We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Varkala Marine Palace
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This was an ideal spot for us. The palace is wonderfully located on the beach and is away from the main 'backpacker' locations on the cliffs so would be peaceful and quiet in the high season ( apart from the sounds of the crashing waves!) We were here in monsoon, which meant few other tourists and gave us a chance to get a bit of the local feel. Restaurant at the Palace was being renovated but there was a great little shack ( Sea Sun) and the guys there were alot of fun and kept us well feed and lubricated with mugs of Kingfisher. I think the Palace restaurant would b well worth a look when reopened as it has a great view over Varkala beach. Rooms were very clean and the staff very helpful and attentive. The gardens are cool and relaxing. Would stay again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 387 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

This hotel turned out to be a good choice as we arrived with no booking! Stayed in a double fan room which was modern clean and quiet (good nights sleep)! The restaurant was also good and served up a good breakfast (at an extra cost).

I would recommend this hotel!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JamesMahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had originally planned to stay 4 nights at Varkala Marine Palace but ended staying 3 more nights (!) as the place could not possibly be matched on many levels. Great corner room with a terrace. Super food at the nearby restaurant from where you can observe at length a rare combination of devoted Hindus performing their rites, Indian and Western youth playing volley-ball or jogging along, Westerners roasting on long chairs or strolling along the beach in swimsuits of all kinds and Indians going into the water in their sarees or pants. Within walking distance from action and restaurants on THE cliff and wide and safe beach for the children to swim in the waves, at least in this February season. A very good choice

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeciliaDidier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This hotel is in a great location on a cliff facing the ocean. There are restaurants and shops around it. I mean you can't beat the location. As far as room goes, we liked the room though we did wish few times that we could have booked the suite which has A/C since it was scorching hot. Our room had fans and it was very spacious with a small kitchen(Fridge, coffee pot, complimentary water and snack etc). We loved the balcony which has chairs, swing and a hammock.

Restaurant is right next to it and the food was great. They have Wi-Fi though it was inaccessible from our room but if we step out of the room and go near the stairs, it works :-)

They provide you towels and mats for the beach which is very helpful. They also have a shower outside to rinse off before going to your room. All the places including the restaurants in the North Cliff are in walking distance. They even helped us with taxi rental to Tamilnadu.

Overall a good value hotel.

Room Tip: Get the corner room so you can use the hammock and swing etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Only a 5-7 min walk to the cliff strip, this lovely hotel could be 100 miles from all the commercial "please look in my shop" nonsense that comes with being in the thick of things. Right on the beach with several eating place s to choose from, it is very peaceful. Pay extra and get the "high end suite" if you can. It is well worth the extra. Excellent service and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in the 3rd week of march. It is one of the best beach resorts we have ever stayed. Located right on the beach. Our room was traditional Kerala styled, large and equipped with a small kitchenette which includes a fridge and kettle. No TV, could access Wi-Fi on my smartphone. No AC but additional standing fan. Verandah was nice, large, furnished with table & deckchairs and overlooking the ocean. Room was cleaned everyday and candles were lit each evening. A couple of volleyball courts right in front of the hotel, where you can play along with locals. Host Bhasker is a very nice person. He gave inputs on restaurants and travel options around. The helipad and cliff promenade is only 5-10 mins walk from the resort. The famous Janardhana Swamy temple is only about 500 meters towards the town. Overall it is a wonderful place and value for money. We will definitely visit Varkala and stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose Room 17. Nice room, great view and value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanderluzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

A little slice of heaven on a backpacker budget. Big rooms, great facilities and a top restaurant with fantastic service, nothing is too much trouble. Would thoroughly recommend if you're travelling/backpacking.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy-K-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.4 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#17 of 52 in Varkala
401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#7 of 52 in Varkala
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
315 reviews
0.8 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varkala Marine Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varkala Marine Palace

Address: Varkala Marine Palace Pvt Ltd Papanasam Beach Janardhanapuram,, Varkala 695141, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
#3 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#4 Family Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: $30 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are one of the prime properties as far as Varkala is concerned owing to our location. We are rightly on Papanasam beach, ideally in between the north & South Cliffs. We do have road accessibility inside to our resort. We offers 6 sea face extra spacious (suites) high end rooms, with private kitchen, attached toilets, balconies overlooking sea, running hot water as the specialties. Three rooms are on top floor, made in traditional Kerala style wooden cottage types. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Varkala Marine Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varkala Marine Palace Hotel Varkala
Marine Palace Hotel Varkala
Marine Palace Varkala
Varkala Marine Palace Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing