza Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing