We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply The Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karthika Plaza Resort
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Westerners should not be put off by the term "resort" which conjures pictures in the mind of rowdiness within a large encampment. This is in fact a very peaceful Bed and Breakfast, comprising three smallish buildings within a site of, I guess, about an acre. Most of the plot is towards the back of the site and is as yet undeveloped.

Rooms are extremely clean, modern and simply furnished - no shampoo though. We had two in a block of three which were newly completed. There were some snagging problems with water, and particularly hot water due to the geyser being turned off inadvertently. However, they were very quickly (within minutes) resolved by Rajesh or his staff. A/C and Satellite TV worked wonderfully in these rooms, both of which were particularly appreciated.

You will see that a recurrent theme in Karthika reviews is the much appreciated free taxi service to/from the beach/town/train station and the excellence of Rajesh and the other staff. The taxi service really is a boon because although the beach is only 5 minutes away by car, and I estimate could be walked in around 15/20 minutes, the 31C heat was such that we never did walk.

With regard to our hosts, they were always there with a big smile, a joke and helpful suggestions, whenever we needed them, no matter the time of day. They truly went the extra mile - a blanket for the beach; extra towels when we got back from the beach; a pot of tea when we asked; cold bottled water; advice re' restaurants, early breakfast etc etc. Our stay in Varkala was made so much more enjoyable by the team and all that has been said about them is absolutely true and well deserved. You can happily book here with great confidence. You will definitely be looked after very well indeed.

Room Tip: Ask for A/C rooms - you'll need it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alistair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 137 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

Karthika Plaza Tourist Resort was a true gem in our 2 month stay in India. It was a wonderful relaxing place to be and the service was exceptional. The room was large and well maintained with a veranda overlooking the garden area where we enjoyed our delicious breakfasts each day. It is located a few blocks from the beach which was no problem as Rajesh provided shuttle service. We had many conversations about his gardens, the birds to be seen (including the Mother eagle with her babies) and Varkala sights and opportunities. He recommended a local aryuvedic team of 2 doctors who were excellent He always made the time and his enthusiasm was infectious. Thanks Rajesh when we return to India Karthika Plaza Tourist Resort will definitely be on our list of must do's.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yukoners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

You cannot get a better place in southern India then the Khartika plaza! Rajesh is perhaps the best host we had in a country that is always hospitable! Every morning we would shuffle out of our rooms, bleary eyed, to pots of steaming coffee and Chai, followed by a beautiful breakfast. On our last day, we even were served had Dosa's!. The compound is lush with greenery, and birds and butterflys flit around. We did not rent a car , plaaning to "get to that", but to our amazement, there was no need,as Rajneesh or his brothers, shuttled us anywhere and everywhere at any time of the day or night. The beach was a lovely stroll away, but we were far enough in the jungle that the lovely sounds of the night would lull us to sleep. Elephant rides, Estuary boat rides, all reasonable and arranged without a care by Rajneesh. The best for last, all you animal lovers and bird nerds,,,there was absolutely nothing better then Rajneesh bounding through the gardens to point out an iridescent blue butterfly or kinfisher, or that the sea eagles nesting in the coconut trees across from our room had just had babies! This guy is excited about our world, and shares it bountiously! thank you Rajneesh!

Room Tip: Second story rooms afford you a birds eye view of all the critters in the garden. Rajneesh was just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank groffrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We spent a wonderful 4 nights here in December 2012. The location is away from the main cliff area but as others have said, the thing that makes this place so great is the owner Rajesh. He is there to help with absolutely anything you may need. He dropped and collected us from the station, always had someone available to drop us to the cliffs/beach, took us to town for ATM and pharmacy, took us to the train station to arrange our ticket and the list goes on. There was nothing that was too much for him to help with at any point. He recommended us a local aryuvedic doctor who was excellent and we had an amazing massage. Rajesh also arranged to take us to another isolated beach further away to watch sunset which was beautiful.

The rooms are clean and simple - nothing special but the service more than makes up for this. Breakfast was ready for us every morning at a time of our convenience. Rajesh has just built some new rooms which look wonderful - hopefully we can stay there next time!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank innocent26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Rajesh the owner operator is the kindest most welcoming host in India! Rajesh will help you with anything you need and if you have a concern voice it and he will sort it out. Rajesh is what makes this place so wonderful and such a lovely place to stay.
The hotel is a bit back from the beach but he offers a shuttle service for no extra charge, he also ferried us about quite a bit, none of which appeared on our bill.
The rooms are nice and very clean. The new part looks stunning and I wish we had been able to stay there!
Breakfast is included and is fresh and delicious. Each morning we also had some of the traditional Kerelan breakfast which was always spot on.
This was a lovely stay made really great by the staff. cheers.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k_tunnicliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a beautiful compound with full greenery. Very safe and good location. Excellent food and service. Next to main building new annex is nearing completion, with lots of art work. They provided all support for our comfortable stay and local tour

Room Tip: ground level rooms are close to garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veenitha r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

A great B&B starts with great people: Rajesh and his staff are kind, friendly, and tremendously accommodating...they truly care about doing everything they can to make your experience in Varkala enjoyable (Rajesh even generously let me use his computer when my tablet had trouble connecting to wi-fi). Someone is always available to assist with driving to the cliffs/beach or town or to the airport/train station. Rajesh's recommendations for restaurants, places to see beyond the beach and things to experience were consistently right-on. As an aside, my treatment with a local ayurveda doctor was great - highly recommend doing this.

The rooms are very clean, simple and quite comfortable, with a covered sitting area outside each room. Each morning started with a filling breakfast brought to me outside my room...lovely to eat looking at the beautiful gardens. Though not right on the cliffs (which I preferred), Karthika Plaza is a fantastic value and experience...don't miss it!

Room Tip: I had a non-AC room on the first level and it was cool with the fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlgirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.5 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#17 of 52 in Varkala
399 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#23 of 52 in Varkala
145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#9 of 52 in Varkala
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.4 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
383 reviews
0.6 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karthika Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karthika Plaza Resort

Address: Punnamoodu Papanasam Road | Wacher Mukku, Kairali Nagar, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Varkala
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: $17 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karthika Plaza Resort an elegant holiday accommodation is the favourite choice for travellers worldwide who are looking for an unforgettable get away stay. The combination of comfort , location , great breakfasts, Calm and relaxed atmosphere surrounded by coconut palms , rich greenery , humming birds and dedicated guest care staff makes your stay memorable. Each of the guest rooms are pleasingly appointed and offers a private bath with shower. AC Non AC Single, Twin / Double, Suite and Special connected family rooms. free WIFI and satellite television. The Inn is just a short walking distance to the beach. In minutes guests may walk to downtown attractions. Guest Review Award 2016 and Trip Advisor 2017 Excellence Award (3rd) are the distinction given based on reviews and recommendations by guests on recognizing our exceptional service. Traditional home made breakfast and meals on request. Enjoy our Traditional vegetarian meals. We promote organic food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Karthika Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karthika Plaza Tourist Hotel Varkala
Karthika Plaza Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing