We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for our family. Can't wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Varkala Marine Palace
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect for our family. Can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Great for families. So happy to be close to the beach. You pay more for location but we thought it was worth it. Great restaurant in site with super nice staff. Different ownership, but that doesn't matter. If we were going back tomorrow we would stay here again without a second thought.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarbergBergner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    80
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
59
186
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed here for 13 nights and couldn't fault Varkala Marine Palace on anything. So much so, that we were originally booked in for 9 nights and a further 4 nights elsewhere in Kovalam, but cancelled our 4 nights in Kovalam as we doubted that it would match what we already had at Varkala Marine Palace. Fortunately there was a vacancy for our extra days so we stayed put.

The location is excellent. Right on the beach itself, rather than on the cliff top like many others. The rooms have everything you might need. We had room 17 and it had a large outside area with a table and comfortable seating.

The best thing about Varkala Marine Palace though are the staff. Each member of staff made us feel more than welcome for the whole duration of our stay, especially Bekem and Subu who were the restaurants waiters at the time of our stay. Bhasker and the other gentleman (who's name i've forgotten sorry) who organise everything from the reception area, really can't do enough for you. Anything that you need is never a problem and anywhere you want to go is never a problem either. Indeed, thanks to Bhasker's help and understanding my wife managed to get a clock she desperately wanted and it's now on our bedroom wall!

You really can't go wrong with Varkala Marine Palace and i would urge anyone thinking of going to Varkala to stay here. If we were to visit Varkala again in the future then we wouldn't hesitate to spend our time at Varkala Marine Palace again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deak75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Our third visit to this wonderful place. The first time we stayed for two weeks, the second 2012 a month and we have just returned after another 25 days. The position facing the sea is something that we dream of year to year.
Our host Bhasker is a legend, nothing is ever too much trouble for him, day or night. Each year there are improvements, this year a large extension to the restaurant and gardens. Next year we are promised softer mattresses! The daily provision of clean white linen and towels is much appreciated.
The restaurant is a wonderful meeting place overlooking the sea with its fishermen and vibrant beach life. Very good staff and a varied menu. Always a good selection of fresh fish from the days catch.
The beach is delightful and more secluded white sand beaches a short walk away.
We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryandROger20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We booked Marine Palace after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor!
By the end of our 3 night stay, our hearts ached leaving this place.

The restaurant has beautiful views of the beach(not on the cliff).
The staff is extremely friendly.

Note: The resort doesn't have AC, Wifi(only in the restaurant) and TV.
These things did matter to us in the beginning. But by the end of our stay, it all just felt like home!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rohanawtani88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
152 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Beautiful Resort with a terrace overlooking the sea.
Here we wanted to stay 4 or 5 nights.
We got a very nice large room, nicely furnished with fridge, kettle, no air conditioning but some standing fans, no wifi and no TV.
Nice bathroom and a lovely terrace with table and deckchairs at the bungalow.
The major drawback for which we only stayed one night:   we had a room in a wooden bungalow where the walls with the neighbors were paper thin.
We could hear every cough, every word, it was like the neighborgs were in our room and the people next to us were certainly not noisy.

This review is made taking into account the Indian hotel standards.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Set on the beach overlooking the Arabian sea, you will not find another hotel with the same perfect location on Papanasam beach. Start the day having breakfast, watching the local fishermen landing their catch on the beach, the Hindu community carrying out spiritualist ceremonies and making offerings to the sea, and most days dolphins swimming quite close to the shore. The owner Babu is the perfect host, nothing is too much trouble for him. He'll organize pick ups, trips, and give good advice on where and what to visit. The rooms are cleaned every day with fresh bedding and towels. The room we stayed in, was decorated in a typical Keralan style, but as it's set amongst trees, you sometimes get some of the local wildlife to stay (millipedes, tiny lizards). Even in the heat, the room was quite comfortable with just the ceiling fan to circulate the air, as the windows are in the shade (making the room slightly darker and cooler), as you'd expect in a hot country. Possibly not to everybody's liking, but with the superb location, and fantastic owner, we would not hesitate in staying again. Thank you Babu.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank barrypcoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Not for everyone, if you like modern "western" facilities, 4 or 5 star accommodation, then you'll need a more laid back approach, and embrace the virtues of Varkala Marine Palace. Set in amongst trees, the beach and natural environment, you have to enjoy and accommodate the quirks of Varkala and Kerala. The rooms are clean (room cleaned, bedding and towels changed every day), the ceiling fan is adequate to keep you cool in the hottest temperatures, and just in case there is an additional free standing fan. However if you can relax without the additional fan, all you'll be able to hear is the waves from the Arabian Sea crashing onto the beach. The owner "Babu" is both charming, and exceptionally helpful to all your needs and requirements. The position of the Varkala Marine Palace is unique, in that it is the only hotel with direct access to the beach. Would I stay again....... tomorrow if I could.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules2460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.1 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 49 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.8 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.8 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varkala Marine Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varkala Marine Palace

Property: Varkala Marine Palace
Address: Varkala Marine Palace Pvt Ltd Papanasam Beach Janardhanapuram,, Varkala 695141, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
#3 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#4 Family Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are one of the prime properties as far as Varkala is concerned owing to our location. We are rightly on Papanasam beach, ideally in between the north & South Cliffs. We do have road accessibility inside to our resort. We offers 6 sea face extra spacious (suites) high end rooms, with private kitchen, attached toilets, balconies overlooking sea, running hot water as the specialties. Three rooms are on top floor, made in traditional Kerala style wooden cottage types. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Varkala Marine Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varkala Marine Palace Hotel Varkala
Marine Palace Hotel Varkala
Marine Palace Varkala
Varkala Marine Palace Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing