We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Varkala Marine Palace
Nearby Hotels
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akhil Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$39
$33
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$26
$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$70
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kshetra Beach Resorts(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$15
$11
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clafouti Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Black Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$21
$20
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveler rating
308
92
17
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
92
17
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsincense sticksmr bhaskerbeach towels and matstraditional stylethe cliffsea viewdark woodevery eveningsmall kitchenpapanasam beachlarge verandafresh flowersperfect locationdirect access to the beachplace to stayfirst floorshort walk
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 422 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights over new year with my family. We had 2 interconnecting rooms surrounded by a wonderful verandah. The rooms were lovely - really unique and the beds were big and comfortable. I was a bit worried about the lack of a/c but it wasn't needed at all as the evenings were nice and cool.

Every evening the candles on the verandah were lit creating a magical atmosphere with the coconut trees overhead and the Arabian Sea in the background.

Breakfast was amazing - something for everyone - and the best coffee of our trip. This was made even more special by spotting dolphins one morning as we ate.

The staff went out of their way to help us - it was my son's 10th birthday when we were there and they were able to organise a birthday cake with his name on it which he was delighted about. They were able to organise massages and recommended a great restaurant in Varkala town.

The Varkala Marine Palace is a unique place to stay - a real find.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheena0115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This really is the best spot in Varkala, it's quieter and much more pleasant than the other 'touristy' end of town. The rooms are large and comfy and the verandah meant we could sit and watch the world go by. The staff were very knowledgeable, helpful and pleasant. We had a great relaxing finish to our Indian adventure at the Marine Palace.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor on the corner, quiet and excellent views and double the verandah space.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerniceMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Varkala Marine Palace is, by far, located at the most privileged spot at Varkala's seafront. Right by the Papanasam beach and still a short walk from the very busy and rather overly touristic "North Cliff" area. Immaculately clean with daily service of linen change. Nevertheless, what makes this place so special are the remarkably cordial hosts and staff, led by the very efficient and always smiley Mr Bhasker; they all make you feel like home! The restaurant is exquisite (fresh fish is daily available) with beautiful sea view, probably one of the best in Varkala. We feel very lucky to have chosen Varkala Marine Palace for our stay and very much look forward to returning as soon as practically possible!

Room Tip: The front rooms with sea-views are certainly recommended.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Athanasia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Varkala Marine Palace is a very special place and it is likely that you will find it hard to leave!

We had a spacious, ground floor room with a mini kitchen and bathroom, which was presented and kept immaculately, with care and attention to detail. We had a table and chairs out on the veranda, where we spent many an hour looking out across the garden to the sea. You are seconds away from the beach here, and the restaurant, where we ate very happily several times is practically on the sand.

We found it a tremendously tranquil, beautiful place to be. It is not luxury accommodation but it's luxurious in character!

You will find no better host than Bhasker, the charming owner, and staff in both the hotel and restaurant are welcoming and professional.

We'll be back!


Stayed: December 2013
Thank PonyPickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This little place was recommended to us by a close friend and we were glad we took his advice! We walked down the entire strip and there were a lot of hotels, but very few with actual sea facing rooms. The room we got was extremely spacious for the two of us. It had a little kitchenette with a fridge and a big bathroom with hot water throughout the day. The no TV part came as a nice change actually. Forced us outside a little more I think! :) We were wondering how we would cope up without AC, but the weather was very pleasant and the room was cooled naturally by the brick walls. The restaurant was great, we ate all our 3 meals every day at their restaurant over the 4 days we stayed out there. The staff were warm and friendly and the cleaning was prompt and thorough every day. The best part about the whole experience is the home-away-from-home feel that you get here. The manager Bhaskar arranged for our pick-up and drop at the station, both at odd hours. We will definitely go back and have already spread the word about this great little place!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wildadventures15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews