We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place away from the crowds.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karthika Plaza Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Karthika Plaza Resort
Ranked #9 of 96 Varkala B&B and Inns
Hilversum
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place away from the crowds.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

If you want to stay away from the crowds at Varkala clif then this might be a good option. Friendly place with clean rooms and just a few km. from the cliff. Rooms are good value. And the distance from the cliff is never a problem because the staff will take you there and pick you up after dinner.

Room Tip: We loved the rooms at the 1st. floor since they have good views at the green garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palmfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    13
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
67
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at the Karthika Plaza from the/1/2/2013 to the 9/1/2013 then we went travelling for 6 days returning to the Karthika Plaza on the 16/1/2013 we checked out early on the morning of the 20/1/2013. as other people have already said everyone here is so helpful & nothing is too much trouble even our 6 day trip was helped by Rajesh who booked accommodation for us & suggested places to visit etc he even picked us up at the railway station at 9pm on our return. it is difficult to expand on what other people have already said because we have all had similar experiences I second everything positive that people have mentioned you really are cared for at the Karthika & if you are an independent traveller to this region I would highly recoommenda stay at the Karthika Plaza we most certainly would stay again. Brian & Linda Leeds England

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BandlovelyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Rajesh and his team are there for you whatever you need, wherever you need to go and whenever you need them. This included chasing about for Doctors and a Hospital visit when one of us was ill.

The property is a decent walk from the Cliff/Beach but you will be dropped off and picked up as required.

Breakfast is great and the room air-con is quiet and the garden areas etc are immaculate.

Rajesh and the staff deserve the praise in this and all the other reviews and we wish them all well for the future....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMH42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We, two sisters, stayed in Varkala from Jan 5th to 10th, 2013 after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. Everything was as described and we really loved it. Rajesh and his team are friendly and kind people. We were welcomed and felt really cared for. We moved from the front to one of the new, more spacious back rooms which have AC, a fridge and a new bath. We preferred not staying at the beach in Varkala, but to be in the green quiet of Karthika Plaza. Walking to touristy places from there is somewat adventurous because of the busy roads, but we did not even need to take a rikshaw to go anywhere as we were driven and picked up by Rajesh and his colleague everywhere without extra cost at any time and even on short notice. We only paid a little taxi fare for one of our trips which Rajesh recommended and organized, i.e. a boat trip to a temple on an island with a canoe and a walk back to Varkala from Kappil Beach along the coastline. We loved our breakfast on the terrace, the chili omelettes as much as the Indian breakfast. We learned much about the surroundings and Indian life and would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EABCologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed 11 days at Karthika Plaza in December 2013 and can truly confirm all the positive comments in the earlier reviews. We were taken so good care all the time, private car all the time, gardener and breakfast chef! Beautiful property with great garden, Rajesh kindly asking would we be interested to go to here and there and actually we followed all his guidings. So we saw exciting wild life at the lakes and back-waters and on the high mountains with tea plantations. Sujit was a great and safe driver for a long day of 14 hours. We also went to see 15 elephants in a temple. We made the trip with Ambassador taxi that Rajesh had ordered especially for us. Rajesh even helped me to sort out a bit problematic jewellery purchase we had done in Delhi earlier on the trip. Kerala people are so nice, peaceful and beautiful. Wish to come back again. Seija & Pekka, Turku, Finland

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReissuPekka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Westerners should not be put off by the term "resort" which conjures pictures in the mind of rowdiness within a large encampment. This is in fact a very peaceful Bed and Breakfast, comprising three smallish buildings within a site of, I guess, about an acre. Most of the plot is towards the back of the site and is as yet undeveloped.

Rooms are extremely clean, modern and simply furnished - no shampoo though. We had two in a block of three which were newly completed. There were some snagging problems with water, and particularly hot water due to the geyser being turned off inadvertently. However, they were very quickly (within minutes) resolved by Rajesh or his staff. A/C and Satellite TV worked wonderfully in these rooms, both of which were particularly appreciated.

You will see that a recurrent theme in Karthika reviews is the much appreciated free taxi service to/from the beach/town/train station and the excellence of Rajesh and the other staff. The taxi service really is a boon because although the beach is only 5 minutes away by car, and I estimate could be walked in around 15/20 minutes, the 31C heat was such that we never did walk.

With regard to our hosts, they were always there with a big smile, a joke and helpful suggestions, whenever we needed them, no matter the time of day. They truly went the extra mile - a blanket for the beach; extra towels when we got back from the beach; a pot of tea when we asked; cold bottled water; advice re' restaurants, early breakfast etc etc. Our stay in Varkala was made so much more enjoyable by the team and all that has been said about them is absolutely true and well deserved. You can happily book here with great confidence. You will definitely be looked after very well indeed.

Room Tip: Ask for A/C rooms - you'll need it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse yukon
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Karthika Plaza Tourist Resort was a true gem in our 2 month stay in India. It was a wonderful relaxing place to be and the service was exceptional. The room was large and well maintained with a veranda overlooking the garden area where we enjoyed our delicious breakfasts each day. It is located a few blocks from the beach which was no problem as Rajesh provided shuttle service. We had many conversations about his gardens, the birds to be seen (including the Mother eagle with her babies) and Varkala sights and opportunities. He recommended a local aryuvedic team of 2 doctors who were excellent He always made the time and his enthusiasm was infectious. Thanks Rajesh when we return to India Karthika Plaza Tourist Resort will definitely be on our list of must do's.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yukoners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.4 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.1 mi away
Casa Eva Luna
Casa Eva Luna
#1 of 96 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Keratheeram Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Blue Water Beach Resort
Blue Water Beach Resort
#11 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jickys Nest
Jickys Nest
#14 of 96 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karthika Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karthika Plaza Resort

Property: Karthika Plaza Resort
Address: Punnamoodu Papanasam Road | Wacher Mukku, Kairali Nagar, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation is very important to any Tourist. We provide you the service of top notch accommodation based on your budget and preference. Comfortable stay and safe accommodation facilities play a vital role when you are away from home and looks for maximum comfort at reasonable rates. You are assured of the best and most professional services and value for money at Karthika Plaza Resort. Located near Varkala Papanasm Beach Secure Complex FREE HIGH SPEED WiFi INSIDE ROOM AND GARDEN. Excellence Award Winner (twice) We Care Seniors Beautiful Garden- Rich Greenery Long Veranda Connected Family Rooms AC Non AC Rooms with Attached Bath and Garden View Complementary breakfast Meals On Request We promote Organic Food Flexible Check In/Out Sightseeing Tour- Car Sharing Possible Ayurveda and Dental Treatment Preventive Health Care Check Up 24 hr Care And Support Air Port Transfer(charge) House Boat Booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Karthika Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karthika Plaza Tourist Hotel Varkala
Karthika Plaza Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing